Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Cancun Restaurants

La Destileria

  • Blvd. Kukulcán, Km 12.65 Map It
  • Zona Hotelera
  • Mexican

Updated 02/18/2015

Fodor's Review

Be prepared to have your perceptions of tequila changed forever. In what looks like a Mexican hacienda, complete with an alambique (tequila distillery), you can sample from a list of 100 varieties—in shots or superb margaritas—and also visit the on-site tequila museum and store. The traditional Mexican menu focuses on fresh fish and seafood. Other highlights include the molcajete de arrachera (a thick beef stew served piping hot in a mortar), and the Talla-style fish fillet from a traditional Acapulco recipe. Midday (1–5 pm) diners can enjoy tequila tastings, appetizers, and a house cocktail for M$244. Be sure to leave room for the caramel crepes, a signature Mexican dessert. Reservations are recommended.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Blvd. Kukulcán, Km 12.65, across from Plaza Kukulcán, Cancún, Quintana Roo, 77500, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

998-885–1086; 998-885–1087

Updated 02/18/2015

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Cancun

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 19, 2009

Not terrible but wouldn't go back.

La Destileria has some things going for it and some things going against it. The good: outdoor dining on the lagoon, tequila selection, mostly friendly wait staff, and the fajitas. The bad: obnoxiously loud mariachi band, horrible fried cheese appetizer, horrible, I mean repulsive, fish soup, and sub-par margaritas (surprising with the tequila selection). The staff was friendly and checked in on us regularly, but its a team approach to serving

which I'm not a fan of. On the whole, you can do better in Cancun.

Read More
  • Value

  • Service

  • Décor

Sep 8, 2008

A Good Choice

Great atmosphere, very nice and helpful waiters. The food was as good as it gets in Cancun (I had to lower my expectations). All in all a pleasant evening. You can spot crocodiles from the back patio that overlooks the lagoon.

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

Feb 15, 2008

Love this Restaurant...

I have been to Cancun 5 times and tried La Destileria for the first time and loved it.. This restaurant along with Paloma Bonita are my favorite in the hotel area. The atmosphere, food and service was excellent.

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

Aug 13, 2007

Nice building, but overrated

Our first night there the concierge recommended this place. Service was slow, and the room was hot. 2 of 4 entrees were good- the quesidillas(sp) were awful, but the chicken dish abd shrimp were tasty.

By ebkesq

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jun 14, 2007

Good food fun place

What a fun place. The food was very good and reasonable authentic, the atmosphere was great as was the Mariachi band. The Tequila menu is daunting and we had to ask for help choosing and the manager was extremely helpful. My wife had the best margarita she's ever had in her life. Highly recommended for fun Mexican food.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Apr 28, 2007

Unique and fun

We love La Destileria. The tequila selection is unbeatable in Cancun. The food is always a hit as well. If you're looking for authentic Mexican, this is the place for you. The staff is attentive but not pushy. You are never rushed, and we appreciate that. It is one of the highlights of Cancun's restaurant scene.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 30, 2006

Left Before Being Served

After 15 minutes without having menus, before dinner drink order taken, then finding there was nothing on the menu worth choosing -- certainly no appetizers, no wines worth drinking, we left ... walked across the street to Casa Marguey -- great choice.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

X

No Thanks

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.