Built in 1889 for the Reverend Mothers of St. Theresa, when Gaudí was still occasionally using straight lines, this building, an operating school, showcases upper floors reminiscent of those in Berenguer's apartment house at Carrer de l'Or 44, with its steep peaks and verticality. Hired to finish a job begun by another architect, Gaudí found his freedom of movement somewhat limited in this project. The dominant theme here is the architect's use of steep, narrow catenary arches and Mudejar exposed-brick pillars. The most striking effects are on the second floor, where two rows of a dozen catenary arches run the width of the building, each of them unique because, as Gaudí explained, no two things in nature are identical. The brick columns are crowned with T-shape brick capitals (for St. Theresa). Look down at the marble doorstep for the inscription by mystic writer and poet Santa Teresa de Avila (1515–82), the much-quoted "todo se pasa" (all things pass). The Col.legi is a private secondary school, and normally not open to visitors, but the sisters may organize guided group visits on request.