Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Southern Coast Hotels

Jaguar Reef Lodge

Pros

  • Attractive and well-kept grounds
  • Lovely beachside location

Cons

  • Operation has gone through several major changes in recent years, but seems to be back on keel now

Updated 09/03/2013

Fodor's Review

Jaguar Reef Lodge, the original upscale resort in Hopkins, has been operating for more than 20 years. The original whitewashed duplex cabañas have thatch roofs and soaring pitched ceilings with exposed wooden beams. The newer colonial suites and rooms have local artwork, salt-tile floors, and custom-made hardwood furnishings. For those who aren't excited about swimming in the sea, there's a nice swimming pool with swim-up Tiki bar. Meals are served in a glassed-in beachside

restaurant. The resort also has a fine little gift shop filled with pottery and embroidery as well as Garífuna crafts. The store also carries Marie Sharp's superb hot sauces, music CDs, and drugstore, including the crucial no-see-um bug repellent.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Jaguar Reef Resort, Sittee River Rd., Hopkins, Belize

Map It

Phone:

731-1132; 888-731–1132-in U.S. and Canada

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 20 units

Updated 09/03/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Southern Coast

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Celia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2005

Blissful Belize

I have three children (ages 11, 9 and 5 at the time) and we all went to Jaguar Reef Resort last spring with another family with two children. It was one of our most memorable family trips and all of us are anxious to get back. We loved the resort  the setting was spectacular, the resort was perfect for families (very low-key and relaxing) and the activities were awesome. We went kayaking and swimming right off the beach. We took a boat trip out

to Glovers Reef and snorkeled, which I thought had more diverse fish life and clearer water than the Great Barrier Reef in Australia. We also spent a day at Coco Plum resort swimming, snorkeling and kayaking. In addition, we did the Caves Branch River Tubing trip, floating down the river and then touring the caves with headlamps on. The kids also loved just swimming at the pool and drinking the infamous Jaguar Juices (virgin, of course, for them). Our accommodations were beautiful (we stayed in one of the new Colonial suites), the staff was very friendly and the food was great. We were lucky enough to see a concert one night by the local Garifunas of music and dance. I would highly recommend this trip to any one. Celia Glass Sacramento, California May 2, 2005

Read More

By Byron

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2004

Adventure is waiting for you

I spent 11 days and 10 nighs at the Jaguar reef resort and had the adventure of a lifetime. The food there is outstanding the tours are are out of this world. The beach there is quite beautiful but the biggest surprise of all were the staff and tour guides of the lodge. They went above and beyond what I had expected. Even the local people around there were great. I did not pass one person on my bike that did not say good morning or how are you doing

today, are you enjoying Belize. If you have traveled around the world you know how local people and hotel staff employees can be. I will tell you that you may not see a better group of hotel staff and local people anywhere. I will return to this place no doubt about it.

Read More

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2004

Great mixture of adventure and relaxation

Spent 8 days at the Jaguar Reef Lodge and enjoyed every minute. Did an all inclusive and everything that was advertized was available.......and more. The food was good, not 5 star, yet a nice mixture of local and standard fare. Beach and grounds were manicured daily. We did several of the tours, some private and others as a group and they were well organized and exciting. Did the cave/tubing tour and expected that it would be less strenuous; involved

paddling up stream for about 1/4 mile and then climbing up the steep and slippery wall of the cave. You are quite isolated; hence the night life is almost non existant. One night we asked if they would take a group of us into Hopkins (a five minute ride) and we enjoyed the "limited" local culture. We found virtually every staff member very friendly and helpful.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2004

Wonderful Service!

My husband and I went to Jaguar Reef lodge on a second honeymoon, and it was the best vacation either of us have ever had. The atmosphere was very relaxing. The food was wonderful, and the staff members were very friendly and accomodating. The villagers were also very friendly. The tours were better than we expected, and we plan to go back with our children.

By Martin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2004

not what we could expect

We've been there in July 2004, and did expect a lot more. It is not 1 big problem, but masses of details that go wrong. There are lots of better lodges in Belize. We will definitely return to Belize, but definitely not to Jaguar Reef Lodge.

By lorin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 11, 2002

sandflies attack

the sandflies ate right through our repellant and came by the thousands. The staff was extremely UNHELPFUL and our bill was outrageous. Go someplace else

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement