Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Cayes and Atolls Restaurants

Elvi's Kitchen

Updated 08/28/2013

Fodor's Review

In the old days, in 1974, Elvi Staines sold burgers from the window of her house. Soon she added a few tables on the sand under a flamboyant tree. Today, the floors are still sand, and the tree remains (though now lifeless and cut back to fit inside the roof), but everything else is changed. Enter through massive mahogany doors and you'll be tended to by a staff of a couple of dozen. The burgers are still good, but for dinner Elvi's now specializes in upmarket dishes such

as shrimp in watermelon sauce or crab claws with garlic butter. There's a Mexican-themed night on Wednesday and a "Mayan Feast" on Friday night. For dessert, don't pass on the coconut pie. It's all a bit touristy, but we always enjoy Elvi's.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Pescador Dr., near Ambergris St., San Pedro, Belize

Map It

Phone:

226-2404

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun.

Updated 08/28/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in The Cayes and Atolls

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2010

Elvi's Kitchen Review

The fry jacks and coffee are fantastic. If you want something cold, I recommend a pineapple smoothy. A great place for a hardy breakfast of eggs,sausage, or whatever mix and match suits you.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2009

Elvi's Kitchen Review

One of the oldest Restaraunts on the Island, Elvi's is somewhat of a local landmark. The food is good, but overpriced. It is always scorching Hot inside the restaraunt, so go on a cool day. There is a Sand floor, which is kind of fun, but I always go home with sand flea bites on my feet and ankles. Not in a hurry to go back!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2007

A nice change of flavor

Elvi's offers interesting flavors using local fruits and jerk seasonings. Well worth the moderate price.

By Angel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2005

The waitors are cute!

The food is great and affordable and i met a waitor there but i didn't get to get his number.Darn.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2005

Snappy Snapper

Excellent value for the money. Favorite dish was the whole red snapper, choose fried, baked, grilled. Most tasty was baked. Also great chonk fritters.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2005

Historic restaurant for San Pedro, a must visit!!

Great food, fantastic service and awesome tropical setting. The floor is covered with sand. In the center is a huge tree trunk. The waiters are all locals and take pride in what they do. The evening was very enjoyable. While in San Pedro skip the Capricorn but don't skip Elvi's!!!

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2005

Great Mayan Buffet

Make sure you go to the Mayan buffet on Friday. The food is great.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2003

Tourist Haven, Over-rated

The atmosphere was taken away by a rehearsal dinner that was taking place at the time. The enjoyable music they had playing was often interrupted for the party to make speeches for up to 15-minutes at a time. Many people recommended this restaurant, however it did not live up to our expectations. We really didn't feel that there was anything special about it. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything to get excited about either.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2003

Great Value

I found this place to be best for value of anywhere we ate. Consistenly good food and friendly staff. I highly recommend the chicken ceasar salad.

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2002

Great island food

We ate at Elvi's Kitchen our first night in Belize, and it was a wonderful introduction to Belize and Belizean cooking. Wonderful flavors and wonderful service. I really enjoyed the fish in banana leaf and the chicken soup. The rice was wonderfully flavored. Wasn't as crazy about the shrimp cocktail in coconut sauce (shrimp were too small and hard). It's definitely touristy, but a great island dining option.

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2002

Finally: a good, authentic local restaurant.

We had dinner all over the island, including the high-end waterfront restaurants and liked this one the best. The food was very good, the atmosphere casual and friendly, and it didn't cost half as much as other places we didn't like as well.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2000

Food is good but nothing really great.

Was okay once in a while but pricey and slow service. Staff is overdressed for San Pedro and the food is overrated but generally good.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement