Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Manuel Antonio and the Central Pacific Coast Hotels

Hotel Costa Verde

Pros

  • Great ocean views
  • Wildlife
  • Daily yoga
  • Studios and Building D efficiencies a good value

Cons

  • Most efficiencies suffer road noise
  • No beach access
  • Service inconsistent
  • Some rooms are dated

Updated 04/14/2014

Fodor's Review

You're likely to see monkeys, iguanas, and all kinds of birds on the forest trails surrounding these varied accommodations, some are scattered with screened walls that let the breeze through, some with kitchens and ocean views, one converted from a Boeing 727 fuselage. Adult-only studios are spacious, with large balconies; those in the other buildings are smaller but are air-conditioned. Three fully equipped bungalows are available for groups of up to six. The cheaper

"efficiencies" are a mixed lot—only those in Building D, in the jungle overlooking the sea, are recommended; Buildings B and C aren't. The hotel has four themed restaurants in Manual Antonio; Anaconda Restaurant and the dinner-only La Cantina across the street are your best options.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Road to park, south side of hill, on left, Manuel Antonio, 60601, Costa Rica

Phone:

/2777–0584; 866-854–7958-in North America

Hotel Details:

  • 75 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 04/14/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2009

Not worth the money we spent

We stayed at Costa Verde in a Studio Plus for 3 nights in late August 2009 for $467. Having stayed at another hotel for barely $400 at five nights and being treated like gold (see: Montana de Fuego, Arenal) .. we had high expectations for Costa Verde. You are definitely paying for the view, which is gorgeous. We were on the 3rd floor of Costa Verde 1, which has it's own pool below. You could waste away hours on the balcony watching the monkeys

in the rainforest, the sunset and the ocean waves. There are three restaurants - and Anaconda was acceptable for both dinner and breakfast (although it is not included in your room rate). Unfortunately, our pleasant experience did not extend past the view. Our room was occupied with ants. Lots of them. We often left our things out on the balcony to let them escape. The hotel property itself is gorgeous, and the infinity pool by CV II is a perfect way to spend the afternoon. However if you want to get to the beach, it will not be easy. We did not rent a car and could not get a straight answer out of the hotel staff about the walkability. So we walked. I don't recommend it. The staff's inability to answer many of our questions was disappointing. They were often disinterested and at times made us feel like an inconvenience when we wanted advice, or a cab, or some information. This was particularly discouraging since we were at the end of our trip and wanted nothing more than to relax on the beach. Friends of ours stayed here and had no complaints that I know of, although they had their own car and surfed the majority of the time. Hopefully you will have a decent experience, but I cannot honestly recommend it after my own!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2006

Slice of paradise

We stayed here in a Studio Plus room for 2 nights in September 06 & didn't want to leave. We drank wine on our candlelit balcony & watched the sunset along with the monkeys & iguanas. We are returning in February & have requested the same room!!

By janet

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2004

ahhhh.....

loved this place, our last stop in CR. we were in the section they are calling costa verde II, room 11 on the third floor (walk up). all screened, a wonderful porch with comfy rockers over looking the adult pool and the ocean. there was a fridge and kitchenette. lots of wood, silent but effective fans, and the song of the birds for wakeup call. there are no phones or tv or airconditioners, thank goodness. lots of wildlife, very kind staff and decent

food. don't know how this would be with kids, i was traveling with another woman friend, but i want to return here with my husband, it would be romantic.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2004

Monkeys A-Poppin'

Nice location with great views from virtually everywhere. Extremely helpful staff and both onsite restaurants were very good. Try to stay in one of the buildings near the top of the hill--it's a long uphill walk from building C, where we stayed. MONKEY ALERT: After a long day of trying to spot monkeys in Manuel Antonio Natl. Park, we were swimming in the family pool one evening at dusk when about 25 squirrel monkeys started jumping all around the

pool deck, chasing each other, jumping on the chairs like trampolines, and putting on what the kids called a "Monkey Circus." A number of them had babies on their backs. It was hysterical and definitely lived up to the Costaverde motto of "Still more monkeys than people."

Read More

By Marcie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2001

The Monkies Come Out at Night!

Costa Verde is a dream! Manuel Antonio is beautiful and this lodge was amazing. The pool was unreal, the flora fragrant! Costa Verde is a lodge so you have to come up with your own food, and there are no TV's. Get a room in the back compound so you can watch the sun set and see the ocean on your terrace. Amazing!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement