Madrid Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Casa Botín

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Casa Botín Review

The Guinness Book of Records calls this the world's oldest restaurant (est. 1725), and Hemingway called it the best. The latter claim may be a bit over the top, but the restaurant is excellent and extremely charming (and so successful that the owners opened a "branch" in Miami, Florida). There are four floors of tile and wood-beam dining rooms, and, if you're seated upstairs, you'll pass centuries-old ovens. Musical groups called tunas (mostly made up of students dressed in medieval costume) often come by to perform. The specialties are cochinillo (roast pig) and cordero (roast lamb). It's rumored Goya washed dishes here before he made it as a painter.

    Contact Information

  • Address: Cuchilleros 17, off Pl. Mayor La Latina, Madrid, 28005 | Map It
  • Phone: 91/366–4217
  • Website:
  • Metro: Tirso de Molina.
  • Location: La Latina

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 07-10-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Casa Botín Review

    This restaurant is the worlds oldest restaurant in continuous operation. The atmosphere and service was quite good. The food however was below average, and there is more read on. The suckling pig I ordered was bland and rather tasteless. And the potatoes served with it were very bland as well. The worst thing is some asparagus I had ordered, but didn't eat, was served cold was put aside on a serving table as the dinner dishes were cleared. Then in a few minutes as I was finishing my wine, I saw it was served to another table! YUCHO! That was a bit of a shock.

    by jkincols, 3/1/11
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    WOW OVERATED

    I had my heart set on tasting there famous Suckling pig. but was unfortanely disapointed. Andrew Zimmern (Bizzare Foods), must have been really paid off by Botin, unlike the episode in which he ordered a entire suckling pig, he fails to inform you that, you must be seated with a party of 6 or more inorder to acquire the entire pig. The pork they brought out was dry and rough. The only thing to mention from this overrated eatery was the baby ell. although it was alittle price, but well worth it. If i was going to eat in Madrid again i would not make the mistake of going to this tourist infested rickity restaurant. Andrew Zimmern disappointed me, and i hope he hears about it. ( NOT FABULOUS ).

    by travelstar78, 1/29/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wonderful experience

    We ate here with a tour group. They seated us promptly and our meals were delicious. I had the roasted chicken (extremely meaty) and husband had lamb (lots of bones, but large portion). They provided platters of manchego cheese and the ham slices, some chicken croquettes, and the house wine was great. The place was full, everyone had a great time, and the staff was very accomodating.

    by Marsmum, 5/29/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Tourist trap

    I ate here with my wife recently. I can only describe the place as a complete tourist trap. Our entire meal was recorded by the adjacent table of Japanese tourists waving video cameras about.

    The service was fast and efficient but far from friendly. We were left with the impression that we were fed quickly in order to free up the table so that more tourists could be fleeced. The whole experience was one of an industrialised feeding machine.

    The food was mediocre, the suckling pig lacked crackling and I tried in vain to find any meat on the lamb.

    Avoid.

    by tripdip, 11/26/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Good although touristy

    This restaurant has mastered the art of mass production. Although it filled up the minute it opened at 8:00 PM (early for Madrid), the cooks and waiters kept the food coming. And overall, the food was very good -- especially the pig. The lamb was boney, but the portion was very large so there was enough meat -- you just have to work a little. Alas, the crowd mainly consisted of other tourists.

    by mscarls, 5/28/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A Can't Miss

    Botin is just a fantastic place in every way. While it is in all the tourist guides and many tourists go there, you are just as likely to have the queen of Spain sitting at the table next to you. The food is great.

    by kathinmadrid, 5/27/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Just not so right!

    Nice atmosphere, but overated and too much geared for tourists. Always busy so booking is advisable. Food quality ranged from average to poor. The suckling pig was nothing special; the skin was not cooked correctly so there was no real crackling. The baby lamb, another specialality consisted of more bone than meat. The house wine was of good quality so no need buy a more expensive bottle. Summary, interesting, but overall quality leaves you disapointed. I would not go again. There are much better places to eat in Madrid.

    by RGL, 3/29/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Madrid

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories