Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Jose Hotels

Hôtel Le Bergerac

Pros

  • Top-notch service
  • Cozy rooms
  • Terrific restaurant

Cons

  • Rooms on the small side
  • Not near sights
  • Steep street if walking

Updated 04/10/2014

Fodor's Review

Quiet elegance doesn't often come at affordable prices, but it's yours here at San José's best small inn. Any other lodging of this caliber would be content to live off its reputation, but the management is always tweaking and remodeling, and each time you return you'll discover something new. (What doesn't change much are the rates.) The hotel occupies two former private homes and is furnished with antiques. All rooms have custom-made wood-and-stone dressers and

writing tables; deluxe rooms have private garden terraces or balconies. The location on a steep hill might disorient you; you could walk upstairs to your room, fling open the terrace doors, expecting to walk out onto a balcony, and find instead a ground-level patio and mountain view. The in-hotel restaurant, Cyrano's, offers local and international cuisine. Breakfast is served on a garden patio adjoining the restaurant. There are many small, upscale hotels in San José, but great service, attention to detail, and ample gardens set this place apart.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

C. 35, Avdas. Central–2, 1st entrance to Los Yoses, San Pedro, 11501, Costa Rica

Map It

Phone:

/2234–7850

Hotel Details:

  • 25 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 04/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Jose

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2011

Hôtel Le Bergerac Review

My spouse and I have been making yearly trips to Costa Rica for serveral years and it was our first time staying at Le Bergerac in July 2011 which had been recommend by locals the prior year. First would like to give our thanks to the staff of Le Bergerac who went above and beyond to make sure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. This is the only hotel that we have stayed at that is quiet and serene but yet near the city for outings to the museum

and theatre, which the front desk was more than happy to arrange for us. We look foward to returning to Le Bergerac next July and would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone visting the area.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2011

Hôtel Le Bergerac Review

I would like to thank all staff at the Hotel for the great service we had during our recent stay at the Bergerac Hotel. As it was our first time in Costa Rica we contacted the Hotel to arrange an airport pickup and various tours during our stay. We were picked up as promised from the airport as requested and on arrival at the Hotel all the information for out tours was ready. The staff went through this with me to ensure I was comfortable with all

the information. We stayed at the Hotel for 4 nights during our break, the rooms were large and really comfortable and opened onto a patio area where we spent a lot of time relaxing reading and watching for Birds. We ate in the restaurant on a number of occasions and the food and service were excellent. Overall we cannot wait to go back again and stay at the Bergerac and explore more of Costa Rica

Read More

By SA00826

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2010

Hotel Le Bergerac Review

This hotel is past its prime; we stayed here in March-2010 at both the front & back end of our trip and we were disappointed. The hotel needs to be updated and remodeled; it smelled of paint fumes both times, so it appears that they are good at that but everything from the bathrooms to the bed linens are outdated. In room 8 the hardwood floors seem newer, but in a very large section of the room there are not any floor joists and it feels/sounds

as if you will fall down to the first floor. We stayed on a Friday night and a Sunday night and the restaurant was empty both times; I question whether it remains one of the best restaurants in the city, because no one was there. The food was adequate, albeit a small menu. We tried to cancel our reservation on the back-end because it is so far from the airport but we were told that we would be charged the full fair b/c we were cancelling 48 hours in advance, and their policy requires 72 hour notice. The hotel is very far from the airport; it took nearly an hour to get to the airport from the hotel on a Monday morning. We would not stay there again, and would not recommend it to others.

Read More

By asenath

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2008

bad management

I would give this hotel a good rating except that its mix in personnel is rather saddening. I would in a split second write a very positive review of Johnny (for instance) one of the persons at the reception during day time, he was truly wonderful, personable, attentive, smart and capable. The same wasn't true unfortunately of the "administradora" manager (or something of sorts) ALEJANDRA. In my opinion Johnny should be in the managerial position.

The hotel itself was clean and cozy, the "Grande" rooms were very spacious (room 9 and room 6 were good), but I had to change rooms twice as they were renovating or something (two/out of four of the nights I was in room 28 which had an awful rancid smell and you didn't want to dry yourself with the towels). Beyond that my experience was unfortunate and truncated by a rather unusual event: I stayed at the hotel by myself Saturday and Sunday March 8 and 9, 2008. On Monday morning before 12 noon I went to the airport to pick up my boyfriend coming from Toronto, at my return to the hotel room about 2:30 pm I find that MY LAPTOP DISAPPEARED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I really just wanted to enjoy my time with my boyfriend so I made a quick call to reception (no big argument) to let them know that the cables and mouse where on the table but NO LAPTOP. THE HOTELS APPROACH AND RESPONSE: 1) Reception asked the "mucama" (cleaning lady) and the "ama de llaves" (key lady) who both said they found the room with the door fully open and no computer. 2) the cleaning lady and key lady had two and half hours to notify reception of an open door and a table where a computer seemed to have disappeared from CLEANING LADY NEVER NOTIFIED RECEPTION <<<<<<<< 3) I am told THE MANAGER WILL CONTACT ME ASAP 4) It is already 8:30 pm ALEJANDRA (THE MANAGER) has not bother to at least apologize never mind contact me, she is on her dinner break and I MUST WAIT for her to return 5) I ask for the police to come and take my complaint (not because I thought the laptop would magically reappear, but just because I was surprised they didn't seem to care at all, also chances were the computer was still at the premises and they seemed to be "killing time") 6) I call the police who say they are on their way, I am sitting in the lobby waiting 7) ALEJANDRA calls the police back again and tells them that she does not see the point of them coming. I am back on the phone with the police officer who tells me I should go to the OJP or something office (where I can put the "demand") I am on vacation so of course I won't chose to go to no police office and line up for hours for a laptop I am sure I will never see again. 8) Except for Johnny and Robert (another nice service person at the hotel) NO ONE... SPECIALLY MANAGEMENT apologized to me for the situation, nor was I offered any complimentary NOTHING or discount, they simply didn't care. I didn't argue at all, on the contrary chose not to place a police demand against the hotel as I had no evidence it was hotel personnel who took the laptop, but the management response was absolutely outrageous.

Read More

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 7, 2005

A Wonderful Hotel

Great Hotel with a charming multilingual staff. Clean, quiet room with private garden patio. French Restaurant excellent. Overall a very favorable experience. Would recommend highly.

By Judie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2004

We'll stay here again!

We found Le Bergerac really convenient for a next day departure to the mts. San Gerardo de Dota. It's just off Avenida Central and just on the edge of SJ inside the roundabout. We also had them rent us a car from Adobe that was delivered (right on time) to the hotel. Thought the hotel was lovely. Each room has a private garden. Bathrooms are gorgeous. We had our doubts about a French restaurant in CR -- but their restaurant is VERY good. Hotel

staff could not have been more accommodating.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2000

The perfect spot in San Jose.

Wonderful service and atmosphere. The staff was excellent and the price was very reasonable. Alexis was a great help with travel arrangements. Do stay here while in San Jose!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement