Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Restaurants

Can Majó

  • Almirall Aixada 23 Map It
  • Seafood

Updated 03/12/2014

Fodor's Review

One of Barcelona's best-known seafood restaurants lies at the edge of the beach in Barceloneta and specializes in such house favorites as caldero de bogavante (a cross between paella and lobster bouillabaisse) and suquet (fish stewed in its own juices), but the full range of typical Spanish rice and seafood dishes are also available. Can Majó doesn't consistently reach the standards that once made it famous, but the cooking is still a notch above most of

the touristy haunts nearby. In summer, the terrace overlooking the Mediterranean is a pleasantly upscale version of the Barceloneta chiringuitos (shanty restaurants) that used to line the beach here. Even so, there's nothing "shanty" about the decor: a white-tablecloth experience with soft pendant lighting inside.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Almirall Aixada 23, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08003, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-221–5455

Website: www.canmajo.es

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Mon. No dinner Sun.

Updated 03/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2012

Can Majó Review

Our meal lasted two and a half hours. First, the waiter did not understand our English so it took another 20 min to find someone who did. Then we were getting bit by Mosquitos. We asked the English speaking waiter for a candle or something to repel them and he said that they Mosquitos only come when it's windy and walked away. He then said he would get a candle. He never came back to us. After being bitten for two hours we asked the manager for

the candle we were promiesd to which he replies that they do not have any candles and would send over our waiter. He never came. Next, we were asked three times if we wanted bread and olives. We said no each time because we did not want to be charged. They then charged us anyway. We asked for tap water and he refused to give it. Never has a waiter refused to give me tap water before. There was four of us and we all ordered one drink and one entree. The whole meal took two and a half hours. People who were seated after us left half an hour to an hour before us. We ordered at 8:30, when the restaurant was empty, we got our food at 10:00. Then we asked for the bill at 10:30 and waited another 30 min to get it. Finally at 11 we got it and then the waitress served other people and swiped their credit cards ignoring us. I marched up to the manager at this point and handed him my card to leave. I have never had such bad service or food in any country before.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2009

Can Majó Review

Simply the best fish retaurant we have been to worldwide, even better than the Drum and Monkey in Harrogate.Every time we visit Barcelona we eat at Can Majo and always make a point of Sunday lunch watching the locals enjoying lunch with their families ,something we seem to have abandoned in England ........ a joy .The food has been consistently superb and the service excellent , it has to be recommended but book for Sunday lunch so as not to be

disappointed.Also Casa Calvet should not be missed for lunch or dinner just to sit in one of the most stunningly beautiful restaurants in a Gaudi building serving excellent food.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2008

Good choice for relaxed seafood dinner

Good location. Relaxed service. Excellent seafood and chef's recommended wine perfect for meal.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2007

Simply the Best

Every time we visit Barcelona we eat at Can Majo at least once but always for Sunday lunch, an institution for us ,like having afternoon tea at Reids in Maderia or the tea dance at the Savoy.The food is fabulous and service what you expect from a family run business ,excellent.Het a bit of real life by sitting and watching Spanish families really enjoy Sunday lunch together , something we seem to have forgotten here in the UK . The Drum and Monkey

is great but Can Majo can only be described as the best, if in Barcelona do as the .......do have Sunday lunch at Can majo an unforgettable experience

Read More

By Jackie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2006

This was worth the trip to Barcelona

Went for lunch and sat outside on the Terrace. It is located in a remote area so I suggest a taxi. Better to go for lunch. The Paella Mixed seafood and Lobster was fabulous. The Mayo bread was absolutely delicious. This restaurant woudl be an absolute must on anyones list of things to do in Barcelona. Plenty of Appetizers, Entry, Bread and Sangria.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2006

Excellent choice

Just returned from dinner and loved it. Service was great and friendly (something ofgten lacking in BCN). Jaded NYer that I am I doubted the fried calamari would be good. It wass better then good it was great, tender and frsh with no fishy taste or alot of salt. I then had the monkfish again tender and very fresh. My wife had the same meal only with a salad for a starter. It was huge fresh and crispy. The waitress suggested a wine after I told her

I wanted a Rose'. She said to try the premier a local wine. It was only 14Euro and wonderful. The whole dinner with a cruise ship quality dessert and coffe was 120 euro. We thought it was well worth it. The location is also a big plus being right on the beach. And yes I am both a serious food lover and love to cook so this is not an overrated review. thanks Joe S. NYC and WPB FL

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2006

You can do better

Service and food were unremarkable. Many of the positive reviews I have seen regarding this restaurant seem to be several years old. I imagine that this was once a fine restaurant, but has grown comfortable and the quality has suffered as a result. You can find much better in Barcelona. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant.

By Ted

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2005

Not for serious food lover

The place is pleasant enough, typical of a seafood place by the sea. The portions are big and service is friendly. The food however, is average at best. The paella is disappointing. I have the feeling that the place was once very good and famous, then the chef left. The place has been living off its name ever since. If you have a lot of kids in your party, this may not be a bad choice as the portions are big.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2004

Stupendous seafood in charming 'hood

Some of the best seafood I've had in Spain. Their oysters (ostras)were the largest, most tender I'd ever tasted and I would have left happy after them. However, their caldero, which is halfway between paella and bouillabaisse and all the way to paradise. Service is pleasant but a little erratic, regulars get much speedier service, but the food and solid wine list are enough to keep you busy.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2003

a really good lunch

Had lunch here last Sunday, on the terrace, great atmosphere, great food and for good prices. The only reason I ddin't give it 5 stars all round was because we went to Passadis del pep two days before and I had the best meal ever there.....Can Majo is definitely to be recommended

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement