Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Zurich Restaurants

Swiss Chuchi

Updated 09/09/2012

Fodor's Review

Right on the Niederdorf's main square, Hirschenplatz, this squeaky-clean Swiss-kitsch restaurant has an airy, modern decor, with Alpine-rustic chairs. It serves good home-cooked national specialties: Geschnetzeltes, Rösti, Leberli, bratwurst, schnitzel, and battered fish with french fries and tartar sauce—the gang's all here. An added attraction if you're visiting in summer: fondue and raclette, usually winter dishes, are served year-round. Excellent lunch menus are

rock-bottom cheap and served double quick. There's outdoor seating on the cobblestone pedestrian square in warm weather.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Roseng. 10, Zürich, 8001, Switzerland

Map It

Phone:

044-2669696

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 09/09/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Zurich

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By colbeck

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2008

Loved Adler's Swiss Chuchi!

We spent just one night in Zurich before our flight home. Upon arriving at the train station we took a walk around the Nierderdorf area in search of lunch and stumbled across Adler's Swiss Chuchi, which I remembered seeing in Fodor's. All four of us had a wonderful chicken soup topped with puffed pastry, served by an extremely friendly waiter. The restaurant was walking distance to our hotel, and we liked it so much we decided to return for dinner.

We arrived without reservations, but managed to be seated. It's a good thing that we went early (6:30), as it was a Friday night and the restaurant became packed, with a waiting line outside. The Veal Cordon Blue and the calves liver dish were excellent -- and the Rosti potatoes were the best we had in Switzerland!

Read More

By JN

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2006

Terrific fondue and raclette!

The service was a bit indifferent, but that didn't matter once we tasted the fondue and raclette. Lovely setting and even better food. We'd go back if we were to stay in Zurich.

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2005

American Girls that Know what Their talking about!

Yeah. Great place to eat. We felt right at home. The food was awesome! Radical! Duece Negros. Mel and Jen

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2005

A pleasant place to eat

Ate there on 17 July 05, sitting outside on Rosengasse while it was warm and sunny.

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2002

Great Traditional Fondu

Tables outside are first come. Just sit down. The fondu is great. Right in the heart of Niederdorf (old city.) Service is a bit slow but hey, this is Switzerland.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2002

American-Swiss at best

This is to Swiss cooking what "Swiss cheese" is to real Swiss cheese. I don't know who from Fodor's said this has the best fondue in Zurich, but they have obviously never had fondue elsewhere. The food quility is mediocre at best, the service terrible (even by lower European standards), the prices on par with other, better restaurants in Zurich, and the atmosphere only redeemed IF you can get a table outside. Locals do not eat here, even in the off-season.

In fact, if you hear people speaking German, they are probably German tourists. I only recommend this place if you are afraid to go somewhere that the menus aren't first presented in English, or perhaps with kids - there is a wider selection here than you will find in a real Swiss "Chuchi." Otherwise, ask someone where real Swiss people go for real Swiss food.

Read More

By Les

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2001

A must do!

We were supposed to go to another fondue restaurant, but couldn't find it. We were tired and this was the first one we found. It was great! Tried both fondue and raclette and enjoyed both very much. We had the peppery fondue and it was very tasty. We were told afterwards that this was considered a tourist trap by the locals, but we enjoyed it very much anyway. Will definately go there gain on our next visit.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement