Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Riviera Maya Hotels

Maroma Resort & Spa

  • Carretera 307, Km 306 Map It
  • $$$$
  • Luxurious Retreat

Pros

  • Nearly every room has an ocean view
  • Exceptional beach
  • Great place to escape the crowds
  • Programs for children

Cons

  • Not much entertainment
  • Difficult to find from the highway

Updated 04/02/2013

Fodor's Review

Connecting jungle and beach, a labyrinth of paths wind through the grounds at this elegant Mayan-themed hotel, where butterflies and parrots fly and the scent of flowers fills the air. Rooms, which have private terraces, are filled with whimsical decorative items and original artwork. The king-size beds are draped in mosquito netting, and there are small stereos for each room but no TVs. Daily breakfast is included à la carte, and there are plenty of food-focused activities

like cooking classes, tequila tastings and themed dinners.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Carretera 307, Km 306, Punta Maroma, Quintana Roo, 77710, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

998-872–8200; 866-454–9351-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • 30 rooms, 34 suites, 1 villa
  • Breakfast; Some meals

Updated 04/02/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Sights

See all hotels in Riviera Maya

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By jowct

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2011

Maroma Resort & Spa Review

If the Fodor's review were updated, Maroma would easily make Fodor's Choice list. There is indeed excellent entertainment, albeit not of the 2am "last cat is hung" variety, and any difficulty in finding the turnoff is obviated by private transportation to/from the airport. The food is indeed excellent, the drinks equally good if not better and the spa extraordinary--beyond belief. The sand on the beach is sugar soft, the water turquoise and the sun

cooled by constant trade winds. To regain our independence, a few shortcomings: the room had insufficient storage such that we were tripping over each other as well as our baggage--and our towels--there is no place to hang them; and the "king sized beds" are perhaps fit for a Mayan (5' tall) King, but were otherwise not uncomfortable. Overall, our only remaining concern is that our review might make our next booking more difficult.

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2005

Oh How the mighty have fallen!

We went to the Maroma 5 years ago and thought it was one one the most wonderful places. And we have been to many fine places in US, Mexico ,Carribean, Hawaii and Europe. Then last year to celebrate my 50th birthday we wanted to stay there. There was no vacancy but we did manage to get a reservation at the restaurant on the night of my birthday. I mistakenly wore shorts and did not realize pants were required, so I bought a pair of $60 linen pants

at their boutique, which I will never wear again, but that was ok since it was my fault. We were seated in the restaurant @6pm we we told our waiter that we must be at the airport at 830pm to pick up a sister. When we were given the menus I saw another man walking into the restaurant wearing SHORTS! I asked the waitress, I did not want to make a big deal out of it, but why is he wearing shorts and I had to buy a pair of pants at your boutique? She said he will be ordering from the lunch menu, although I noticed it was the same menu as mine. So I asked why wasn't I offered the lunch menu? She said nothing. OK! The dinner was nothing special but very expensive considering it is Mexico. Anyway, I left my wife to take care of the bill, I had to get our car to go to the airport. We waited for the check a long time, it finally came and they overcharged us by $120.00!!! Maybe they knew we were in a hurry and thought they could get away with it. I felt sorry for my wife who really tried to make my birthday dinner special but we felt violated! And honestly, the grounds looked shabby compared to last time we were there. And now there is some big resort next to it with loud music an djet skiis. I complained to the hotel and they NEVER even responed to me. HORRIBLE servive after being one of the most attentive places, but not anymore! So sad!

Read More

By Jo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 12, 2004

Pretty Close to Perfect

Just got back from a weeklong honeymoon at Maroma. Grounds are gorgeous, our room was amazing, and the beach is beyond compare - baby powder sand and turquoise water. The staff couldn't do enough for you - so pleasant and accomodating.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2003

Mexican Headache

We stayed at Maroma a few months ago for about a week. Where do I start? The physical plant is nothing like the website would have you believe. The first room they gave us had 2 double beds, and no bath. No TV, no minibar (that's okay with us but not everyone.) The service all around was amongst the worst I have ever had in all my years of travel. What ever you ask for, you get something else. The room service was very subpar and the concierge

had no idea what they were doing. The spa is a room above the lobby and the treatments were terrible. This place pretends to be but is very far from a top notch hotel. AVOID IT!!! The one good thing about Maroma is the food which is amazing, thanks to Stephanie the head cook. To top it all off they screwed up my bill and overcharged me. Oh well, such is life.

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2001

Paradise found

Well worth the extra pesos, this small resort is far removed from the crass commercialism of Cancun and Playa del Carmen. Not for those who need non-stop activities, but for those of us who want a pristine beach, great snorkeling and a staff that will take care of your every wish thoughtfully and warmly. A fabulous find!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement