Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cancun Restaurants

El Cejas

  • Mercado Veintiocho
  • Seafood

Updated 03/18/2013

Fodor's Review

The seafood is fresh at this open-air eatery, and the clientele is lively—often joining in song with the musicians who stroll among the tables. If you've had a wild night, try the vuelva a la vida, or "return to life" (conch, oysters, shrimp, octopus, calamari, and fish with a hot tomato sauce). The kitchen serves crab (stuffed, steamed, or fried) and whole-fried fish that is crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. The ceviche and the spicy shrimp soup

are also good, though the quality can be inconsistent. A favorite with El Centro locals, this no-frills eatery is casual and easy on the wallet, so don't expect to be pampered. It's inside the bustling Mercado 28.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Mercado Veintiocho, on southwest end, Loc 90–100, Sm 26, Cancún, Quintana Roo, 77500, Mexico

Phone:

/no phone

Updated 03/18/2013

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Cancun

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Victor

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2006

Best Ceviche In Town

I was there with a friend of mine. Shrimp Ceviche is the best as it is fresh and the Cerveza Morena is very cold. I recommend this joint any time.

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2004

mmmm...mmm good

it was the most pleasurable dinning experince i had ever had. I enjoyed all atomosphere, and the food was amazing. i love it, and recomened it to everyone in the world.

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2003

Food here is better than that found in major restaurants in hotel zone.

We have eaten at El Cejas since 1998. Best Shrimp cocktail found ANYWHERE. The only other place to find better fish is Rio Nizuc Restaurant.

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2002

A Great Place Where the Locals Eat

We've been here for lunch and it was great! The shrimp cocktail comes with tiny shrimp in a great tomato lime sauce and is available in 3 sizes, the largest in a glass the size of a milkshake glass. The garlic shrimp was outstanding! But remember that this is a a place for the locals, so bring pesos.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2000

Good service, bad food

They were friendly polite and kind but the food made me sick!

By Kendra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2000

Worth The Search

Fodor's is not kidding, this is an open-air "restaurant" in Mercado 28. A bustling place within a tent that serves the best food around. Everything looked great and fresh, our shrimp was outrageous. Just note that the first time we tried to go there for dinner, we were too late....El Cejas and Mercado 28 closes before sundown, so go for lunch or very early supper.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement