Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo Restaurants

Coconuts

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Eat at the horseshoe-shape bar—especially if you happen to be by yourself—or out under the sky. Restored by owner Patricia Cumming's architect husband, Zihua's oldest house has a gorgeous patio open to the stars and surrounded by zillions of tiny white lights. The kitchen is consistent: try the roast pork loin, the sweet and zesty coconut shrimp, or one of the vegetarian offerings. Five different dessert coffees are prepared flaming at your table. In the evening a

keyboarder or romantic duo playing bossa nova or jazz is sure to entertain.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Pasaje Agustín Ramírez 1, Zihuatanejo, 48880, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

755-554–2518

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed June–mid-Oct.

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By rollo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2010

Coconuts Review

I had the red snapper & it was great, but my husband's pork chop was over cooked. The chairs are uncomfortable. The drinks didn't have any booze.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2007

Unhappy with service

I was really unhappy with this place. The food was bland and our server was rude when we didn't order any drinks besides water. For the high prices you can go to better places.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2007

Better Than Ever

We have been going to Zihuatanejo for the past 20 years. We had the best dinner ever at Coconuts this last trip. Tthey have a new chef from Australia. The food is fantastic, the service is still great and the atmosphere in the garden is magical

By Randrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2006

Still a solid choice.

I dined here last week during our annual trip to "Z" and found it to be relatively unchanged. The same beautiful setting, great bar and location. The food was very good but perhaps not up to previous standards. Service was good but also down from past visits. On the whole, I must still recommend this as one the best in town. If you want something cheaper there are other choices. They had live entertainment, but not intrusive.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2006

Over priced

Mediocre expensive food & so so Service.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2004

Over priced - over rated

This restaurant has average food, slow service and high prices. I heard it advertised and recommended by good people, but I was disappointed. There are restaurants with better food, better atmosphere and lower prices. Skip this one.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2001

SAVE YOUR MONEY AND AVOID THIS TOURIST TRAP

It was with much anticipation that we went to Coconuts for dinner, since we'd heard such great things and it looked so great. Unfortunately, the service was perfunctory, the food was okay and the price was, in my opinion, shameless given the other two factors. However, I think they are probably coasting on a reputation that was earned a LONG time ago. Certainly, KauKan or even Sirena Gorda, 2 very different restaurants, offer up outstanding dining

experiences in line with their cost.

Read More

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2001

They are not kidding about the margaritas!

Very strong margaritas (and I am not complaining!) and good food. We liked the setting but our server was a little distracted and just not around very much at all, which is weird because we were there when the restaurant was almost empty. The prices seemed a little high, which is my reason for the "3" in the value column, but I suppose for a high profile restaurant like Coconuts (you read about it everywhere) they deserve to charge a little more.

We'll visit it again when we return to Zihua.

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2001

CoConuts Bar & Restaurant

Try the grilled lobster/langostino in garlic-the best. A festive open air restaurant in the heart of town. Lots of Americans hang here. Great margueritas. I will go back every time I am in Zihuatanejo-which I hope will be soon.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2001

FUN SPOT IN THE MIDDLE OF ZIHUA TOWN

A fun place to go - good lobster and delicious, homemade pate. Not the best but a fun alternative. Potent margheritas.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement