Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Cabos Hotels

One&Only Palmilla

  • Hwy. 1, Km 27.5 Map It
  • $$$$
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Lush landscape stands out from the rest
  • "Air to Go" meals for flight home
  • Complimentary tequila and cocktail snacks delivered daily
  • Morning yoga and boot camp classes

Cons

  • Prices are high
  • Increasing numbers of boisterous groups mar the otherwise genteel atmosphere

Updated 08/14/2014

Fodor's Review

Built in 1956 by the son of the then-president of Mexico, the One&Only was the first resort introduced to the Los Cabos area, and it retains an old-world ambience and elegance that is without match in the region. This spacious, leafy, distinguished resort is home to renowned chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten's Market restaurant, and chef Larbi Dahrouch's more casual, waterfront spot Agua. Adding to the never-ending amenities are a sushi and ceviche bar that looks out

onto the Pacific, a Jack Nicklaus golf course, and a top spa. Two pools seem to flow over low cliffs into the sea, and each of the beach casitas has its own infinity pool. Hand-painted tiles edge stairways leading to rooms and suites that have Bose sound systems, flat-screen TVs, illy espresso machines, and handcrafted Mexican accents like studded antique doors, wool rugs, and a gorgeous bar stocked to make any cocktail. Some patios and terraces have daybeds and unobstructed sea views.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2012

Hotel Information

Address:

Hwy. 1, Km 27.5, The Corridor, Baja California Sur, 23400, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

624-146–7000; 866-829–2977-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 172 rooms, 1 villa
  • No meals

Updated 08/14/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Los Cabos

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By EWM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2006

perfect perfect perfect

There's nothing I can add to Diana from Jersey's post! She did leave out the swim up bar at the adult pool. That was a highlight. The food was great. Iguanas and wildlife everywhere. Luxurious rooms with great Mexican flair. Attentive staff that has already thought of everything. Even the town of Los Cabos was lovely.

By Diana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2005

Nervana!!!

My husband and I decided on a last minute vacation during the 4th of July weekend. Making a reservation during such a busy weekend was not a problem at this amazing resort. We didn't know what expect since our plans were made on such short notice. All I can say is we didn't expect perfection! The second you step foot out of the airport there is someone there to pick you up in a brand new Hummer packed will water, moist towels, and water spitzers to

refresh you after your airplane ride. Driving up threw the green and lush entrance is stunning but doesn't compare to the greeting you recieve at the entrance to this blissful resort, Ice cold tropical ice pops to refresh your self, while being given a tour of the resort under umbrella,is above and beyond. 10 Minute later you are in your room which is so beautifully funished and has an amazing view of the sea's waves crashing into the rocks below, you want to instantly move in. Wait it gets better, before we knew it our butler was at our door to cater to every whim we might have, he planned all our days and evenings and was not intrucive at all. The atmosphere was very calming but not boring. The pools, the grounds, the services are unforgetable and the best I have ever had the privlage to enjoy. They even packed a lunch box for each of us to take on the plane. I can't wait to return! I can't say enough, you just have to experiance it for yourself, it's the only way-The One & Only way.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2003

The Best Point in Cabo

We have stayed at Las Ventanas and Esperanza in the past, but were forced to stay here due to late booking for spring break. Geographic point including waves, rocks, surrounding ocean are much much better. Renovations to be finished by December will rocket this resort back to very top if pricing isn´t ridiculous. Crowd is fantastically diverse and down to earth, low-key but includes movie stars and extended families. One immediately feels the

history and quality of the location has maintained this resort as a favorite with many generations. Las Ventanas lunch and spa was a drag, too quiet, seemingly lifeless and just plain overdone. We have now formally changed our favorite Cabo place to Palmilla.

Read More

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2002

Never Again

We went for the Christmas holidays. Given that the prices were jacked up for the season and then a mandatory 15% service charge added on top of this, the service level was embarrassing. There was no incentive for the staff to provide better service. Dinner orders were wrong, room service was late, and my margarita always arrived with salt. Sounds like a place to go off season.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2001

Whale watch from your patio

Spent five nights at this lovely resort in January and liked it so much we went back in August. Book the beachfront junior suite. You won't find a room in the world closer to the beach, with such sweeping vistas. Whales arrived off-shore from the hotel virtually every afternoon in January. The food is excellent, both in the formal restuarant and poolside. Outdoor dining is always an option. Complimentary continental breakfast brought to your room

is a delight. Have it served on the patio. Service varies from very good to just average, but far out-performs the rest of Mexico. Expensive but worth it.

Read More

By Kyle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2001

For incredible views and accomodations with none of the service.

The suite was spacious and spotless and was arranged beautifully with wooden furniture. Unfortunately, the service did not live up to our expectations for a resort with such a long-standing reputation. Most of the staff expected, almost demanded, a tip before any service was provided. No greetings or "offers to assist" were offered as my wife and I strolled around the grounds, or made our way to retrieve our car from the parking lot. With the

exception of the extremely attentive and helpfull staff at the concierge, the rest of the people were marginal at best.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement