Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Cayes and Atolls Hotels

Banana Beach Resort

  • Banana Beach Resort

  • Hotel to the Beach

  • the boat

  • View of the Beach from Hotel Bar

  • Our resort from our boat

Pros

  • Recovering under original management
  • Good value
  • Friendly staff

Cons

  • Some furnishings are a little dated
  • Beach has a seawall

Updated 08/28/2013

Fodor's Review

Original management has reclaimed Banana Beach, bringing it back to the casual, friendly, well-run, beachfront resort that it was for many years. The original section, built around an interior courtyard, has one-bedroom suites; a newer section has regular rooms at bargain prices, plus "flex suites" that expand from one to four bedrooms, depending on your needs. A fourth night is free on bookings of at least three nights, and an extra two nights are free on five-night stays,

so rates are lower than they appear. Breakfast is included. Our favorites are the seafront suites in the newer section. There are two pools. The restaurant, El Divino (named after a beloved staffer who passed away), is a steak house and martini bar.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Coconut Dr., 1½ mi (2½ km) south of San Pedro, San Pedro, Belize

Map It

Phone:

226-3890; 877-288–1011-in U.S. and Canada

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 28 rooms, 43 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 08/28/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in The Cayes and Atolls

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By swim1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2007

Howard Johnson's 20 yrs ago

This room was a big disappointment.The pillows were 1/2 " thick and must be original to the hotel.Only thing that helped the sagging mattress was the egg crate foam pad they had on the beds. If it rains, there is no place to sit except in your room. The pools are not heated and my ears got cold trying to swim. Water dripped from the ceiling onto our shoulder when on the commode. They do not supply shampoo /conditioner or kleenex. Refrigerator woke

me at night when it kicked on and the AC blew right on our heads.There are only 3 very small drawers to use and a closet with 5 hangers. No one was in the water in front of the place as it is all sea grass and debris that washed up. If you go into the water, be extra careful as boats zoom up to the docks and also to throw nets in the shallows and they aren't looking for you to be there. We were there 8 days and only saw 4 other people in the water in that time- 2 people in the pools.Food was average in the restaurant. Locals speak English and leave you alone. Floors were cleaned once a day(ceramic tile) but no broom in the room to clean it up everytime you drag it in. Won't be going back and would never recommend it to any friends.

Read More

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2005

Unbelizable Bananas!!!!

We had a grand time at Banana Beach Resort! We already miss our second family. The reception staff was great. Frank, and ElRey (the gentleman with the dreads) were all so hospitable, made us feel right at home. Our room was spic-n-span daily, thanks to our wonderful maid, Tanya. Sandra @ Monkey Shoppe was so great,helpful and friendly. Our tour operators were fantastic, we had a lovely time with them all....snorkeling with Alfonse at Shark Ray

Alley, and visiting the island of Caye Caulker,Eric and his new boat "Uprising". The food and service in El Divino was marvelous. There daily specials were incredible.You cannot beat the free breakfast. We were disappointed with nothing!!! We will be back and bring our friends.

Read More

By Rosalie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2005

Not Worth the Money

We took the advice of getting an ocean view suite on the second floor. It had a nice view, but the room and so-called resort was comparable to a motel. The king mattress was squishy, the upholstery on the sofa was torn, the water was lukewarm and there was hardly any water pressure. The bathroom was small and the towels flimsy. No shampoo was provided. The front desk staff was not very helpful, and the tour desk was not very informative. The

drinks were good, and although the service was slow, the waitstaff was pleasant. The hotel turned the water off every night and once during the day. The power was turned off one day for repairs with no notice and no compensation. It was not very pleasant having 95 degree heat and no air conditioning. I would recommend the Banyan Bay or Victoria House if you can afford them. Victoria House is a bit more isolated and remote, however. Be careful on the beach! We were the victims of an attempted mugging, at machete-point during the middle of the afternoon. Fortunately, we thwarted it by separating ourselves and letting out a scream to draw attention to the event. The mugger ran off scared, and the local police were useless in tracking him down. The security staff at the hotel were very helpful. While the beaches were nice, the snorkeling,diving, and underwater life were not as impressive as other Caribbean islands. They also do not have their own dive shop, although there are several nearby and the tour desk contracts with one in town.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2005

great if you do not want a view

I stayed in one of the newer rooms. The only view I had was of the construction guys next door. The hotel is very nice but do not stay in the cheaper rooms.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2004

Quite High End Compared To What You Pay!

I found a great deal for air + lodging at Banana Beach via yourtravelservice.com. Prior to booking I had done a lot of research and ALL the travel agents that I spoke with either loved Banana Beach or had nothing bad to say about it. It was very clean and comfortable the staff was very helpful. Here's what you need to know. It's about 1.5 miles from San Pedro proper so you'll want to either rent bikes or a golf cart to go back and forth. It is a modern

resort (3 guys from Montana own it) this is not a "thatched Cabana" type experience. It does NOT have a hot tub (I was quite bummed about this) despite what looks like a hot tub in the main pool. Monkey Business Travel Shoppe on premise is overpriced. You'll do much better booking your excursions (snorkling or otherwise) in town. Overall I certainly recommend it.

Read More

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2004

Small Resort - Big Value

The Service is top-notch. The rooms were great. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Tim knows how to run a resort. The restaurant is the best on the island.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2003

I felt guilty for paying so little for so much

This has got to be one of the best deals on the island. The staff is incredibly attentive to every need, takes time to explain things, and offers advice. This hotel has charm and style. Others in the area may look more grandiose, but this one offers so much more. My only peeves would be the lack of an ice machine (Americans crave ice), and the over-powering room freshener (easy enough to remove, but way too strong for the room). The new restaurant,

El Divino, is incredible. By far the best wait staff around. The training and preparation by the wait staff is evident in their flawless execution. Prices at lunch are a little high, but the food is exquisite.

Read More

By Drew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2002

Awesome!

I highly recommend this resort. It's a 5 minute taxi ride away from everything or a 15 minute walk along the beach. Overall Banana Beach is easily one of the top resorts in San Pedro. It had great accomodations, service, and location. It was tons of fun. I can't wait to go back!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement