Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Madrid Hotels

Westin Palace

  • Pl. de las Cortés 7 Map It
  • Grande Dame

Pros

  • Grand hotel with tons of history
  • Weekend brunch with opera performances

Cons

  • Standard rooms face a backstreet
  • Pricey in-room Internet

Updated 06/18/2014

Fodor's Review

Built in 1912, Madrid's most famous grand hotel is a Belle Époque creation of Alfonso XIII and has hosted the likes of Salvador Dalí, Marlon Brando, Rita Hayworth, and Madonna. Guest rooms are high-tech and generally impeccable, banquet halls and lobbies have been beautified, and the facade has been restored. The Art Nouveau stained-glass dome over the lounge remains exquisitely original, and guest-room windows are double-glazed against street noise. The hotel also houses

the well-known Asia Gallery restaurant and soon will feature a sushi bar.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Pl. de las Cortés 7, Madrid, 28014, Spain

Map It

Phone:

91-360–8000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 467 rooms, 45 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/18/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Madrid

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By csr29

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2007

Great Stay!

After reading the reviews of various hotels in Madrid I was concerned that I would not be able to find anything suitable. After great deliberation between the Ritz and the Palace we choose the Palace and I feel that it was absolutely the right choice. To begin with I cannot understand what other reviewers are complaining about in terms of the service. The concierge was unbelievably helpful and the service at the bar and at breakfast was fantastic-

overall the hotel gets a perfect score for service. With all that said the hotel is slightly tired- there was paint chipping on the doors in the bathroom along with a tear in the lamp shades in the entrance hall to our room. However, we were told that the hotel will be going through a renovation soon, so hopefully all of this will be rectified. I am very pick about hotels and I was so impressed with the service that I was able to look over the low points, and I can say that I will definitely be back!

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2006

The most inconsistent 5 star hotel I've ever seen...

Recently stayed for one week at The Palace. I cannot complain about the price I paid as I went through Priceline, however I was shocked by how depressingly outdated my room was, dirty carpet, bed so soft it was like sitting in a chair, stark white walls. Couldn't believe this was a 5 star room. I was on the 4th floor, and the better rooms seem to be higher up. After one night I complained about my room, and they moved me to the 6th floor, into a

room that is what they had advertised in their photos. Now I was happy. The room was beautiful although it had the same super-soft bed. Also, their staff is very inconsistent, definitely not 5 star service. The reception could be very warm or very cold depending on who was on duty. All of the Concierge staff was incompetent and lazy -ALL OF THEM! They gave me bad information all the time, they didn't want to make phone calls, and I found myself having to verify EVERY bit of information they gave me, beware of relying on them. Also, beware of any kind of party they might have in their main lobby area (covered by the beautiful dome glass). One night, they had an event with blaring music that didn't end until 5AM. I tried to complain to the manager the next day, but the nasty reception clerk insisted that no manager was on duty. How can a hotel with over 400 rooms not have some sort of manager or assistant manager on duty at noon time on any given day? On the other hand, the lobby, breakfast rooms, dining rooms, all public spaces are absolutely beautiful. If you can get a remodeled room, facing the street you will most likely be happy. The location of this hotel is phenomenal. Overall I was happy, but only because I got a deal on Priceline, $150 a night. If I had paid over $200 I wouldn't feel it was a good value. Also, if you are going to Seville, check out Westins Alfonso XIII. Good luck!

Read More

By Selma

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2004

Palatial surroundings

I found the rates in this hotel very reasonable for what it offers: it is truly luxurious but the catch are the extras, such as minibar, bars,etc. However, what this place has is atmosphere with a capital A. It is not achingly trendy, and you will not find the kind of ambience of younger, more fashionable hotels, but the decor, bars and location all hint to money. And the rooms match up for this kind of hotels, even though I was unlucky and got quite

a small one. The complaints I have are minor and all in all and for the price I paid I was quite satisfied.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2003

A great hotel at a great value

A fabulous place to stay. Although the room rates are VERY reasonable, everything else in the hotel (mini bar, bar, business center) is quite expensive. Great ambiance though and very comfortable rooms. Great location for everything. The only negative is that no one offered to help us drag our bags up two flights of stairs to the elevators. It could be because Bruce Springsteen was staying at the hotel and all of the bell boys were busy controlling

the throng of fans out front.

Read More

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2003

Park your own car at this 5-star hotel!!

We couldn't believe our ears when we were told to look for a garage and park the car ourselves. What kind of 5-star hotel is this? The service is worse than a roadside motel! While the staff apologized profusely, the manager was full of hot air and clearly had an attitude problem. If this is how they train their managers in the Westin chain, I'll never set foot in any of theirs.

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2003

Bring Your Confirmation With You

Reserved a Grand Deluxe room with a sitting area and were given the key (not shown to) to a small room with twin beds. Service Line promised to send someone up to change the room, but never showed up and "Service Line" never answered again. Weren't going to give us the room we reserved until I showed clerk the confirmation with description. Room was $$$ but superb.

By Arlene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2002

No complaints!

We stayed at the Palace in mid-October and loved it! It's a beautiful hotel - have a drink under the dome. Our rooms were spotless and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. Also found all of the staff very helpful and courteous. Highly recommended.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2002

Service counts!!!

Stayed at the Westin Palace in March 2002. Found it very conveniently located, nice room (although not huge), with a very, very helpful staff. We got truly great service, which counts for a lot!

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2002

Stay Here!

This is a wonderful hotel in every way. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are heavenly! Everything about the hotel was top notch. Great location - close to the Prado and other major attractions.

By Therese

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2002

Fabulous Fabulous Fabulous

This hotel was dreamy...everything was wonderful....the service, smiles, bed linen, location, bathroom, room size...I could go on and on. I can't wait to go back!

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2002

Didn't want to leave!

We loved this hotel. I'm reading about the smaller rooms and maybe we lucked out but our room was huge with a large marble bath. We stayed over the holidays and loved watching the families in the rotunda lobby. Fab location for sightseeing also. Can't wait to go back!

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2001

Worth a Try

Picked the hotel since i was using my starwood points. Would be impressed even if i have to pay for it. Unlike others, I got a large room overlooking the fountain between the Ritz and the Palace. Since I was only in Madrid for one day, the location was great for Museum Prado which is right across the street. No complains at all and will go back. Would be better if it has a pool though.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2001

Very nice hotel

We found the Palace to be very pleasent. We actually chose the Palace over the Ritz because of the service we received while having drinks and both hotels. The lobby and rotunda are breathtaking. The service was very good. Bed linens and room apointments are top-notch, although the rooms are a bit small compared to American luxury hotels. The reservations people were very friendly and gave us an excellent rate for a hotel of this caliber. Room service

is expensive, but worth it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2001

Beware of construction and extra charges

I love the location of this hotel, as well as its attraction to the Who's Who of Madrid (people watching in the lobby is a must, esp. on the weekends) However, Madrid is experiencing a construction boon and all sides of the hotel face some sort of construction that will not be ending soon. Also, we were overcharged or double charged many times during our stay (review those bills closely).

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 16, 2001

If you love the Prado, stay here

My husband and I really wanted a good amount of time at the Prado. In addition, we had read quite a lot of dire warnings about danger in Madrid. We had found a good deal on a web site offering this room at about $180 (which included a great breakfast buffet). So for these reasons, we booked the Palace. We asked for, and received, an elegant, quiet and very comfortable room. The proximity to the Prado was great, and the comfort and elegance was

wonderful. If we hadn't received such a good deal at that time, I might not be quite so enthusiastic, but we loved our oasis of quiet. The Palace is NOT close to any metro stop, however, so expect to either walk a lot or take taxies everywhere.

Read More

By steve

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2000

absolute class

Breath taking artistic entrance. Rooms are small but well decorated..but who stays in the room while in Madrid.One feels close to the locals outside the hotel, but inside it is as nice as hotel in the many I have been in ,in all my travels. Ask for a Mercedes limo and driver for the day,see toledo w/o being on a bus.Hotel is costly, but you wont be sorry.Food/service incredible!

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2000

The best Champagne cocktail under the Tiffany.

The Palace is still Madrid's most elegant hotel. Service has slipped since Starwood tookover.However on my most recent visit in January 2000 found improvement in service.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement