Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Cayes and Atolls Hotels

Matachica Resort & Spa

  • breaking new trail on the Tatunduk

  • northern lights

  • sled dogs under northern lights

  • my team

  • my favorite team dog, Brush

Pros

  • Charming collection of casitas on the beach
  • Friendly staff and good management
  • Postcard-pretty beach

Cons

  • No kids under 12 allowed
  • San Pedro is only accessible by Water Taxi

Updated 06/04/2014

Fodor's Review

Thatch casitas in shades of mango, banana, and blueberry offset by brilliant white sand give this deluxe beachfront resort a Gauguin-like quality. Inside, the fabric, artwork, and tiles echo the outdoor colors. Five new beachfront casitas with king beds, Matouk and Frette linens, and private patios command the best views of the sea and the barrier reef. The on-site Jade Spa offers banana and papaya facials, coffee scrubs, and chocolate body wraps along with more traditional

spa services. There's a large swimming pool. Delectable though pricey seafood and other dishes are served at Mambo, with both indoor and outdoor seating. The same owners now operate Gaia Riverlodge in the Mountain Pine Ridge, so mainland-beach packages are offered. Honeymoon, fishing, diving, and other packages are also offered.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

5 mi (8 km) north of San Pedro, Beachfront, Ambergris Caye, Belize

Map It

Phone:

226-5010; 223-0002-reversations line

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 25 casitas, 1 2-bedroom villa
  • Breakfast; No meals; All meals

Updated 06/04/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in The Cayes and Atolls

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2009

Pure Perfection

From every place we had to choose from, we selected Matachica for our honeymoon this past April. The pictures did not do this little piece of heaven justice. The staff was extremely attentive, yet not over anxious and they felt more like close friends we had not seen in ages than those who worked at Matachica. The food was delicious, my favorite being the molton chocolate cake. Everything from the preperation to the presentation was handled

without a flaw. We splurged to book the beachfront casita and will not be staying in any other casita when we return. It was absolutely incredible and although there were plenty of things to do, we were very happy to sit in our hammock or in a lounge and take up the sun. It was the epitome of relaxation and if we had a choice in the matter, we never would have left.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2009

Exceptional

I would like to compliment Mata Chica on delivering a very memorable vacation experience. The premier accommodations at Mata Chica resort are not the best thing going for them; they run a very close second place to the Mata Chica staff. The location of the resort is 5 miles north of San Pedro, spread out on a picturesque beach that is picture perfect for some relaxation. The accommodations are exceptionally comfortable and offer you a taste of Ambergris

Caye elegance. I found the open and airy room very comfortable and the interior delivers authentic warmth. What really stood out for me while I was at Mata Chica was how well the staff complimented the accommodations. I have spent some time employed in the hospitality and resort management field and cannot remember the last time I observed so many staff members eager to assist. From my perspective, it was a matter of “pride” to the staff at Mata Chica that each contributing staff member put forth that very important above and beyond effort. From the moment I was greeted at the airport to the moment I checked-out; I found many warm and caring individuals looking to make my stay memorable. It is with great pleasure and sincerity that I say “Thank you,” to the staff at Mata Chica.

Read More

By daveyhj

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2009

Spectacular place. Intimate and Relaxed.

My girlfriend and I cannot say enough about the exquisite comfort, service and surroundings of the Matachica resort on Ambergris Cay. From the water taxi ride from San Pedro, we were greeted with pre-ordered cocktails of our choice upon arrival and given a friendly, laid back tour of the intimate complex. Talk about Fantasy Island. Staff greeted us with warm smiles and open arms and management personally went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Luggage magically appeared in our colorful casita which was elegantly appointed; Island local flair meets upscale chique. The restaurant was top shelf, the hot tub overlooking the view was sublime and the perfectly manicured white sand beaches were heavenly. Be prepared to be off the grid. No room phones or TV and internet access only in the lobby and entertainment center. But this is exactly what WE wanted! Everyone felt like family by the end of the week, but in a totally non-invasive, chilled out way. Even the music in the lobby and dining room at night was excellent. Props to management for their cool lounge stylings and overall, calming and intimate experience. We loved Matachica!

Read More

By janisde

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2008

New Carribean Chic

Mata Chica is an oasis of relaxation. From the cozy hammock on our porch, to the exotic garden bathroom, you couldn't help but relax in the island air. The service was attentive and caring from the cold drink waiting upon arrival to ensuring our timely departure in San Pedro. An island retreat, the rooms were tastefully decorated with flavors of Belize; and the food had a flare of artistic Carribean flavors felt from the rest of the island. Mata

Chica brings together the cultures of the Caribbean and the Mayan country side; and with it a sense of adventure and new beginnings.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2006

Hip elegance on the beach.

Just read your write up on Mata Chica. They have a brand new pool! We had a great time, from romantic relaxation on our hammock to incredible diving and inland adventures booked through the hotel. The rooms are ethnically chic and artistic. The food was very good and the staff was warm and helpful. Will be back.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2004

Mata Chica is a picture perfect paradise postcard opportunity!

I was a recent guest at Mata Chica until the sad day I had to return home. From the moment I arrived I was treated as though I was a VIP. I was promptly greated by almost every member of the staff, who all introduced themselves and handed us wonderful welcome cocktails. Throughout our stay the staff called us by our names, served us in every manner possible, and ultimately became our friends. We still keep in contact with a number of the staff and

can not wait to return to our new home away from home MATA CHICA!!!!

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2004

5th trip and still returning

A very romantic palm-surrounded get away place with beautifully served fresh food - Italian gourmet, carribean seafoods (seafood lasagne full of fresh lobster) and endless tropical fruits with tropical flowers everywhere both in room and by your meals. The staff is happy and friendly in a sweet, polite way and they remember your likes and dislikes so that many services just become automatic - sort like being with friends or family. The music in

the main buiding and restaurant is lovely and floaty, euro-international and is a perfect match with the endless breezes to just take you "away from it all." The place is full of original paintings, sculptures, and murals and immaculately maintained. It is never crowded but on any given day you might here French, Italian, German, Spanish, or evenDanish spoken. This adds to the feeling of being "somewhere else." Where? You're not sure, but you know it's surely a real get-away paradise. Just love it!

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2004

"Kill the Girl" kills the ambience

Imagine being so close to paradise-- the white sand, the topaz waters, with waves crashing over the reef in the near distance. Then have that vision shattered by abysmal service, substandard accommodations, and overpricedwell, pretty much everything. On the positive, Mata Chica is very close to a Belizean paradise, and very well might be the best beach (as opposed to jungle) resort in Belize. After touring the resorts, however, this isnt saying

much. Just when they take you to the edge of relaxation, they wrap you in Target towels, serve coffee in Pier 1 Imports mugs, lay you to rest on military-style cots (perhaps, if you are lucky, covered with an even shabbier feather bed), and awaken you not with the sunrise creeping across the waters, but construction of their new resort and stale pastries (complimentary, of course). Through talking with other couples, we realized our complaints shared common threads. We had the opportunity to see the beachfront casitas, the much less luxurious sea view suites, and perhaps the only saving grace, the villa. If you come to Belize, research closely what you are looking for. If you want luxury, stay in the jungle (Blancaneaux, Chaa Chaa Creek). If you want relaxation and island getaway without pretension, try Capricorns. If you want a beautiful accommodation in an English speaking country, try the USVI. But, if you like your near-perfect beach getaway gilded with sub par service, overpriced homemade (although told the parmesan cheese was fresh, we rode in with the Kraft green containers from the airport). The perfect summary came from another dissatisfied couple: They run it like a business.

Read More

By Bridget

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2004

Honeymoon Hell

Mata Chica is a narrow property with a bunch of construction going on directly to the left of the resort. The narrow band of sand in front of the resort is a bicycle path for people who need to commute up and down the caye. The only spot to swim in front of the resort has sea grass, and if you head any further out, you'll need to be careful not to be run over by the water taxi boats that run very frequently beyond the docks and before the reef...

don't forget to check your shoes & stuff - we had a good sized scorpion in our room our first night (!!!). There wasn't any 'next' night - we left first thing in the morning. The owner charged us for the originally intended four nights even though we only stayed for one night. It doesn't matter that the food in the restaurant was heaven (though check the expiration date on the neck of your 'Coke Light' bottle - my two bottles expired a week before they were served to me) - we weren't sleeping in the restaurant! There is no way the accomodations are worth the price! Stay somewhere else & take a water taxi here for dinner!!!! Definitely NOT secluded as they advertize on their web site! And suffer the wrath if you DARE disagree with the owner or even suggest that their resort is any less than the paradise they think it is!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2003

An Observer's Review

I did not stay here, just visited. Mata Chica has an island-y feeling, with individual cabanas topped with palm fronds. I did not get to try the restaurant (Mambo), but it gets fabulous reviews. This resort is rather isolated on the very north end of Ambergris, and the golf cart path doesn't reach here. So you must resort to water taxis (which can be expensive) unless you want to eat on property every night. There is no pool at Mata Chica, and with

the ocean not being particularly conducive to swimming (due to sea grass), presents a real drawback.

Read More

By Cynthia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2002

European Couple create Chic Beach Haven

Just a boat ride from San Pedro, colorful casitas speckle a white coral beach. Karen and I were greeted by Nadia and Phillipe, the European owners, who were the most fantastic hosts. The beach villa rooms were clean and chic... each villa color-washed to reflect a tropical fruit. The restaurant was a source for european-style breakfasts, light lunches and belizean drinks. Evening dinners offer a melange of Italian-inspired entrees such as freshly-made

pastas countered by local produce and seafood. Who needs San Pedro's nightlife... when the best company in Ambergris Cay can be found in the international guests of the hotel? I found the after-dinner crowd most intriguing, spirited and yet urbane. Days are spent enjoying the many activities that can be arranged by the hotel. Boat trips to Shark Alley and Snorkeling/Diving are out of this world! The tourmaline colored waters of Belize are unparalleled as seen from the beach-front sitting areas. A short paddle in a sea-kayak brings you to the crystal clear waters. The barstaff generously provides cocktails by the beach and days can be whiled away in lazy bliss. Nevermind the spa treatments at Jade Spa. All in all, this is not your average resort. This is a haven for a casual but chic clientele. Be prepared for upscale but casual relaxation, great service... and perhaps a few spirited surprises!

Read More

By lauren

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 11, 2001

lovely spot, far from nightlife

We stayed here in July 2000. The hotel was beautifully designed and well run. We thouroughly enjoyed ourselves here. It did have 2 drawbacks. It was far from town, and we had to depend on the hotel boat or the water taxi to go out to dinner, etc. Also, there were tons of mosquitos in the evenings at the resort, the further back from the water, the worse they were. If mosquitos bother you and you plan to stay in the rainy season, choose one of

the beachfront cabanas.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement