Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Oaxaca Restaurants

Los Danzantes

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Named for the dancing figures carved in stone at the nearby ruins of Monte Albán, this restaurant fuses the new and the old with dishes such as hierba santa asada, a local leaf stuffed with goat cheese and Oaxacan cheese; and ravioli with huitlacoche (corn fungus) in one sauce of squash flower and another of green chili and cream. The three-story earth-color walls, consisting of triangular columns of rough stone, are reflected in a pool that takes up about

half the open-air space. The service is perfectly attentive. Expect to dine exclusively in the company of other tourists.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Calle Macedonio Alcalá 403, Oaxaca City, Oaxaca, 68000, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

951-501–1187; 951-501–1184

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Oaxaca

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2010

Los Danzantes Review

Food's quality was really bad. Products weren't fresh, service was terrible. I think Los Danzantes is a tourist trap. I am really disappointed.

By cintal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2008

Beautiful interior and excellent food/service

The food is consistently good but not excellent. Very attentive service. The interior is spectacular with an area that is open to the stars at night.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2008

Atmosphere and Taste

Los Danzantes is a wonderful space, and the food was excellent. I had, among other items, the raviolis with huitlacoche. Service was excellent, and the night was superb in such a lovely space. For those who continually writer about small portions at fine restaurants, there is a Burger king in Oaxaca, too. Great double Whopper and biggie fries.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2008

expected better!

So people recommended me this restaurants, Les danzantes, casa oaxaca and biznaga, Les danzantes was ok, casa oaxaca was really good, biznaga horrible service! Luckly while searching on the internet, I ran into a restaurant called El teatro culinario. The chef there is fantastic. Last time I had food like that was at the french laundry (with Thomas Keller)and we payed almost nothing compared to the other restaurants!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2007

All talk, no walk

The food was overpriced and mediocre at the same time, with small portions. The atmosphere was indeed striking, if perhaps somewhat overdone. Only other tourists were in the restaurant on our visit. Los Danzantes was recommended to us, on our arrival, by a friend who had been living in Oaxaca for a year. After I described our experience she said: "Yes that's what I've heard." "So why did you recommend it to us?" "It was the only restaurant I could

think of right then."

Read More

By j

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2006

Great space- great food

Had lovely dinner (birthday celebration) here a few weeks ago. Their signature margaritas made with mango, if you like, contain mezcal. One of the best drinks I've ever had. Food is "nouveau" but still delicious. Great environment, nice service.

By Kerry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2005

beautiful setting-upscale prices

Very romantic for a special meal. Prices are a bit high for Oaxac but the nueva cocina is worth it.

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2004

Ravioli in Oaxaca? Yes, if filled with huitlacoche

Nouvelle Oaxacan, definitely worth a stop if you want a break from the traditional Oaxacan fare. If there was hip in Oaxaca, this would be it.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement