Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Jose Restaurants

Café Mundo

  • C. 15 and Avda. 9 Map It
  • Café

Updated 04/10/2014

Fodor's Review

You could easily walk by this corner restaurant without noticing its tiny sign behind the foliage. The upstairs café serves meals on a porch, on a garden patio, or in two dining rooms. The soup of the day and fresh-baked bread start you out; main courses include shrimp in a vegetable cream sauce or lomito en salsa de vino tinto (tenderloin in a red-wine sauce). Save room for the best chocolate cake in town, drizzled with homemade blackberry sauce. Café Mundo is

a popular, low-key gay hangout that draws a mixed gay-straight clientele. This is one of the few center-city restaurants with its own parking lot.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

C. 15 and Avda. 9, San José, 10102, Costa Rica

Map It

Phone:

/2222–6190

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sun. No lunch Sat.

Updated 04/10/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in San Jose

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 7, 2008

Atmosphere is perfect for a nice dinner

I loved the experience and the food at Cafe Mundo. The service was great ... our waiter was very attentive. The prices were very reasonable, but the atmosphere is the best reason to visit Cafe Mundo. You can sit out on the porch or inside, in a converted old house. One of my favorite places in San Jose.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2007

Fun setting, forgetable service

Because of the setting and buzzing crowd, this is a fun restaurant to visit, as long as you aren't expected a great meal. The food is slightly above average by Costa Rica standards; compared to what's available at the same price in many other countries, it certainly would not stand out. My biggest complaint is that the service is very very slow; the staff indifferent.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2007

Gorgeous place, awesome food

Do not miss Cafe Mundo when in San Jose, chic and cosmopolitan athmosphere, non pretentious food, reasonable prices, great friendly service. If possible ask to be seated in the front terrace, great for people watching

By Ashley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2005

My Favorite!

One of my favorite places in SJ. Also try Jazz Cafe (San Pedro) and Donde Carlos (Los Yoses)! These 3 are a MUST if in Costa Rica.

By Jose

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2005

best value, best food in town, great crowd

went there my first night in San Jose, went back every single night. Great victorian Mansion under restoration, beautiful gardens with fountains, nice outdoor and indoor dining areas. The food is fabulous and the prices very reasonable the service was impecable

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2000

Good food is hard to find in Costa Rica

There are only four restaurants in Costa Rica that I can claim I have had excellent dinners at. During both trips to Costa Rica we made sure to hit Cafe Mundo before we left San Jose. The atmosphere is very romantic. The old house contains seperate little dining rooms all with a jazzy flavor. The pasta and pizza is amazing and all for less than ten dollars. They also serve the best cup of coffee I had in Costa Rica. Be sure not to miss this

spot!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement