Central Pacific Coast Hotels

Advertisement

Makanda by the Sea

At a Glance

    Pros

  • tranquil
  • surrounded by nature
  • ocean views
  • stocked kitchens

    Cons

  • far from beach
  • a few studios need updating
  • no children under 12

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Makanda by the Sea Review

These bright, spacious, white-and-cream villas are among the area's most tasteful (and expensive) accommodations, and the hypnotic views of the jungle-framed Pacific Ocean make this secluded rain-forest retreat worth it. Villas have a comfortable seating area and a California king-size bed facing sliding glass doors that lead to large balconies with ocean views and hammocks. The modern kitchens won't be necessary for breakfast, which is delivered to your room. Windows behind the bed maximize natural light (there are no curtains or shades), and the small Japanese-style garden out back adds to the subtle, well-designed touches. The smaller studios are darker, and have less impressive views, but they have access to the lovely, colorful pool and the Sunspot Bar and Grill. Adventurous hikers can make the 15-minute trek through the jungle to a tiny private beach.

    Contact Information

  • Address: 1 km (½ mile) west of La Mariposa, Manuel Antonio, 60601 | Map It
  • Phone: /2777–0442; 888/625–2632; /2777–1032
  • Website:
  • Location: Manuel Antonio

    Hotel Details

  • 6 villas, 5 studios
  • Rate includes breakfast.
Updated: 04-14-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  •  
    Service  
    Value  
    Décor  

    Expensive Paradise

    Marvelous accommodations, great view, lots of privacy, considerate and courteous staff. And lots of $$$.

    by gpeasley, 4/14/07
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfection in every way in Manuel Antonio!

    My new husband and I had the luck to find this hotel for our recent honeymoon. It was perfect! The rooms are so beautiful, with outstanding ocean views. Each day the monkeys would come visit us, sometimes more than once in a day, and we saw some of the most beautiful birds while laying in the hammock on the terrace. So relaxing and we got some great pictures to share with friends. The restaurant, which was next to their fabulous pool has the best food around, but it was a bit on the expensive side for what we would expect in Costa Rica. Worth it tho, the food was delicious. We also had a full kitchen in our room, and my new husband cooked me the best dinner with the fresh fish we caught on our fishing trip. Oh, don't forget to take the canopy zipline tour....the most fun we have ever had! Makanda won us over, and we are hoping to send my parents for their 50 yr anniversary!

    by FFunny, 1/14/09
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Exceptional experience at Makanda

    We recently returned from a fabulous trip to Costa Rica and this hotel was one of the highlights. We loved the small boutique feel, the adults only policy and the excellent staff. The daily animal visits were our favorite part, as well as the excellent food at their poolside restaurant. If you are looking to get away from the usual hotel scene, this elegant property fits the bill. We definitely hope to return soon!

    by john1964, 5/30/09
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Honeymoon in pure paradise!

    We are so happy we chose this hotel for our honeymoon! The staff could not have been more friendly, we got to see lots of monkeys, sloths, birds and butterflies and the food at the pool was outstanding. We loved the adults only atmosphere and the privacy that our gorgeous room gave us. Perfect for our honeymoon, thank you Makanda!

    by MeanerD, 9/14/09
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Makanda by the Sea Review

    We stayed at Hotel Makanda for our honeymoon and loved it. The rooms are huge and elegant with large terraces where we hung out on the hammock. Loved that. Lots of monkeys around the pool and property, so we spent alot of time there. Their beach is not great, too rocky, but again we saw monkeys there so it was worth going to. Our favorite part was the food at their Sunset Restaurant....amazing. I still think about the fresh fish quesadilla...delicious. Definitely do the canopy Zipline tour, whitewater rafting and the park hike. We did and all of them were a blast! We hope to go back some day soon.

    by JBowler, 7/18/10
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Makanda by the Sea Review

    My new husband and I enjoyed our honeymoon at this hotel in July and we are still talking about it. What a wonderful spot we found, especially liked the no kids policy. The property only had around 10 rooms, its own beach, a great poolside restaurant and talk about monkeys!! We woke up everyday and went to bed each night with them playing around our villa. We loved the staff, they became like family to us. Hola to Leo, Melissa, Christopher, Danilo and Maria!! Definitely take their suggestions and do the canopy tour, snorkeling, national park and the whitewater rafting. We had a blast on all of them. We can't wait to come back to Costa Rica, we could not have picked a better spot to celebrate our honeymoon!

    by BarbaraBa, 10/13/10
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Makanda by the Sea Review

    I had forgotten how nice it was to stay at an adults only hotel!! We reserved here to get away from the kids (ours and others) and really just spend some together time. Makanda was perfect for that! The rooms are very large and comfortable, with plush bedding, large bathrooms, full kitchens and the most enticeing full terrace. Many hours were spent on our hammock and the breakfast on the terrace each morning was an added bonus to our day. The pool was huge, but we spent more time exploring the park, the Makanda beach and a wonderful local spice tour they offer. Take lots of $$ to buy the spices at the end, it's worth it! Our vacation was a wonderful time to rediscover each other and we thank Makanda for helping us reconnect in paradise! Peace.

    by JaneyBlaney, 6/24/11

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Makanda by the Sea

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums