Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Cabos Restaurants

The Office

Updated 08/14/2014

Fodor's Review

At least once during your visit to Los Cabos, you should visit The Office, the original breakfast spot on Médano Beach's sandy shore. The Office screams "tourist-trap," bedecked with tiki torches and colorful rainbow tablecloths, but it's all in good fun, and it's always packed with revelers enjoying the near-perfect views of El Arco. Start your morning with a lobster omelet, fresh-fruit smoothie, and powerful cup of Mexican coffee. The French toast is another favorite. Service is super-friendly but the menu a bit expensive. Later in the day, decent, if not stellar, ceviche, nachos, fish tacos, seafood, and burgers are served in large portions that justify the high prices. Dinners of grilled shrimp or fish with garlic, and steaks are popular, especially when paired alongside cold beers and goblet-sized margaritas. Connoisseurs of the suds will want to sample the bottled options from Rámuri, a downtown brew pub managed by the same ownership group.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Playa El Médano, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, 23450, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

624-143–3464

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 08/14/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Los Cabos

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Peter16

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2009

Fiesta Night

Thursday Nights are Fiesta Night at the Office. Your dinner comes with a floor show which 1/2 is devoted to the culture and dancing of various regions of Mexico(all very well done) and the other 1/2 is devoted to the usual pseudo-sexual- alcohol laced antics of most "shows" in Cabo. The food is quite good, especially the Fish Veracruz and the Chili Renellos. It is not high cuisine but the food is good, the location is wonderful and its a nice place

to have a good relaxing, and fun dinner.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2008

A Scene..but with Good Food and Service

We had a very different experience from Skidmark--we had a lunch and a breakfast there and found the staff to be very professional and congenial. We actually received a number of good sightseeing and eating tips from one of the waiters. It is a scene but compared to the restaurants surrounding it, The Office is a haven of good taste and quality. The food was good and, yes, a bit overpriced but that is generally what we found in Los Cabos.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2008

scam a minute

Poor food and service; overpriced. Beware the many scams - the "hosts" who are really timeshare plants; the parking & towing scam, aided by the police; the high-pressure trinket, temporary tatoo & hairbraiding sellers who interrupt every meal.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2006

A must!

We had our first lunch in Los Cabos at The Office, and we're glad we didn' miss it. The food was good, but the atmosphere was a constant party. Even though we'r in our 50's, we enjoyed watching the spring breakers on the beach and at the bar next door. We had been warned about the vendors, and that it's best to sit in the interior, but we ended up on the edge accessible to vendors, and had a ball looking at their wares and telling them no. It's

just part of the experience! Expensive for lunch, but we would do it again. Loved the two-for-one beers served in iced buckets.

Read More

By Yolanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2005

" "

The lunch was very good. It's a real happening place.

By Marcia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2003

A Not-So-Typical Day at the Office

On our first trip to Cabo (March 1995), we had our last dinner at the Office. The moon was HUGE and sat lazily in the water in front of us. We had the biggest, most tender lobster ever which we ate with our fingers (how sinfully delicious!). The water washed over our feet and slowly retreated. It was the most romantic meal we'ever had. Each year, we return. Once we went for (hopefully) a romantic Valentine's Day dinner, but turned around and

left as the place was full of people that had had way too much to drink and were very loud (even the staff felt bad). Again, we visited and happened to make the mistake of going on Fiesta night. Way too loud for us. Sadly, we have resigned ourselves to only go for breakfast or lunch. Last year, we had lunch and the food was ok, nothing special. Service was wonderful and the location is, as expected, tops. We wish we could experience that first meal once again.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2003

If you're 19 yrs old

This is the place, next to billigans. noisy, drucks etc, etc.

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2002

Sitting in the sand

This is a very casual place to sit and enjoy the sea and people. If you don't like vendors, sit in the back. It has the best food on Medano beach and is good for breakfast too. Stick you feet in the sand and enjoy. If it's too hot there are spray bottles of water.

By Trisha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2002

Another day at The Office

We ate here once for lunch and twice for breakfast. It is very inexpensive and has a fun atmosphere. The waiters are very friendly. Get one of the smoothies for breakfast--very yummy! There are vendors everywhere so get a table toward the middle or back.

By Tish

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2002

LOTS OF FUN!

Lots of fun, food was good but expensive. They had a Mexican Fiesta when we were there so it was packed. Recommend reservations.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2001

This Makes Goint to the Office Fun!

An Office on the Beach. What more could you ask for? Well... really good food, great scenery...both natural and human, and just kicking back fun. Do lunch if you like it low key... sunsets and dinners for a more intense experience.

By Lars

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2001

A fun place to party!

If you are looking to hang out somewhere casual, and have sand in your toes as you drink a margarita, this is the place.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement