Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo Restaurants

Kau-Kan

  • Eclectic

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

When was the last time you enjoyed a plate of stingray in black butter sauce? This unimposing restaurant encases the heart of Zihuatenejo's most deliciously inventive cuisine. Owner-chef Ricardo Rodriguez, who worked in Paris before returning to Mexico, applies deft Mexican and Mediterranean touches to seafood dishes in a beachcomber aura overlooking the bay. The melt-in-your-mouth abalone and exquisite grilled mahimahi under a sweet, spicy pineapple sauce are popular

choices, but the house specialty remains patata rellena—potatoes stuffed with shrimp and lobster in a fresh basil-and-garlic sauce.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Carretera Escénica, Lote 7, en route to Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo, 48880, Mexico

Phone:

755-554–8446

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed last 2 wks of Sept. No lunch.

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Rocky

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2006

Romantic Sunset

This is a great place to watch the sunset and the bay with your significant other. The wine list is excellent; try the Spanish Riojas. Buen provecho.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 14, 2004

Great View - nothing else!

I agree with another poster - go there for a cocktail and a nice view of the sun setting over the bay. The food is mediocre and overpriced. The service has been slow. There are other restaurants nearby with much better food for about two-thirds the price with as good a view. After reading other reviews, I see others have rated their food and service as excellent - perhaps their kitchen staff and wait staff changes and I've been there on bad days.

I've noticed that sort of dichotomy on other restaurants - I took the positive side on La Perla and saw other reviews that described unpleasant experiences. I don't know what happens - I certainly don't want to discredit other reviewers - I am sure they are accurately describing their experience. But for this restaurant, I don't want to spend the kind of money they charge to take a chance on the food and service. I can't recommend this restaurant.

Read More

By Candace

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2003

The Best Food in Zihua

We found Kau-Kan first in May 2002 when we stayed at La Casa Que Canta. We liked it so much we dined there twice in May and then returned in November. The food was excellent and consistent each time. We especially enjoyed the grouper dish (with dijon sauce) and the snapper (with veracruz). Salads were delicious (Caesar), and so were the appetizers (small shrimp in butter sauce). They had great "small touches" like a complimentary small appetizer

and lovely table candles. Service was prompt, but admittedly better on our first trip. The second time we were there, the waiter spoke so little English that we had a difficult time communicating (and both my fiance and I speak basic Spanish). The view from the second floor is better than on the first floor, but both look out over the bay. Lovely in the evening. We're going back to Zihua in April to be married, and having our rehearsal dinner at Kau-Kan. I would highly recommend.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2001

Simply the BEST

We first visited Kau Kan when it was directly on the bay and were crestfallen to see that it had gone when we went back 2 years later. Then, to our delight we discovered that it had moved to it's new magical location. Stunning view, soft breezes and great food. A terrific restaurant anywhere and then when you think of the price it is not to be missed. Over the years we've eaten here at least 6 times and always been delighted.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2001

Gorgeous setting

We went twice in five nights because we loved the setting and the proximity to our hotel (Casa Cuitlateca--but it is in the same area as Casa Que Canta as well). Grilled lobster special was good, and the potato-lobster-basil dish was excellent. Skip the flan and the mahi mahi (decent/average). Bring your camera. Service was good--very attentive (in fact, be careful or your plate will be cleared before you've taken your last bite!)

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2001

THE BEST IN ZIHUATANEJO

Wonderful atmosphere as you dine outside overlooking the Zihuatanejo Bay. Great food - especially good are the Lobster stuffed baked potato, the marinated abalone appetizer, and delicious black bean soup. Highly recommended but make reservations as it books up!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement