Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Hotels

Rey Juan Carlos I

Pros

  • 10 minutes from the airport
  • Supremely comfortable and complete
  • Polished and attentive service

Cons

  • Considerably far from all of Barcelona's tourist attractions

Updated 03/10/2014

Fodor's Review

More of an urban resort and convention center than a mere hotel, with glass elevators gliding smoothly up and down a 15-story central atrium, the Rey Juan Carlos is a surprisingly affordable American-style ziggurat. The lush garden adjacent to the main building has an Olympic-size swimming pool, a pond with swans, and a superb spa. The elegant rooms have gorgeous wood doors, brass fixtures, and bathrooms appointed in marble, with spectacular walk-in showers. What's more, the Royal Polo Club of Barcelona is just a few minutes' walk away.

Hotel Information

Address:

Av. Diagonal 661–671, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08028, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-364–4040; 93-364–4223

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 394 rooms, 38 suites
  • No meals

Updated 03/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels

See all hotels in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2012

Barcelona For Business

In the beautiful lobby of the Rey Juan Carlos you will be greeted by the most amazing smell. Their signature scent is used on their floor to ceiling windows and fills the air with a scent I will forever associate with Spain. I wish the scent carried into my room. Besides the mild smell, the room was nice. As I was there on business I did not have enough time to properly enjoy the grounds of the hotel. The pool looked amazing and the staff was

very nice. Don't forget to buy the room spray so you can take that lovely smell home with you.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

Good Hotel, Bad Location, Worse Service

This is a beautiful hotel with great rooms, but is on the fringe of Barcelona with virtually nothing within walking distance. The staff can be very unhelpful, often contradicting each other. For example, we booked a queen or king room but were given a room with two twins. When we complained, we were told that a proper room would be ready after 2pm. Returning after 2pm, we were told that the first person did not have authority to say what she did

and no rooms of our requested type were available. Further complaining yielded a statement that one might be available after 9pm. We were told in the restaurant that breakfast was €12. On checking out, the cashier said it was €23 per person. Once, we were awakened by an employee telling us a bus we requested would be arriving shortly when we had made no such request. Another time items were delivered to our room "per our request" when we had made no such request. Finally, prices at the hotel are outrageous. €8.5 for a soft drink is unfathomable.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2003

Rey class and atmosphere

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed two stays in September of 2003. The pool and fitness areas were excellent, the staff very friendly, and the atmosphere, service, and quality of food at the outdoor garden restaurant were superb.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2002

Juan unhappy hotel

Having stayed at many BCN hotels found myself at a conference here. It really is on the edge of town and it took a taxi 90 minutes to drive to Barcelonetta one evening. Also note that conference attendees have to pay extra for everything. A whopping 60 Euros (or dollars) a day to use the gym or pool !! The staff are also not very happy. Why would you stay so far out ? Unless you were visiting the University or watching soccer.

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2002

Nice and comfortable

Excelent all around. Staff very helpful. quite expensive. a very comfortable modern hotel.

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2001

Glorious hotel, snooty and pompous service

Lovely city and hotel with less than accomodating staff. Certainly did not go out of their way to provide the type of service one would expect in a luxury hotel. I found the Spanish people to be among the nicest folks I've ever come across EXCEPT at the Juan Carlos.Did not appear to be very happy employees!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement