Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo Restaurants

La Perla

  • Seafood

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

The slightly more formal take on the typical toes-in-the-sand dining experience is evident in the fact this popular spot on Playa la Ropa accepts credit cards. Among the seafood specialties here are filete La Perla (fish fillet baked with cheese); lobster thermidor; and yummy fish or shrimp tacos made with homemade flour or corn tortillas and served with guacamole. There's a nice wine list and Havana cigars for after dinner. And you don't have to get your feet wet

or sandy at all; you can sit in the palapa-covered restaurant under the trees or take a stool at the corner bar, where there's always a game on satellite TV. But plenty of customers just sit on the beach and sip a drink.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo, 48880, Mexico

Phone:

755-554–2700

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By skip

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2005

great view

go for the drinks be safe inproper caring an refrig of there food happened to see the kitchen whole tuna setting on chairs in hallway, whats with this, not again sorry,

By fred

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2005

good food at a good price

yes you do pay three dollars for a spot on the beach but you get two lounge chairs a sitting style chair a table and an umbrella you can opt to sit under a tree in a chair for free the waiter is slow but if you wave your hand he will come by my wife and i spent four hours there our glasses were never empty the food was very good typical mexican food we enjoyed it so much that we went back for the super bowl place was so full we sat in chairs just

outside they had about six tvs got to watch the game with my feet in the sand met some nice people there too

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2005

We Were Sorry. So many good places.

Recommended by Apple Vacations we taxied there from Ixtapa, dark parking lot, empty except for a few taxis, restaurant was also empty, however it took 3-4 minutes before anyone acknowledged our arrival. We were seated on plastic chairs on a sandy beach and we sank almost a foot. The food was deplorable. I ordered coconut shrimp. They were cold and greasy and tasted of grease. I would not go there for dinner, maybe for lunch in conjunction with

beaching it there.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2004

Contrary opinion on service

I post on several boards and have seen many complaints about slow service at this restaurant. I have been going to this restaurant for years now, every January or February. Yes, the service does not include a waiter hovering over every diner, but it is adequate. I rated it a 4 out of a possible 5. The food and atmosphere is very good - great seafood! The prices are slightly higher than average for a quality restaurant. There are better restaurants

in the area, but I go to this place at least once every year, more often twice! I recommend it. If you go, don't be afraid to stand up and wave your hand if you feel you aren't being properly attended. The wait staff are very friendly and accommodating. If you go in January, perhaps I'll see you there!

Read More

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2003

on the beach but overrated!

i agree with poster below -- food is so-so (tuna way overcooked) and the owner is kind of a jerk. we saw a couple walk out after waiting to have their order taken (it was not that busy) -- they have a nice spot on the beach but it's like they don't expect anyone to come back, so why try too hard. walk down the beach to Paty's, prices are about the same and it is so much nicer.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2002

Best seat on the beach

We had a good meal at a reasonable price. Good service. All right on the beach. The sunset was an added bonus.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2001

GREAT SPOT FOR LUNCH AT THE BEACH

This is a perfect spot to enjoy delicious, fresh as you can get lobster and fish. It is on the beach, so VERY casual, but fun. Go for lunch and enjoy. Be careful with the margheritas - better to stick to the beer here!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement