Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Arenal, Monteverde, and the Northern Lowlands Hotels

Vista del Valle Plantation Inn

  • On hwy. 1 km (½ mile) west of Rafael Iglesia Bridge; follow signs Map It
  • Local Flavor
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Attentive staff
  • Secluded cottages
  • Healthful food served

Cons

  • A car is necessary for staying here
  • Jungle bugs and mosquitoes
  • Somewhat difficult to find

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Honeymooners (and many posters to Fodors.com) frequent these handsome cottages on an orange and coffee plantation outside Grecia overlooking the canyon of the Río Grande. Each has its own personality; the Nido, removed from the rest and with the nicest decor, is the most romantic. All are decorated in minimalist style with simple wooden furniture and sliding doors that open onto small porches. The hotel's forest reserve has an hourlong trail leading down to a waterfall.

Breakfast is served by the pool or in the main house, where you can relax in a spacious living room. The food is quite good, and special dietary requests are accommodated with advance notice. It's a mere 20-minute drive from the airport, making it a terrific first-night-arrival option, but many guests linger longer.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

On hwy. 1 km (½ mile) west of Rafael Iglesia Bridge; follow signs, Grecia, 20601, Costa Rica

Map It

Phone:

/2451–1165

Hotel Details:

  • 16 cottages
  • Breakfast

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2011

Vista del Valle Plantation Inn Review

An absolutely beautiful hotel surrounded by the beauty of Nature. Great food, wonderful pool, great place to relax and enjoy. My favorite thing - I meet some really great people there, often working on outstanding projects. Come here and enjoy! As a "Con", you say it is necessary to have a car to stay here. Not so. I would change it to read like this: The hotel is quite a bit back from the highway, and that is one of its best features.

And yes, a car is the easiest way to get in there. However, when we go, we come from San Jose by bus, get off on the main hiway, call the hotel, and they have picked us up. In addition, there is great access to taxi service. Further, when you arrive at the airport, they just might pick you up. Ask them! Then, to het back to the airport, they can tell you how. So if you're going to be doing a bit of touring, by all means rent a car. If you just want to rest in a beautiful and relaxing setting, it's not mandatory.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2008

Stunning - Check out their condos...

This place is a must-visit. Gorgeous grounds, great views, excellent food (at leat by Costa Rican Standards!). They have 4 or 5 condomimiums on the grouonds which are fabulous if you need a bit of extra room. Each one is 3 separate units, one living unit with kitchen and sofabed, and 2 queen-bed units with mini-kitchens. You can rent any combination of the 3 units. Great if, like us, you have 4 adults and 2 kids.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2007

Paradise in the central valley

Why stay in San Jose? This place is 20 minutes from the airport and a PERFECT place to start and end your vacation. The grounds are exquisite, and the cottages/rooms also. The staff couldn't be more helpful, and the activities in the Central valley are easy to get to from here. Horses are well maintained and a great way to explore the central valley and mountains surrounding this beautiful hotel. They have everything from a small room in the main

house to casas on site that are perfect for families. A great pool and beautiful new restaurant overlooking the canyon are other pluses!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2007

Perfect Place for a Family

My wifa and I have been traveling to Costa Rica for the last 8 years and this is one of the nicest stops that we have encountered. Our travels take us to high-end lodges like Lapa Rios in the Osa, mid-level hotels like Grano de Oro in San Jose and low-price bungalows like Azani in Puerto Viejo. Vists Del Valle is one of our favorites. It is located with incredible views of the Central Valley and the grounds are beautiful. We traveled with our

1 year old daughter last year and the staff went above and beyond in making sure she felt safe and they went out of their way to make her special food so she could enjoy the experience also. Our daughter was particulary fond of Javier, our waiter, who even mashed bananas for her without us even asking, talk about service! Vista Del Valle feels like home and we are planning on visiting again this year for a couple of days as we visit new places in CR.

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2005

a Romantic and Relaxing excape

We found the place to be a find. The staff was very friendly, and the food was terrific. Don't think it could have been more romantic. The setting, grounds were incredible. The best horse tour I've had.

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2005

Not friendly place

The room was ok, but I found the staff kind of distant. This place is in the middle of no where. I wouldnt reccomend it for a family

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2005

Avoid this place

We stood at this hotel on two occasions. The first time we enjoyed the view, room, and the food (even though it was expensive). Please note that this hotel is in the middle of no were, so your choices are limited for food. We also found this hotel staff was not all that friendly. You might get a "Hi" out of one of them but that's about it (lack of interest). However the landscape people do an excellent job. The second visit was a total different

experience, like night and day. The second time we arrived, we where informed that they over booked (so we lost our special paid room.) We where put into the over flow room (very small) that had no locks on the doors, and lacked amenities found in the other rooms. We realized that anyone could walk in from the back building doors. During dinnertime the owner (From California) came over to ask about how things are going. We politely told him about the room issue. Rudely in front of everyone he said Don't bother me with this now! and moved on to another table. We where surprised by the owners behavior (His wife was much nicer). The hotel refused to refund our money or provide compensation. It took almost three weeks later through our travel company to get a refund. Also be advised to bring bug spray, This area seems to have a higher then average issue with biting bugs compared to other areas of Costa Rica. The owner is also selling Plots of land at average 96k minimum. I bet he didn't buy it from the Costa Ricans for the amount he is selling it for.

Read More

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2002

Perfect Place to Begin or End Your Trip!

We began our Costa Rica vacation with a 3-night stay at Vista del Valle. The room (Pochote) was beautiful and we especially appreciated the small kitchenette. The staff was wonderful and Mike and Johanne are delightful people (as are their Rotts, Ray and Raynita). Their restaurant serves delicious meals, and the personal attention we received was unequaled anywhere else. The only drawback was our lack of transportation - next time I would probably

only stay 2 nights. This is a wonderful place to begin (or end) your stay in Costa Rica.

Read More

By Judie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 11, 2002

The food was even good here!

We loved this place -- it really got our trip to CR off to a great start. We opted to overnight here rather than in San Jose when we realized SJ museums were closed the day of our arrival (monday). We had to stay nearby in order to pick up Sansa flight early next day to Osa. The grounds are lush and beautifully landscaped. Very nice small outdoor kitchen, dining area, and bar. Interesting walk on grounds of coffee plantation/orange grove and

challenging hike down to beautiful waterfall. Service was very good in a low-key unobtrusive way. All the meals we had here were excellent. But dinner and transportation to and from airport (30 minutes) are not included in the price, so it does end up being an expensive one night stay. That said, we loved it and would highly recommend it.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement