Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Central Valley Hotels

Costa Rica Marriott San José

Pros

  • Excellent service
  • Lavish grounds
  • Close to airport

Cons

  • Tendency to nickel-and-dime guests
  • Tricky car access from highway

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

The stately Marriott offers comprehensive luxury close to the airport, and, despite being a U.S. chain, offers many distinctively Costa Rican touches. Towering over a coffee plantation west of San José, the thick columns, wide arches, and central courtyard are re-creations straight out of the 16th century, and hand-painted tiles and abundant antiques complete the historic appearance. Guest rooms are more contemporary, but they're elegant enough, with hardwood furniture.

Some have sliding glass doors that open onto tiny balconies; new rooms have flat-screen TVs. The place is always abuzz with upscale tourists, business travelers, and participants in the many events that take place at the facilities.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

¾ km/½ mile west of Bridgestone/Firestone, off Autopista General Cañas, San Antonio de Belén, 40702, Costa Rica

Map It

Phone:

/2298–0000; 800-236–2427-in North America

Website: www.marriott.com

Hotel Details:

  • 290 rooms, 10 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/09/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By OCDiner

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2007

A great way to start or end your Costa Rica vacation!

We stayed here on both our first and last days in Costa Rica as it is close to the airport (but not right AT the airport). We were pleasantly surprised by how beautiful the hotel is and the wonderful service that we received! We loved it and would absolutely stay there again!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2007

This Hotel Saved Our Vacation

Our vacation had been unexpectedly extended by USAir when our flight was canceled. USAir flies into and out of San Jose only one day a week. We were stuck in the airport with no cell and no laptop to make any arrangements. We took a taxi to this hotel and with out any reservations they were kind and took us in, although they were full. The room was beautiful, the service great, and Diana in the concierge lounge couldn't have been more helpful.

They turned what could have been a nightmare into a wonderful extension of a great vacation. I do agree with some of the other reviewers, the prices of the extra's are a little higher than other hotels in Costa Rica, but the room rates are very reasonble. I thought $5 for a bottle of water a little high, but we were so happy to have a room we didn't care.

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2006

A great Marriott!

We stayed here the day we arrived in CR. It was less than a mile from the Dollar Rent A Car, so it was incredibly convenient once we rented a car to find the hotel. We are loyal Marriott customers for business and pleasure, and have stayed at a full assortment of Marriotts in the U.S.. This definately rates as high as any other we have stayed in. The property is gorgeous, and our view from our balcony was beautiful... of the mountains and golf course.

The pool is a two level vanishing pool. We wish we had stayed our last day to enjoy it! We ate at the Tapas restaurant, and the food was good. The bar area is great for hanging out at night with lots of comfy chairs and couches. We drove from the Marriott to Poas Volcano area the next day, in less than one hour. The concierge at the Marriott was very helpful in making arrangements for the continuation of our trip to the Osa. She arranged a driver to and from the Nature Air terminal (a 45 minute drive). We left our extra luggage from the first part of our trip at the Marriott due to the weight limit on Nature Air. We stopped back by the Marriott before our flight back to the U.S. for a few hours, and enjoyed their outstanding Sunday brunch. The Marriott was a really nice way to transition into and out of the trip.

Read More

By Jessica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2006

Wonderful!

This hotel is GREAT! The grounds are well kept, the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. The two pools are chilly...but beautiful. The food is best we had our entire stay in Costa Rica. Staff is friendly and helpful.

By Art

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2006

Loved this hotel

Great service and atmosphere.

By Arlene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2005

The Best!!!

We stayed here for eight delightful days in August, 2005. The hotel is magnificent and superior in every way: service, amenities, friendliness, location, travel services, restaurants....everything. Pura Vida!

By Lars

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 21, 2005

Best Airport Hotel in the World

Close to the airport, great rooms, food, and staff.

By Ellen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2005

an oasis of relaxation

Literally 7 minutes from the airport and nestled into an industrial park, but you would never know it once you enter the driveway. This was by far the best placed we stayed in Costa Rica. The food is great (especially at the wine bar) and the rooms are comfortable! No other hotel in the area can compete with this hotel!

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2004

Best resort we have visited

This hotel is exceptional. It is close to the airport, so even without the free shuttle very convenient. Our favorable experience with the service started when there was somebody waiting for us by name at the airport to drive us to the hotel. We were able to book interesting side trips with the help of the friendly staff even before we arrived. The room was clean. The restaurants were very nice and not as expensive as other hotels. The grounds and

buildings are beautiful. The gym and pool are both top notch. We stayed here at the beginning of our trip and could not wait to come back at the end.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2003

spectacular service and staff

Fabulous hotel spanish style-very clean and exceptional staff are extremely attentive, and the services in the hotel also are fabulous -small spa but try Georgina for a fabulous massage.

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2002

Beautiful

Everything was great. Only stayed one night before coming back home. Wish I had stayed here the other two nights that I was in San Jose. Huge bargain compared to Holiday Inn downtown. Thought I would stay close to where all the night life is. Marriott is a bit far but taxis are plenty and relatively inexpensive. The grounds of the hotel, service, food, setting, all were great. Highly recommend it. The only other draw back aside from distance

to town is that the rooms are a bit too small for American standards and a little outdated.

Read More

By Brett

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2001

Wonderful, if Not for THAT MEAL

This is a truly beautiful hotel, luxurious and full-featured. We truly enjoyed ourselves here, with one major exception: our meal at the hotel's fine dining room was abysmal. There were roaches crawling on the walls, and one dish we ordered contained bad seafood and had an overpowering stench of spoilage. I guess it happens, but in a 5-star hotel? We sent it back, of course, and waited, and waited, ....

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2001

The Best in Costa Rica!

We spent our first 2 and last 3 nights in Costa Rica in this amazing property. The hoel was large and beauitful with a wonderful location. It was only a short cab ride to downtown San Jose where one can experience the hustle and bustle of a big city, yet was far enough away to provide peace and quiet. The staff was professional, attentive, and helpful; yet in typical Costa Rican style were also very laid back. The rooms were of good size and were

also well apointed, with large bathrooms and unbeatabe views. The resteraunt was very good for any meal. The pool was also very well done and provided a quite time of relaxation. The hotel soared far abouve a typical Marriott and definately earns 5 stars. The price was also very cheap, especiall for a hotel of this callibur.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement