Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cancun Hotels

Paradisus Cancún

  • Blvd. Kukulcán, Km 16.5 Map It
  • Luxurious Retreat

Pros

  • All-inclusive plan available
  • Privacy of Royal Service
  • Golf course

Cons

  • Lacks intimacy due to size
  • Internet costs extra for non–Royal Service guests
  • Top-shelf alcohol and minibar snacks are not part of all-inclusive plan
  • Some restaurants require reservations

Updated 04/16/2013

Fodor's Review

Having been remodeled from a Gran Melia to a Paradisus in November 2012, this enormous beachfront hotel resembles a modern Mayan temple, complete with atriums topped by pyramid-shaped skylights. The main lobby is a sight to behold, as there's lush green vegetation everywhere. At the center is a sushi bar–café that gives the sense of being in an outdoor garden, with its wooden floors, koi ponds, central fountain, and numerous plants. Spacious rooms are decorated in neutral

tones with hints of orange and have marble floors, balconies, and either lagoon or ocean views. Guests who want a more private stay can always upgrade to the Royal Service sector of the hotel, which is more expensive but has a secluded courtyard with a pool, two Jacuzzis, and nearly 40 beds with palapa roofs, as well as all-inclusive amenities and perks like complimentary Internet, breakfast, tea time, and cocktail hours. Golfers will enjoy the 9-hole course, and foodies will appreciate the new white-glove restaurant Tempo, by Spanish culinary god Martin Berasategui.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Blvd. Kukulcán, Km 16.5, Cancún, Quintana Roo, 77500, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

998-881–1100

Hotel Details:

  • 678 suites
  • All-inclusive; Breakfast; No meals

Updated 04/16/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Cancun

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By jayarby

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2011

Gran Meliá Cancún Review

My main complaint with the hotel is its all-inclusive plan. Since not every guest chooses the AI plan, everyone has to sign a check after ordering even though you are wearing an AI wristband. Plus the plan has many limitations that you are unaware of until you get there. For instance, room service food is included but you have to pay a delivery fee. Some items on the menu are an extra charge. Golf is included, except the club rental. The spa is included

but massages are extra. Some minibar items are included but not others (coffee, premium bottled water). Too many times I had to be sure I wasn't charged for something. When I'm on vacation, I don't want to have to think. :) So overall, while this was a very nice resort and I had a good time there, I probably am one and done with the Gran Melia. There are plenty of comparable resorts for the same price with better AI plans.

Read More

By pilarm

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2008

So-So

Overall, I enjoyed staying at the Gran Melia, but I would never stay there again if given a choice. During the first few days of our trip, we were accosted by hotel employees every time we walked through the lobby. They insisted we attend a free breakfast to learn about becoming members of the hotel chain. We somehow managed to shake them off. Food is quite expensive inside the hotel ($23 for breakfast buffet, $39 for dinner buffet) but the food is

good. The pool is heated and very nice with plenty of shaded areas to sit. Getting anywhere outside the hotel can be tricky -- it's a steep climb and then a bit of walk down to the street, where you can catch the city bus (65 cents one way). Renting a car is the best way to get around. If you're planning a trip for the summer months, keep in mind that the hotel common areas (sushi bar, regular bar, lobby, etc.) are not air conditioned and can get rather sticky.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2007

the Royal Treatment

I found the main Atrium of the Gran Melia to be one of the most beautiful hotels I have come across. However, it was the service, particularly in the Royal Service pyramid. Every need was met, and always in a polite and friendly manner. By the end of our trip, we felt like we knew everyone that had helped us during our stay. The room itself was very pretty, featuring a deep and luxurious bathtub and a wall-mounted plasma tv. Every part of the

hotel was beautiful, but the Royal Service made the trip special.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2005

Mexican Excellance at the Gran Melia

We spent a week at the Gran Melia and felt very pampered. Our family's needs were met by the staff. The grounds were beautiful and the hotel safe and secure. Our room was located off the main lobbey, lots of people and action and we never felt insecure. Food was plentiful, alittle pricey, but it was Christmas week. We ate at the Plantation House in Cancun and the seafood was to die for. We were NEVER hounded by time share people at the hotel.

Beware of those at the airport though!

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 20, 2005

Inconsistancy is the Keyword

Just returned 1/19/05, spent 7nts at Gran Melia. Stay away from the Vacation Club ladies! They are the time share people and if you speak to them once they won't leave you alone. Bellman/Doorman are your best bet for reccommendation for just about anything, very helpful! Lobby / atrium is beautiful. Beach was great, plenty of lounge chairs for everyone. Pools were FREEZING not heated and no hot tub. The Caribbean was much warmer. Room was adequate

but in desperate need of maintenance. The drapes would not open on one side and eventually started to fall off. Our nanny spent over an hour stuck on the balcony with our two year old in a rain storm because the sliding glass door would stick and the handle on the outside snapped. Frontdesk and restaurant hostesses have been trained to answer "no" all to easily and not open to requests. Front desk would not accommodate us with rooms near each other despite request weeks ahead of time (we booked one room for nanny and our 4year old and one room for my husband and I and 2year old). Much time was spent walking the halls between the rooms (on opposite sides of the large lobby atrium). Housekeeping was also inconsistant, got turn down one night only, had to request wash cloths and then would only be given one. And the do not disturb sign means nothing to them especially the man who checks the minibar, even though he was told our son was napping. Had room service breakfast everyday and ordered the same meal everyday but charge was different everyday. Servie at poolside restaurant was extremely SLOW although the food was good (chicken nachos and shrimp tacos (yummy)! Too many great restaurants in Cancun to eat dinner on property, no opinion there. Probably would not stay there again

Read More

By Sandra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2004

A hotel to remember

I stayed at the Melia Cancun a little over a year ago and I don't expect it has changed much. Despite it's colossal size it was truly a memorable, pleasant experience for me. The service was one of the best I've experienced at a resort. The food at Prosciutto's and the service were fabulous---I even got a little satin pillow from the maitre'd to rest my feet upon while dining, which is not something you see everyday, yet the prices was more than reasonable;

the food at the Mexican-themed Cascada restaurant was so-so but the atmosphere was great, especially at night when the live musicians come out to serenade the diners. Room service was incredibly good, and so was the food by the pool (try the seafood ceviche!-to die for!). Walking in my room , I was greeted with a neatly folded bathrobe and fresh flowers on the bed and in the well appointed bathroom. The pools were okay but who cares when the beach is only a few feet away, and the ocean is so warm and blue and inviting. The spa was a good value and the gym was well appointed too; I did't miss any of my gym's amenities. The only real downside was that my room was in one of the farthers towers from the lobby and the walk was grueling from one end of the hotel to the other...but it truly was well worth the visit. I would go back there if given the opportunity, and will definitely reccommend it as a good value to my traveling friends!

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2004

Very Enjoyable

Nice room, beautiful view,great lobby and pool. Service was good, food OK a little over priced. The only complaint is the time share people trying to get you to come to the free breakfast.

By leslie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2004

great service but cold cold cold in Feb

we just got back from Cancun. We stayed in the royal pyramid, which was great. We like the free breakfast, snacks and dinner treats. There are just two problems. The pools, which are beautiful, were so cold you could barely drag yourself in (they aren't heated) and there isn't a jacuzzi outside (only in the spa).

By Raul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2002

Excellent hotel overall

No complaints, excellent service. Also I would like to mention the staff is very friendly and although we did not it in the hotel except one night it was excellent.

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2002

Our wedding

We had our wedding here in 1999 and returned in 2001. It's a beautiful hotel that lives up to the 5 stars. They had no experience with weddings, but in the end all went well. The rooms are large and all have balconies. I'd highly reccommend it.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2001

Fantastic

I just returned from Cancun (09/25/01). Was originally staying at the Omni Cancun, but -- after several frustrating experiences -- moved to the Melia Cancun. I was VERY pleased with my room and amenities. It was clean, the staff was mostly friendly (although all did not speak English), and the activities were plentiful. I would stay there again.

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2001

Melia for Me

NOTE: I just returned from this hotel (1/27/2001) and Fodor's description is a little outdated. This hotel has been renovated and now has 736 rooms and a 9 hole golf course. The spa is nice enough, but not exactly what I would call "upscale". Overall I had a very nice stay. The grounds are very beautiful and well maintained. The hotel staff is friendly and professional. The hotel rooms are huge with enough room for a sofa and chairs. The balconies

are oversized (ours overlooked the beach). The bathroom is big with a separate compartment for the toliet and bidet. The breakfast buffet was a little expensive ($18 USD/per person) but there is plenty to eat. The pool facilities close around 6:00pm and if you are looking for after-hours entertainment, you will have to go elsewhere. The hotel is dead after 7:00pm. Otherqise, this hotel is definitely a good option for Cancun.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement