Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Restaurants

Can Manel la Puda

Updated 03/12/2014

Fodor's Review

A passable choice for a budget-friendly paella in the sun, year-round, Can Manel is near the end of the main road out to the Barceloneta beach. Any time before 4 o'clock will do (It reopens again at 7 pm.) Arròs a banda (rice with peeled shellfish) and paella marinera (with seafood) or fideuá (with noodles) are both decent choices. The paella, prepared for a minimum of two diners, will easily feed three (or even four if you're planning to dine a

few more times that day).

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Passeig Joan de Borbó 60, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08039, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-221–5013

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Mon.

Updated 03/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2012

Can Manel la Puda Review

Can Manel is the best place to get paella in Barcelona. It has been around since the 1800's and they've been making the same sort of cuisine since the beggining... how can it not be good? The thing is, you need to learn how to enjoy a place like Can Manel. It is special when you sit in the outside terrace while the sun is shining on your face because it gives you a chance to watch the people walk by while you enjoy a little bit of bubbly white

wine with the people that you love. If you are expecting tip top and fast service, you've come to the wrong place and you might as well head to the Rambla for a burger. Can Manel is all about relaxing and taking time with your meal. Why do you think that mostly locals dine here? Its easy to see something as face value and not go into depth. Can Manel is a favorite place of mine and a very special place.

Read More

By Alan_M

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2009

Terrible Service - worst ever

The food might be good, but we didn't stay to find out. First contact with the staff was rude and surly, but when a waiter did come to take our order he was obvioulsy drunk and incapable, stinking of booze. His colleagues were well aware of this and obviously didn't care, so we left. I am amazed this place has garnered good reviews as this was the worst I have ever encountered. Perhaps the lack of other customers tells a tale. Avoid at all costs.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2004

paella and cigalitos

The first of january, warm sun and a beautiful, simple table outside. Try the "paella con bogavantes", it's a fantastic experience of taste. If you are still hungry (quite impossible) eat a portion of cigalitos salteados, excellent!

By Ana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2004

Very good choice

Went to Barcelona in December 2003 and this was one of the nicest restaurants I ate at. The restaurant was quite full as it was Sunday lunch, but we didn't have to wait. The daily menu included a first course, a main course, dessert, drinks and bread for 8 EUR. For each course you had 3 or 4 choices. I loved the 'Fideua a la Banda' (noodles with a seafood dressing)! You can also eat 'a la carte', but it is more expensive.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2000

Prawns to die for

Much more than just paella, a great seafood restaurant. Mostly Spanish, few tourists. Go for Sunday lunch (you must book) . Very little English spoken.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement