Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cozumel Hotels

Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort and Spa

  • Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort and Spa, Zona Hotelera Sur

    Reef Suite

  • Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort and Spa, Zona Hotelera Sur

    Presidente InterContinental Cozumel

  • Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort and Spa, Zona Hotelera Sur

    Presidente InterContinental Cozumel

  • Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort and Spa, Zona Hotelera Sur

    Presidente InterContinental Cozumel

  • Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort and Spa, Zona Hotelera Sur

    Presidente InterContinental Cozumel

  • Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort and Spa, Zona Hotelera Sur

    Cozumel Country Club

Pros

  • Secluded and spacious feel
  • High-quality beds and linens
  • IPod docking stations, impeccable service

Cons

  • Overpriced restaurants
  • Timeshare pitches in the lobby
  • Far from town

Updated 04/16/2013

Fodor's Review

The InterContinental really owns the luxury resort market on Cozumel, offering top-notch service, expansive lawns, pristine beaches, and spacious, modern rooms. Situated in a quiet, undeveloped patch of jungle, the InterContinental is miles away from the island's cruise-ship hustle and bustle, making it the perfect place for those looking to escape. Rooms here are sleek, bathed in neutral colors, and are enhanced by luxe touches like outdoor rain showers, hammocks, or

whirlpool tubs with a sea view. If you're in the market for relaxation, the Mandara Spa is the island's best. Active types will relish the property's top dive shop, tennis courts, state-of-the-art gym, and daily roster of activities.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Carretera Chankanaab, Km 6.5, Cozumel, Quintana Roo, 77600, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

987-872–9500; 800-327–0200

Hotel Details:

  • 183 rooms, 37 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/16/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Cozumel

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Dee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2004

Tops on the island

Spent a week at the Presidente recently. It is clearly the #1 hotel on the island. Maybe a little expensive for what it is, but the staff are very nice, the facilities are excellent, and the location is good (also room service prices not that bad, interestingly). We arrived before 3 PM check-in, and were told the room wasn't ready, so they gave us an ocean view room (which we hadn't reserved) for the garden view price, because that room was clean.

That is the attitude at this hotel--they try to make the guests happy, in whatever way they can. Parenthetically, I don't agree with the other comments here that Cozumel is ruined by cruise-ship traffic. Granted, we saw as many as 7 ships in port on any given day, but if you stay out of San Miguel, crowds are not a problem (even at Chankanaab). We rented a car and were happy with the independence it gave us, and the ability to avoid crowds. We don't dive and had a great time; I think those who dive must REALLY enjoy the place. Overall, definitely recommend the Presidente.

Read More

By Pamela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2003

Great place for a family Christmas

Just returned from 6 nights at El Presidente -- family group with parents, three teenagers and grandma. Wonderful beach and facilities but not too far from town to try different restaurants. Great snorkeling right at the hotel. Service was very good and the people very friendly and helpful. Groundlevel beachfront rooms are worth it! Walk right out to the beach. If you want a Ritz Carlton level luxury hotel this won't measure up -- but for a

family group it was excellent. I booked way ahead and room rates were reasonable at ~ $200 per night before the taxes and daily resort fee. Cozumel itself is laidback and friendly -- only downside are the hordes of people from the cruise ships that dock there.

Read More

By Stacy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2003

Flowers on the toilet...made my day :P

First trip to Coz...just got back from 4 nights at the Presidente...and have no plans to EVER stay anywhere else on the island! Service could not be beat...We stopped by the front desk on the way to our room once...requested 2 extra pillows and an ice 'bucket' (actually an ice chest). We meandered our way towards our room - and the pillows and ice chest - full of ice already - arrived before we did! Food at the 'main' restaurant was very good (the

most unique yet tasty caesar salad!) 2 for 1 HH - an unexpected 'pleasure' we enjoyed. Atmosphere around the bar never failed to be friendly...we spent time every night just hanging out there. Housekeeping and room service? Absolutely superb. Can't say much more than that (see my title, haha). Front desk allowed us to check in early, worked our 'upgrade' no problem, and answered every question we had. The bellhops in particular were a pleasure - very helpful w/ making sure we were getting a fair taxi fare and relaying detailed info when needed in Spanish to the driver. Felt completely at ease. Oceanfront view was lovely, the grounds were impeccable...whoever said the staff was cleaning day and night were dead on. Only complaint? That had to be THE hardest bed I have EVER slept on! Woke up each morning w/ entire side of my body aching. Seriously...they could do with an eggshell mattress or something! We got a package deal during 'low' season, so I probably don't have a great gage on the value...but it seemed quite reasonable for a 4 night stay, especially considering the level of service we received. All in all...I really feel like I can't rave about it enough!

Read More

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2002

Snorkeling and Diving at El Presidente is Fantastic

The reef in front of the hotel offers some of the best snorkeling on the island and diving is totally accessible from here. The hotel itself is impeccable - there are staff cleaning around the clock. Be sure to stay in a room on the ocean or on the first level - do not stay in a "standard room." You have to spend a little extra to experience true luxury at El Presidente. Also be sure to catch a massage at the hotel's spa.

By Angi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2001

Our Garden Patio had a resident Iguana

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Presidente. The front desk let us check into our room 6 hours early, and all of the staff were very accommodating. For example, I asked our maid for a pen and she called and had one delivered immediately - with a smile! The room was spotless, and they provided one bottle of water water a day at no charge, and additional bottles for 50 pesos. Our "Garden Room" boasted 2 patios, one private and one overlooking

the lawn with our very own friendly, harmless Igunana. We rarely left the hotel, as the pool, private beach with shade palapas and hammocks, (no one asking to braid your hair or sell you silver jewelry here!) and amazing snorkeling/fish right in front of the hotel were reason enough to stay. The food was good, and the happy hour (2 for 1) kept us on the property. We would go back. FOr the more adventurous, there are other activities such as diving, etc. that you can do right from the hotel.

Read More

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2000

Really enjoyed our stay.

My boyfriend and I went to the Presidente in Cozumel in Oct. 2000. We had a wonderful stay. They have hammocks right along the beach and excellent snorkeling right in front of the hotel.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement