Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Madrid Restaurants

Casa Botín

  • Cuchilleros 17 Map It
  • La Latina
  • Spanish

Updated 06/18/2014

Fodor's Review

The Guinness Book of Records calls this the world's oldest restaurant (est. 1725), and Hemingway called it the best. The latter claim may be a bit over the top, but the restaurant is excellent and extremely charming (and so successful that the owners opened a "branch" in Miami, Florida). There are four floors of tile and wood-beam dining rooms, and, if you're seated upstairs, you'll pass centuries-old ovens. Musical groups called tunas (mostly made up of students dressed in medieval costume) often come by to perform. The specialties are cochinillo (roast pig) and cordero (roast lamb). It's rumored Goya washed dishes here before he made it as a painter.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Cuchilleros 17, off Pl. Mayor, Madrid, 28005, Spain

Map It

Phone:

91-366–4217

Website: www.botin.es

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 06/18/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Madrid

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Thinesh

  • Food

  • Service

  • Value

  • Décor

Sep 15, 2014

Lives up to hype

The suckling pig was nicely roasted with potatoes, but the surprise was the pretty tasty vegetarian Rioja salad with a mixture of vegetables and also the assorted vegetables without ham. The house red wine was classy but I wouldn't order that rather acidic House Rosé again! The desserts were extensive and the creme Catalan and mascarpone with cream and mango were delicious. The lively atmosphere and service in an iconic location with its rabbit

warren passages and cave-like basement are the real attraction however and after seeing the great interior with its early 20th century style and Hemingway's table on the 1st floor.... You won't regret the experience!

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Mar 1, 2011

Casa Botín Review

This restaurant is the worlds oldest restaurant in continuous operation. The atmosphere and service was quite good. The food however was below average, and there is more read on. The suckling pig I ordered was bland and rather tasteless. And the potatoes served with it were very bland as well. The worst thing is some asparagus I had ordered, but didn't eat, was served cold was put aside on a serving table as the dinner dishes were cleared. Then

in a few minutes as I was finishing my wine, I saw it was served to another table! YUCHO! That was a bit of a shock.

Read More
  • Service

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Food

Jan 29, 2009

WOW OVERATED

I had my heart set on tasting there famous Suckling pig. but was unfortanely disapointed. Andrew Zimmern (Bizzare Foods), must have been really paid off by Botin, unlike the episode in which he ordered a entire suckling pig, he fails to inform you that, you must be seated with a party of 6 or more inorder to acquire the entire pig. The pork they brought out was dry and rough. The only thing to mention from this overrated eatery was the baby ell.

although it was alittle price, but well worth it. If i was going to eat in Madrid again i would not make the mistake of going to this tourist infested rickity restaurant. Andrew Zimmern disappointed me, and i hope he hears about it. ( NOT FABULOUS ).

Read More

By Marsmum

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 29, 2008

Wonderful experience

We ate here with a tour group. They seated us promptly and our meals were delicious. I had the roasted chicken (extremely meaty) and husband had lamb (lots of bones, but large portion). They provided platters of manchego cheese and the ham slices, some chicken croquettes, and the house wine was great. The place was full, everyone had a great time, and the staff was very accomodating.

By tripdip

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Nov 26, 2007

Tourist trap

I ate here with my wife recently. I can only describe the place as a complete tourist trap. Our entire meal was recorded by the adjacent table of Japanese tourists waving video cameras about. The service was fast and efficient but far from friendly. We were left with the impression that we were fed quickly in order to free up the table so that more tourists could be fleeced. The whole experience was one of an industrialised feeding machine.

The food was mediocre, the suckling pig lacked crackling and I tried in vain to find any meat on the lamb. Avoid.

Read More

By mscarls

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 28, 2007

Good although touristy

This restaurant has mastered the art of mass production. Although it filled up the minute it opened at 8:00 PM (early for Madrid), the cooks and waiters kept the food coming. And overall, the food was very good -- especially the pig. The lamb was boney, but the portion was very large so there was enough meat -- you just have to work a little. Alas, the crowd mainly consisted of other tourists.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 27, 2007

A Can't Miss

Botin is just a fantastic place in every way. While it is in all the tourist guides and many tourists go there, you are just as likely to have the queen of Spain sitting at the table next to you. The food is great.

By RGL

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 29, 2007

Just not so right!

Nice atmosphere, but overated and too much geared for tourists. Always busy so booking is advisable. Food quality ranged from average to poor. The suckling pig was nothing special; the skin was not cooked correctly so there was no real crackling. The baby lamb, another specialality consisted of more bone than meat. The house wine was of good quality so no need buy a more expensive bottle. Summary, interesting, but overall quality leaves you disapointed.

I would not go again. There are much better places to eat in Madrid.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.