Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Acapulco Restaurants

Baikal

  • Carretera Escénica 1622 Map It
  • Contemporary

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Modern, ultrachic Baikal is the place to see and be seen. The dining room has a white-on-white color scheme and 12-foot-high windows that frame the sparkling bay; sea-theme short films are shown from time to time on drop-down movie screens. The menu is small but select, with dishes that fuse French, Asian, and Mexican preparations and ingredients. Try the cold cream of cucumber soup spiced with mint and mild jalapeño; the sliced abalone with a chipotle (dried,

smoked chilies) vinaigrette is also a good bet. Soft bossa nova and jazz play in the background.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Carretera Escénica 1622, Acapulco, Guerrero, 39868, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

744-446–6867

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Mon. May–Nov. No lunch.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Acapulco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2009

Worst dining experience in a decade

After having eaten here and enjoying my experience a few years ago, I was anxious to return. What transpired was an absurd dining experience I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy. Upon arrival, the unhelpful hostess watched us struggle to get the door open without moving from her "perch". But the astonishing attitude of the surly, arrogant and uninformed waiter who nixed everything I chose to order because he didn't personally like it was beyond the imagination.

Everything was either weird, or sour or bland, in his opinion. Finally, I asked if the CHEF liked it and he said I'm sure he does. The food was marginal at best but a few of the more creative (weird to our personality-challenged waiter) dishes were actually not bad. After the service, the food didn't have a chance. There were only 5 tables the evening we were there where there had been a full house a few years back. After having lovely experiences at Zibu and El Chenque, we were distraught that we wasted our last evening on such a disgraceful experience. DON'T LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2008

Still one of the best in Acapulco

While not quite the in spot it once was since Becco opened next door, it is still one of the best dining choices in Acapulco. Very elegant interior, stunning views of the bay, attentive service and an inventive menu. The place is very upscale, they start by bringing the champagne cart to the table, you can even order Dom by the glass. Like all the top restaurants in Acapulco it is quite expensive

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2006

Nice view, but a bit vulgar

Nice view and attentive service, but the food was average (though nicely presented) and the overall impression was of a pretty vulgar place. Maybe we were there on "bring an escort night", or maybe it was the $2000 a bottle Chateau Petrus that featured so prominantly on the wine list. Russian mafia heaven maybe, but not for me.

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 16, 2006

Best in Acapulco - but watch those pesos

Baikal is the best restaurant in Acapulco, with a view to match. The food, service, decor, music, ambiance, etc. are all first-rate. However, it is greatly overpriced. Most entrees are $35 to $50 - easily $10 more than they should be. The wine list is nothing special, yet very expensive. This didn't seem to stop the American tourists from coming at 7pm, and the Mexico City weekend crowd from coming at 9pm or later. We were late for the 7pm seating,

but were not kicked out when finished and lingered over the live music and fun Mexican crowd as the place filled up. It's an elegant yet hip place to spend the evening.

Read More

By April

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 11, 2006

Baikal is an experience

Awesome...my friend and I loved it so much...we went again in the same trip...excellent service....great food...try the chiken spring roll...don't miss it if you are in acapulco...it's a must!!!

By Serge

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2005

Foreign tourists rip-off with a view

Baikal is your typical restaurant from the Carretera Escenica: ridiculously over-priced, pretentious, plagued with a pseudo-romantic non-atmosphere, serving average food compared to the standards from Mexico City. Are you willing to pay through the nose for a view of the bay of Acapulco at night? Then Baikal is for you! Suffering from the same ailment as most restaurants in Cancun, Baikal seems designed to please a foreign clientele whose money is

obvsiously burning their pockets and whose taste buds urgently need extra training.

Read More

By Larry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2004

Very cool...

On a par with Cafe des Artistes in Puerto Vallarta. Absolutely Fabulous!

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2004

Absolutely Stunning and Romantic Dinning Experience

The view, atmosphere, decor are amongst the finest I've ever seen or experienced in the world. Food not quite a perfect 5, but would rate it at least a 4.25- 4.75 if possible. Pricey for Acapulco- but worth every peso. Men remember to wear a pair of khaki pants, no shorts policy.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement