Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Oaxaca Hotels

Camino Real Oaxaca

Pros

  • Historic building
  • Lovely courtyard and pool area
  • Excellent service

Cons

  • Excessively pricey
  • Exterior rooms get street noise
  • Some rooms are dark and small

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

This breathtaking 16th-century building—the former Convento de Santa Catalina de Siena—is one of the city's landmarks. Around every corner is a discovery: a rear patio holds the covered pileta, a circle of stone basins where the nuns did laundry. The lavish breakfast buffet, which you can enjoy even if you're not a hotel guest, is served under the arches in what was the convent's kitchen. The grassy courtyard where mariachis play is a great spot for a margarita.

Staffers are crisp and professional, and always ready with directions or advice—as you'd hope they would be, given the audacious prices. Guest or not, consider signing up for the free 40-minute tour of this historic building. It departs from the lobby on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday at 5 pm.

Read More
$$$

Hotel Information

Address:

Calle 5 de Mayo 300, Oaxaca City, Oaxaca, 68000, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

951-501–6100

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 84 rooms, 7 suites

Updated 12/31/1969

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By cintal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2008

extremely over-rated

The rooms are tiny. Save your money and just visit there for a drink.

By Judi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2003

Great experience

I was shocked by the negative review of this hotel. We just returned from our most recent trip to Mexico a little over a week ago. We visited several cities and stayed in several hotels and beach resorts considerably more expensive than Camino Real, Oaxaca. However, we thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of the restored convent. The staff was wonderful. They arranged reservations at local restaurants, made recommendations, gave us directions and found

a wonderful guide for us. Many of the front desk staff are proficient in Spanish, English, French and German. We were always greeted with a cheerful "Buenos Dias", even from the maids and grounds keepers, as soon as we stepped outside our room. We were consistently treated with kindness and some amusement because of my halting Spanish. We have recommended this hotel to several people since our return. I can't say enough good about it. We expect to return to Oaxaca this Christmas to see the festivities and plan to stay here again. It was a charming and very positive experience.

Read More

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2003

Terrible Service!!!

My husband and I stayed at the hotel in December. We were very disappointed and will not return due to the unhelpful service we received. The front desk staff was unhelpful, did not honor the room type we reserved, and did not follow through on several requests. In addition, the rooms are average and the bathrooms a bit outdated for such a highly rated property. I recommend staying at one of the smaller, service oriented inns in Oaxaca not at

the Camino Real.

Read More

By Gregg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2002

Beautiful, Convenient and Warm

Just got back from 5 days in Oaxaca. Service was wonderful and friendly. Hotel was beautiful with flowers blooming everywhere and a small, quiet pool that my 8 year old loved. Room was small but fine for our needs. Close to everything. Highly recommended.

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2001

Beautiful and Peaceful

The architecture, landscaping, and furnishings are all beautiful. It feels like a very quiet and peaceful oasis but convenient to everything. The only drawback is that it is very pricy for Mexico but worth it at least for a night or two.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement