Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Puerto Vallarta Restaurants

Café de Olla

  • Calle Basilio Badillo 168–A Map It
  • Zona Romántica
  • Mexican

Updated 11/05/2014

Fodor's Review

Repeat visitors swear by the enchiladas and carne asadas at this earthy restaurant. It's also one of the few places in town where you can get a margarita made of raicilla (green-agave firewater as opposed to tequila, which comes from the blue agave) when available. A large tree extends from the dining-room floor through the roof, local artwork adorns the walls, and salsa music often plays in the background. Note that as soon as Café de Olla opens for the season, it fills up and seems to stay full: You may need to wait for a table, especially at breakfast and dinner. If you give up waiting, the taco shop next door is very good.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Calle Basilio Badillo 168–A, Puerto Vallarta, 48350, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

322-223–1626

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards
  • Closed Tues. and Sept. 15–Oct. 15
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 11/05/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights
  • Hotels

See all restaurants in Puerto Vallarta

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Dj221

  • Service

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2011

Café de Olla Review

When we walked to Cafe de olla we were happy to see that the city widened the sidewalk. Now you do not have to feel like you are waiting in the street. The food is always just okay. We used to go there because it was inexpensive but have been finding several fairly new places that are much better and less money.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Sep 2, 2009

incredible!

after being in Puerto Vallarta for 8 days this is the only resteraunt we ate at more than once ( 3 times! ) the best tortillias I have ever had! perfect authentic mexican cuisine!! great service!!

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Dec 1, 2008

never disappointed!

Been to PV several times and returning soon,My husband and I always look forward to Breakfast at Cafe' De Olla Chilaquiles to die for! Have also been for dinner and was not dissappointed margs pack a punch though:-)

By epwhar

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Sep 1, 2008

Muy Bueno

We went for a late night dinner (9 or 10) so there was no wait. The food was amazing, the waiters ultra friendly, the ambiance delightful. I highly recommend this place.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 19, 2008

Disappointed after all the hype (and wait)

Have to agree with opinionated from NYC on this one. After waiting a long time in line, and reading so many great reviews (except his/hers, unless this was an "off-night" I can not reccomend this restaurant. We ordered cheese and mushroom quessidillas (sp?) and they brought tomato and beef; frijittas were just so-so; shrimp was good, but not great; told us they didn't have "natural" beans (I even said it in Spanish) and they did have them; wanted

corn tortillas, and they gave us flour (had to insist they change those--they looked really greasy); brought us the wrong bill, and didn't even apologize; Bill had to ask for our change (ha,ha, ha). Luckily, there was no mariachi band banging away, so the atmosphere was ok--I liked the trees growing through the roof, and we met a really nice couple from California (who also didn't think their meal was that good.) Sorry I can't give a more positive report, but sometimes places go down when they get too popular, or like I said before, maybe it was just an off-night.

Read More

By debbfrk

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Nov 3, 2007

Everything was great!

I was there with the love of my life and had a great time. Everything about the restaurant was great. I really hope I get to return there some day with the same wonderful man that I was there with before.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jul 23, 2007

Mas o menos

Well, no one doesn't have an opinion about this place but it is wildly popular. Not sure it's worth an hour or more standing in line during high season so go early (or maybe for lunch) or late in the evening after the crowds die down. Mexican food is dependable but they'll try and upsell you to the seafood platter which is just so so and quite pricey. Stick with the chile rellenos or even the very respectable NY strip grill over an open fire with

the best twice baked potatoes on the planet. Not gourmet dining but dependable and reasonably priced. Service can be a little brusque.

Read More

By rollo

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 17, 2007

Our Favorite

We love this place. This was our fourth trip to Puerto Vallarta, there during our cruise. Had breakfast of eggs with machacha. Was fabulous and of course the cafe de olla coffee was great. We have only waited once for a table, guess we go early.This is one of our favorite places in Puerto Vallarta! We have only had good service and never had any kind of problem.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 15, 2006

opinionated

i never understand why people line up to wait for a table in this restaurant. it is crowded and noisy, serving mediocre food that is thrown at you, while some mariachi band is banging out it's music over your head. the food may be cheap, but it's not worth the dismal experience!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

X

No Thanks

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.