Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Guanacaste and the Nicoya Peninsula Hotels

Hotel Capitán Suizo

  • $$$$
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Beachfront
  • Secluded
  • Friendly
  • Lovely gardens and pool
  • High sustainability rating

Cons

  • Not a lot of privacy in garden bungalows
  • Pricey
  • Wi-Fi in common areas only

Updated 04/14/2014

Fodor's Review

For folks who value nature, tranquility, and an unbeatably beautiful beach setting, along with luxurious rooms and an idyllic swimming pool, this is the classiest choice in town. Nestled in a tiny forest on the relatively quiet southern end of Tamarindo's beach, the hotel offers a variety of room types. Elegant balconied rooms and airy bungalows surround a large, curvaceous pool shaded by mature trees and greenery. Second-floor rooms in the main building have high, angled

ceilings and lots of screens, offering an ocean breeze as an alternative to air-conditioning (which the rooms do have). Lower rooms are smaller and a little darker, with terraces edging the lush garden, which is visited by iguanas, raccoons, howler monkeys, and birds. A beautifully decorated and romantically illuminated terrace restaurant overlooking the pool and beach, serves upscale, contemporary cuisine and hosts beach barbecues (Dec 21–May) with live marimba music every Wednesday and Friday night.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Right side of Playa Langosta road, halfway between Tamarindo and Langosta, Tamarindo, 50309, Costa Rica

Phone:

/2653–0075

Hotel Details:

  • 22 rooms, 8 bungalows, 1 beachfront suite, 2 beachfront garden rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 04/14/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Guanacaste and the Nicoya Peninsula

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2014

Excellent family beachfront hotel

We stayed at Capitan Suizo during the week between Christmas & New Year's. If you want a big chain luxury hotel, go elsewhere. If you want a quiet, friendly, 'beach house' experience where your kids are catered to, the beach could NOT be better (very shallow water so even adults can walk out for a long while), the pool is shady, the restaurant excellent, the rooms are comfy - stay here. The hotel is located at the end of the walkable part of the

bay, so it is not crowded & crazy like the places closer to town. The hotel PROVIDES pool & sand toys, boogie boards for the kids. The place quickly begins to feel like home for your family. People come to breakfast in their PJs. True, they might have better pillows & they could paint their bathrooms, but the whole place is built so well, all the furniture is so comfortable, these small details should not be such a big deal unless you are an extremely picky person. True, the internet is spotty – but you are on VACATION. Stop obsessing & enjoy this paradise! We have seen some howler monkeys, iguanas by the pool & the hotel has well cared for cats. There are aggressive magpies in the restaurant, so don’t leave your plate unattended. You are in a jungle paradise. If you want a sterile environment, don’t come to Costa Rica. Another plus: the concierge services are excellent in helping plan your tours. The surfing lessons are GREAT for with excellent instructors. And it is not just a family hotel. My daughter is thinking of coming here for her 10th anniversary for a romantic getaway. As a family, we will definitely return here again.

Read More

By sylvia3

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2012

Very nice location

Just far enough from the town proper to minimize noise; the grounds are beautifully landscaped, and proximity to beach is great. There's lots of wildlife (monkeys; however, I'm not a raccoon fan). Our room didn't have a/c, but it was quite breezy, and we didn't need it. The menu is a little pricey, and there are certainly less expensive places to stay in Tamarindo, but this is a good bet.

By Diana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2005

Not 5 Star but Quaint - Friendliest Locals

Flying into Liberia,CR. Resort located hour from airport. Tamarindo Beach- small surfer town.April not be best month to visit as heat was almost unbearable.On up side, no mosquitoes.Greeted warmly by staff.Stayed in a bungalow.Large in size,nice patio area & has inside bath/shower,we chose outside shower.Pool really large.Rosa(Tours)nice.4 mo, before trip scheduled fishing tour-prime fishing area.Capulla is who we used -36 ft. Topaz.Caught fish-including

4 ft long Dorado.Very accomodating & filleted fish & packed on ice. German chef at resort did fabulous job of preparing it.Canopy Tour-Cartahena.Tried to chicken out but guide said I would regret it.He was right.Never wanted tour to end.High Tide ATV tour.Do this-see some of country.End up on bluff overlooking the whole area. Resort restaurant-good food.Walked down dirt road by the hotel,headed back toward town on right side of road place with Taco Stop sign.Important-Would encourage all who can afford this to bring 2nd suit case filled w/ new items for the kids. Resort staff couldn't stress how much this was appreciated, kids have so little there & we are so blessed.Write this down:Jorge Espinoza awesome guy in reservations.You like him immediately.He will go out of his way to make sure your reservations & transportation are taken care of before you arrive.We took a special gift bag for him filled with different items from our area with logo on it.I also included box of Lindt Lindor Truffles-white chocolate balls.You can find in the special candy section in Wal-Mart or possibly grocery store.Grab as many as you can afford to carry on with you(they would melt in suit case) & take to him.He couldn't get over how good they were & it would be a nice gesture.When you get back & do your review please keep this going so he's stocked. Tell them the Maldonado's, Texas send their regards & have a nice trip yourself. oOe more thing-never traveled anywhere else we felt so safe & the locals were so friendly.

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 19, 2004

Great Hotel near the town of Tamarindo

Great hotel and pool right on the beach. Highly recommended.

By Iza

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2001

Repeat visit does not disappoint

We stayed at Capitan Suizo in August of 2000 and again in August of this year. This year we had one of the bungalows. What a perfect relaxing place Capitan Suizo is! Our daughter had a blast again.

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2001

Simple yet elegant

We enjoyed our stay here with our three children. The understated elegance was a welcome change to our "roughing it" during our trek from Montezuma north. Lovely place, and fine for well behaved children.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement