Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Riviera Maya Hotels

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal

  • Av. Xamanha Map It
  • Trusted Brand

Pros

  • Oceanfront rooms
  • Tropical setting
  • Bicycles for guests
  • Tax and tips included in rate

Cons

  • Food lacks variety
  • Small beach
  • Water at swim-up bar can be chilly
  • Wi-Fi costs extra

Updated 03/05/2013

Fodor's Review

This unique all-inclusive resort has preserved its natural surroundings—among the resident animals are flamingos, turtles, toucans, peacocks, and monkeys. Landscaped pool areas surround the open-air restaurant and reception area. Spacious rooms have cheerful color schemes and patios overlooking dense vegetation. The roaming animals, kids' club, and designated pool for children make this hotel a family favorite.

Hotel Information

Address:

Av. Xamanha, Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, 77710, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

984-877–2000

Hotel Details:

  • 730 rooms
  • All-inclusive

Updated 03/05/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Riviera Maya

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2011

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal Review

Just returned from seven days at the Tucan with our extended family (two adult couples, four teens) and couldn't be happier with our choice. The grounds and buildings are exquisitely maintained, the staff is very friendly and take great pride in their work. The location can't be beat--just a couple of minutes from the heart of Playa, but set apart by the jungle-like grounds and animals. We awoke each morning to the sounds of birds and monkeys, went

to the beach and set up our chairs/umbrellas (it's annoying that everyone "saves" chairs, but it's the system so you have to follow it or expect to sit on sand), headed to breakfast, and then hit the beach. Beach drink service was wonderful and frequent. The water is gorgeous, but if you want a more secluded beach, just walk South a few minutes and you'll have the water to yourself. The buffets were plentiful and varied in choices, but the food quality was ordinary at best. However, you're definitely not going to starve! The girls in our group all got massages in the palapa hut on the beach--so relaxing. Our last night was Christmas Eve and the staff worked very hard to put on a much nicer dinner with lobster, shrimp, tenderloin, etc., but like all the meals served buffet style, it was just fair. The decorations and ice sculptures were lovely. We really, really liked this resort and recommend it highly for families with tweens or teens. The trade off on flavor was well worth the convenience of not having to hunt and gather food for eight people three times a day (or more!). It was our first time at an Iberostar (we usually stay at Starwoods) and we enjoyed it very much!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2007

The Good and the Bad

Let me start off by admitting that I was part of a group that brought some high school seniors down for Spring Break. Our kids were in a spirited competition with another school to see who could outparty the other, so things were somewhat on the edge. That being said.... The Good Overall the accomodations were very good - large, comfortable rooms in a great setting. Both the pool and the beach area offered tons of lounging options with great sun/shade

options. Everything was kept in pristine condition. The staff (not the management) was great - always with a Hola and a smile. The Bad The food was definitely a disappointment, although I don't really know what I expected. Breakfast was OK, but it is hard to mess that up too bad. Otherwise, the only decent food to be found was down on the beach where they grilled burgers, chicken and fajitas. The buffets and the theme restaurants were uniformly disappointing. Regarding the theme restaurants, one night we were denied a seat because we didn't have the reservation receipt printed by the concierge (even though our name was printed on a list). Now to the management. Yes these were high school seniors and I will be the first to admit they pushed limits, but the hotel accepted the reservations and I doubt this was the only time they had spring breakers. Managements response was everything was the kids fault. Yet, they had no problems with hookers in the disco and somehow security managed to let a group of kids get mugged while on the hotel tram. Spring break issues aside, I would probably stay away.

Read More

By Jose

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2004

This place sucks, and I didn't even travel yet!!!

We have 3 kids and they are making me book 2 rooms, unless I book direct with the hotel. In this case, they will charge me more than double what the tour operator is offering for a standard room, but I only get 1 room from the hotel. This place is mis-managed and is very disappointing.

By Nicole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2004

great resort

Myself and 3 of my girlfriends stayed at Tucan for 4 nights in September 2002. For a group of women traveling together the resort was near perfect. The pool and beach are beautiful, the staff extremely helpful and polite and the jungle setting is unique. Afterall, there are even monkeys in the trees! The rooms are very nice and the staff keeps your mini-bar stocked at all times. The only negative, if you could call it that, is the dining. The

food is good, but if you stay for less than a week, you only get to eat in an a la carte restaurant once. Also, the buffets are located in the middle of the resort for dinner, which gets no ocean breeze; thus making your dining experience very sweaty. (Granted we were there in the humid season). Overall though, I would return in a heartbeat!

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2003

I liked the Iberostar Quetzal....

but I have to be honest here - I just didn't love it the way others do. Don't get me wrong; it's a nice resort and we had a nice vacation but I wouldn't return. I just couldn't get into the jungle atmosphere. Yes, I know that's why many go and love it but it wasn't for me. I also felt it was difficult to get from point A to point B at this resort. We are veteran AI vacationers so we know all about buffets but found the IBQ's dinner buffet to

be monotonous after the first couple of nights. The breakfast buffet and lunch down by the beach were great. The two specialty restaurants we ate at - the Steakhouse and the Mexican restaurant were great as well. The service at this resort is exceptional - everything is "no problem". The pool itself is huge and beautiful; the pool area was crowded beyond belief with chairs being reserved by 7:00 a.m. Thankfully we are beach people and the palapas at the beach are spread out nicely and you can usually find one no matter what time you head out. The beach is fantastic - lots of clear, turquoise water and waves - just the way we like it. So like I said, all in all we had a nice vacation but now having stayed at the IBQ and a few years back at the Riu Yucatan, for ambiance, food and mobility, we would choose the Riu Yucatan over the IBQ. Happy travels!

Read More

By TJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2002

Great Jungle and nice monkeys

We stayed her for 2 weeks in January 1999 and it was wonderful. Lots of restaurants and very good food selections. A little light on seafood, but a good offering of most everything else. Drinks were a little watered down at times and a bit of wait at the beach bar at times too, but service generally good and prompt. Rooms are very nice and fairly spacious. The beach was excellent and the grounds of this hotel are probably the nicest of the many

resorts we have stayed at;as good or better than Sandals Antigua. There is lots of wildlife roming freely in the large interior jungle area including numerous monkeys that visit many balconies. The hotel is a little on the large side and can be a little crowded if full or close to full. There are alot of europeans too that like to smoke lots everywhere including at meals, where it didn't appear that there was really any non-smoking areas.

Read More

By ja

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2002

Still the best!

This was our second stay at this resort (the first time was in 1998). It is still the best resort we've ever stayed at. This time we were in Tucan, rather than Quetzal, but the service, rooms and surroundings are excellent. My room was in the 1500 (no smoking) block, and, although it is near enough to the show stage that the nightly entertainment is audible, this is not something that bothers me. I had a patio view of my own flock of chickens (did

you know that roosters crow at any time of the day or night?), a bunch of wild turkey hens, several agouti, peacocks and peahens, both white and traditionally-feathered, and some wierd pheasant-type birds with curly feathers on top of their heads. The buffet is very good, and lobster night (Thursday) is heaven! We only sampled the steakhouse and the Italian restaurant of the a la carte choices - went to the grill twice because the steaks are divine - I was raised in Alberta, and I swear their beef is better than Alberta beef! The veal at the Italian restaurant is also wonderful - especially the one in mushroom sauce. We're not party/club people, so I can't comment on that, but a few evenings we sat in the bar in the Quetzal lobby and listened to "Felipe" play the saxaphone - he is very talented. We're also not the types to lie on the beach or around the pool tanning - but the beach and pool amenities and service are on a par with the rest of the features. The only drawback worth mentioning is that there are only 2 non-smoking builings, Tucan 1500 block and Quetzal 2500 block, and, as mentioned, both are a bit close to the show area. The staff at the resort are pleasant, cheerful, helpful to a fault and downright loveable. We're going back in 2004.

Read More

By Nicola

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2002

Amazing

This is a fantastic hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The service was excellent. No problems booking the al la carte restaurants but the buffet food was so good we actually cancelled some reservations! The evening shows were entertaining and the staff very welcoming. This was the best all inclusive I have been to and the most relaxing holiday I have ever had. I would go back tomorrow!

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2002

Family Paradise

We visited in December 2001 with a baby and a toddler. The very large pool and sandy beach were perfect. The food was average, but there was always a good selection. Grounds are immaculate and the room was very clean as well. We stayed for seven nights and, for a mother, it was paradise. An all-inclusive vacation is perfect for families. Highly recommended.

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2002

Living in Paradise

We have been to all-inclusive in Cancun, but none compare to the quality and beauty of the Quetzal. We have been there twice (once with our two daughters and once with 12 other family members). We are going back in June, again. This place has it all. The jungle is great, the beach is unbelievably beautiful and the activities for all ages is endless. The Mexican hospitality is incomparable. You must like the outdoors because the only A/C is in your

room. The lobby, restuarants and everything else are outdoors. I definitely recommend this hotel and Playa del Carmen to anyone who will listen.

Read More

By Ross

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2001

Best value in the playacar complex

The "jungle" aspect adds to the charm. The Iberostar people are very friendly. The rooms could use a rehab about now. Still this is our favorite Mayan Sun Coast resort (over IB* Parisio and Aventura Palace.).

By Cherie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2001

Great Jungle Atmosphere!

We went for 5 days at the end of June 2001 w/out our kids. We will go back in May 2002 and bring our kids and our friends! There were monkeys, flamingos, iguanas, and more animals as you were walking down the paths. The whole landscaping was a jungle atmosphere and great! The rooms need updating but they were roomy and spotless. The food was good too, even the buffet! Thurs night is seafood night; lobster tails at the buffet...YUM! Go and enjoy!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2001

All-inclusive was way to go!

I went with some friends as part of an all-inclusive package and was very favorably impressed. The facilities were gorgeous, multiple pool, and a wide assortment of activities for all ages. The food was very good, and evening meals offered a wide varietly if themed nights (seafood, international, etc). There are also three gourmet restauants that are open for evening meals (Italian, Mexican and an American-style steakhouse). I'm usually a do-it-yourselfer

on vacation, but it was great to be pampered.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement