Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo Hotels

La Casa Que Canta

  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Secluded and quiet
  • Excellent food
  • Great spa services

Cons

  • No direct access to beach (it's one block away)
  • No elevator and lots of stairs
  • Particularly expensive

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

The House That Sings clings to a cliff above Playa la Ropa. All guest quarters have lovely furnishings and folk art and generous patios with bay views; suites have outdoor living areas. Bathrooms are luxurious, as are such touches as flower petals arranged in intricate mosaics on your bed each day. The infinity pool seems to be airborne; tucked into the cliff below, a saltwater pool overlooks the surf. The restaurant serves guests breakfast and lunch; dinners here are

more formal and are open to the public.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Camino Escénico a Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo, 40880, Mexico

Phone:

755-555–7000; 888-523–5050

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential
  • 21 suites, 2 villas

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2009

Uncertain accomodations

The hotel considers any room with a double vanity and a plunge pool a master suite. I stayed in Suite 17 in Sol. This room was so small that it would fit on the terrace of some of the master suites. Suites in Mar and Luna actually fit the descriptions found on the website. However, the inventory of master suites has obviously been expanded to include rooms of an inferior quality. You take your chances with management including more suites as

"master" during peak times.

Read More

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2006

Most romantic Mexican destination ever

This is a beautiful, relaxing locale with attention to every detail. If I win the lotto, I'm moving in permanently! Extraordinary.

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2006

Amazing

Highly romantic this place is a gem. Stay in the private residence, you get the same great service as the main hotel but you are right on the beach. Everything here is first class. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. Open air living rooms bring the outdoors in. The views are to die for, as is the food at the restaurant. Order the whole chicken in your room, it is excellent. Prices are through the roof, and the taxes and add on's

are also extreme. But, you get what you pay for and I have not stayed in many hotels that can hold a candle to this one.

Read More

By Gordon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2005

Unbelivable Place

My wife and I spent 5 nights at La Casa in April. If you want a hideout that is a 5 star hotel with great service and great food (that guy from Anchorage must be confusing La Casa with another restaurant), it's a must. It's small size lends itself to personal service. You almost feel you have the place to yourself at times (except at dinner). Spectacular views, and the ocean crashing into the rocks below the hotel is an everpresent music. Expensive,

but worth it. Romance factor an 11 on a 10 scale.

Read More

By Candace

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2003

AMAZING PLACE

We stayed at La Casa Que Canta in May of 2002. The pictures and website did not compare to how amazing the entire resort is. We had a beautiful room with spacious outdoor living area, hammock, private pool and amazing view of the bay. La Casa sits on the cliffs, so there's no beachfront area, but there is access to the public beach within about 3 minutes walking distance. We spent much of our time, however, on our own patio with pool, and at the

infinity pool on the main deck, which is quite nicer than the salt-water pool on the lower level. Service was fantastic, and the food was good, but pricey for the quality and quantity served. We spent most of our dinners at other area restaurants. You won't find a more beautiful, secluded resort, especially for the price. It has an exclusive feel without being pretentious and a wonderful atmosphere. We liked it so much we are headed back in April to be married at El Murmullo, their private property.

Read More

By Shannon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2002

Honeymoon Paradise

We just got back from our honeymoon at La Casa Que Canta, and cannot say enough good things about it! It was the perfect honeymoon spot, we relaxed by both of their beautiful pools, ordered room service about 4 times a day on our large balcony with the gorgeous ocean view, and let ourselves be pampered! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2001

It really does sing

Staff was the best I have ever seen. The view from Suite 18 is unbelievably breathtaking yet calming. THe best hotel in Zihua. They love to serve.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2001

ONE OF OUR FAVORITE SPOTS TO GET AWAY

One of our favorite spots to get away. My husband and I go almost every year. The views from the rooms are fantastic. The service is good and the setting unbeatable. The restaurant has lovely views and very good food. Perfect for a romantic week. The only problem is it is a walk to the beach - but not too far!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement