Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo Hotels

Las Brisas Ixtapa

Pros

  • Great balconies and views
  • Great beachfront
  • Away from the hodgepodge of hotels on the main strip

Cons

  • Lobby area is cavernous and not that inviting
  • Amenities and on-site restaurants are really expensive
  • Not within walking distance of main strip ($4 cab ride away)

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

The balconies of this pyramid-shape resort are reason enough to stay here—sunbathe or sip cocktails from a deck chair during the day and stargaze from your hammock at night (junior-suite balconies also have hot tubs). Las Brisas is at the secluded southern end of Ixtapa away from the main strip, so there's nothing but blue water to gaze at. The resort is built into a hill and has a bit of an awkward layout (it's a bit of a hike from the main building to the pool complex),

but who needs gardens to stroll through when you're on the best stretch of beach in Ixtapa? Standard rooms have low ceilings and are a little narrow, but they have heavenly pillow-top beds and small sitting nooks with comfy window-seat-like couches.

Read More
$$$

Hotel Information

Address:

Playa Vista Hermosa, Ixtapa, 40880, Mexico

Phone:

755-553–2121; 888-559–4329

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 390 rooms, 26 suites

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2007

very noisy and smelly room

I stayed in rooms 1111 and 1511. These rooms have communicating doors with 1112 and 1512 respectively. Because of this, you can hear every noise from next door, even a pin drop. You will also share the toilet smell with the guests next door. There is a persistent sewage stench in room 1511. The patio furniture is very different from the one pictured in their brochures - cheap metal/plastic covered with peeled paint. everything in this hotel is overpriced:

the restaurants, the bars, the tobacco shop, the gift shop. Be careful because they will overcharge your room account for things you did not drink from the mini-bar. The beach is unsuitable for swimming and kids: strong undertow and murky water.

Read More

By fred

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2005

if you cant enjoy yourself here somethings wrong

just came back feb. 7 2005 what a place to go and relax beach is great just watch out for the waves one got me and ripped my shorts to my ankles if you want quiet go by the pools food isnt cheap but was as good as any of the other finer resturants service couldnt have been any better friendly staff furniture is older and tv is mostly in mexican but i slept like a baby and i will watch tv back home a great side trip is playa la ropa very mellow over

there

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2003

Las Brisas-A step above the rest

We stayed at Las Brisas during February break of '03. I was originally looking for a hotel with a lot going on, similar to what I had experienced in Cancun. Within minutes of my arrival to Las Brisas, I was sadly disappointed. Las Brisas is the opposite: quiet, calm, relaxing, no loud radios, no drinking games at the pool, no water aerobics. I was miserable the first few hours. That is, until I began to explore the hotel. Nice, comfortable rooms with

huge balconies, each with a lounge, chairs, flowers, and a palapa (hammock.) The pool area is incredible...4 pools each on a different level (with one adult only pool), waterfalls, a stepped waterfall area where you can lay down and read a book. There are many trails leading down to the beach. In addition, there are at least 5 restaurants on the property, each with a different flair. Incredible food, albeit pricey. We ate lunch, breakfast, and one dinner in the hotel. We chose to eat out the rest of the time. (You definitely have to try Kau Kan in Zihuatenejowhat a beautiful place-- outdoor dining high above the bay.) The staff at Las Brisas was fantastic. Everyone was courteous, friendly, and helpful. Each day our maid would take hibiscus flowers and petals and create a pattern on the bed. It was beautiful. The hotel is away from the strip, nestled on a hill, with its own private beach. Yet, it is a quick cab ride from the action of downtown Ixtapa (the hotel strip), or to the great town of Zihuatenejo. By the time our week was up, I dreaded leaving this paradise. If you are looking for a hotel where you can get away from it all this is the place for you. Bring a good book and enjoy!

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2003

All three times have been great

We've stayed here three times beginning when the Las Brisas was still the Westin five years ago. The rooms are large enough for two people to be very comfortable and the balcony is the best we have ever seen. Very private with a beautiful view of the ocean and sunset from every room. The beach is great, with lots of room to throw a football or frisbee and the waves are large enough to be fun without being dangerous. We didn't eat any meals at the

hotel, but chose instead to dine in nearby restaurants which are as close as a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The marina has additional great restaurants and is about a half hour walk or a five minute cab ride. ($5) The only problem we've had is with the hotels policy of no more than three to a room, since we have two teenage boys. Great locale overall, with great weather and little rain. One day of rain in the 20 days we've been there since 1997.

Read More

By GP

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2002

Nice Place!

Now just called Las Brisas. We were here off-season 10-5 to 10-10-02 had a great time. This is not a budget place but I believe they deliver a very high level of service for the price. Rooms are simple but the balcony is large with great views. Las Brisas would be a nice choice for a honeymoon or romantic get away. It is set on a secluded cove away from Ixtapa. If you have problems getting around skip this place. It is built on a hill side so there

are lots of stairs

Read More

By Dick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2002

Outstanding Resort!

My wife and I just returned from seven great days at this resort and could not be happier. The bathroom could use some updating, but that was minor. Outstanding view from the upper floors. Service was mostly great at the pool and beach areas. Food was excellent. Speciality restaurants were outstanding as was the service there! Loved the turndown service at night and the fact they cleaned the bathroom and brought new towels in the evening. Very private

beach. We would recomend this to anyone who wants to relax in the sunshine. Not a good place for small children.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2001

Very private, calm space

Stayed there last winter for a week. Rooms are wonderful, great beds, fabulous patio and hammock. Pools are on hillside in trees, you think you are in a rain forest, beach is beautiful, quiet and very uncrowded. Food very good. Zihuatanejo is a great town with excellent restaurants, only a $3.00, 5 minute, cab ride away. And all a direct 3 hour flight from most large U.S. cities, leave in the morning and have a late lunch in the sun on the beach.

Can't be beat.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement