Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Hotels

Majestic Hotel & Spa

  • Passeig de Gràcia 68 Map It
  • Grande Dame
  • Fodor's Choice
  • Fachada noche Majestic Hotel Spa

  • Lobby Majestic Hotel Spa

  • deluxe city view Majestic

  • Penthouse Majestic

  • swimming pool Dolce Vitae Majestic

  • Breakfast Majestic Hotel

  • Bathroom romantic

  • Terraza Majestic La Dolce Vitae

Pros

  • Very professional service
  • Rooftop terrace with views of the ocean, Montjuïc and the Sagrada Família
  • 24-hour room service
  • Good value for price

Cons

  • Classic furniture a little dated
  • No pets
  • Parking fees are a bit steep

Updated 03/10/2014

Fodor's Review

With an unbeatable location on Barcelona's most stylish boulevard, steps from Gaudí's La Pedrera and a stone's throw to the boulevard's swankiest shops, this hotel is a near-perfect place to stay. The building is part Eixample town house and part modern extension. Rooms are a tasteful palate of white, beige, and dove gray textiles, set off by ticking stripes or, in some, a sky-blue accent wall. Bathrooms have towel warmers, Bulgari toiletries, and separate toilets.

Hotel Information

Address:

Passeig de Gràcia 68, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08007, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-488–1717

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 271 rooms, 32 suites
  • No meals

Updated 03/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2013

We loved it

My wife and I decided to spend a couple of days in Barcelona before leaving on a cruise, and our search for a clean, comfortable, well-situated hotel led us to book at the Majestic. Our room was comparatively small, but tastefully appointed and quiet, even though it was on the first floor above a busy side street. My only quibble with our accommodations (and the reason for rating it four stars instead of five) was that the beige carpet didn't look

quite as clean as it should for a hotel of the Majestic's stature. The location was excellent, as we were within a few minutes' walk of two Guadi master works, Casa Batlo and La Pradera, and the Red and Blue open air tour bus lines had stops on the adjoining Passeig de Gracia. The staff were friendly, professional, and helpful. We passed on the hotel's lavish and costly buffet breakfast in favor of a more typically Spanish and far more reasonable coffee bar just across the street, but did indulge ourselves a bit on the 10th floor rooftop bar/pool/terrace, which offers a wonderful, panoramic view of the city. All of the public areas were spotless and and attractive. The hotel has a business center with several desktops, and offers free hour of wi-fi each day, which was sufficient for our means. All in all, we loved the Majestic, and likely would book there again if we are fortunate enough to return to Barcelona.

Read More

By leah6

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2011

Majestic Review

One of the worst hotels. I am writing this review to warn you that most of our group experienced rude or no service. We had booked one of the top rooms.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 4, 2006

Highly Recommend

Very nice hotel, great location, fantastic service and would stay there again.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2005

No Complants

Very fancy hotel w/ all the amenities, etc. Pricey but you do get what you pay for. The rooftop pool is great and offers incredible views of the city. Location is key. You are really close to everything.

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2004

Fabulous at Majestic

The location is absolutely perfect. Its close to all areas that are of interest. Besides that, friendly service and nice rooms. Roof top pool is small but its great to suntan. I would defintely stay here again

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2004

Majestic Hotel

Great service in a terrific location. This hotel has been renovated and the facilities are very nice. With both an inside and outside door to the balcony, our room was very quiet, even though we were right on the Passeig de Gracia. Most attractions are within walking distance or walk three blocks to the tour buses. We used the Metro, located one block away, where you can get 10 rides for 6 Euros. Plenty of good inexpensive dining nearby, especially

if you look for the places the locals are eating at.

Read More

By Bruno

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2004

Best 5 star in Barcelona

Best location in town. Stayed in one of their just newly renovated suite with my wife. Soooo spacious. Great rooftop pool with panoramic view over the city. Worth the price

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2003

Best 5 star in Barcelona

Had the greatest experience. Large rooms, unbelievable food; great staff and location is unbeatable. Definitely a must. Try the Drolma Restaurant, worth it for romantic dinner. Swimmingpool on the roof offering widest view of city

By Bengt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2003

Greatest place in Barca

I use to stay in a corner suite and it's just great. I have also used a junior suite and it's clealy above average. The location is the best in Barcelona - just a few blocks from Placa Catalunia. I will return - again and again. Promise.

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2002

Great location, paper-thin walls

The Majestic is a nice hotel if your neighbors are very quiet. At 5AM, one night last week, my neighbor, was on the phone. He was American and his every word was discernable right through the wall. I later heard him zipping up his bags. I'm from NYC--believe me, this was a noisy room. Otherwise, it's a nice hotel in a great location. The front desk staff is helpful but often very busy so service can be hurried (though not brusque). One person at the

front desk was very helpful with dinner reservations (there is no concierge). The top floor houses a gym, steam room, and a small outdoor pool with great views.

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2002

Rooms aren't great

The location is great, the overall feel of the hotel is wonderful but the rooms are small, poorly lit and have terrible views. We've stayed at many first rate hotels but because of the original room we were assigned, I wouldn't count this as one of them. We upgraded to a junior suite, which was a great room, but the average rooms are well below average. The breakfast room is staffed by busy, rude waiters - not the usual warm service we had come

to appreciate in the rest of Spain. We've always loved the Fodor's choice hotels - this is the first time we haven't agreed.

Read More

By Pamela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2002

Lovely Junior/Executive Suites

Our family of 6 stayed in 2 junior suites for 4 nights between Christmas and New Years of 2001.Each suite had a large bedroom and sitting/living room. The bathrooms were spacious and modern with marble floors, thick robes, and jacuzi's plus, great showers. All very first class. Our rooms were in the old part of the hotel with french doors that opened up onto a small balcony. There was no problem with the heating system and our beds were all fine.

The price too was quite reasonable for a hotel of this caliber(Approx. $240). Location is great with Gaudi buildings very nearby. We would definitely stay there again.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2002

Winter Heat

We chose the Majestic partly on the basis of reviews on this page. We stayed for seven nights over the holidays at a Winter special rate of 168 Euros. It is truly the best location in the city, and the building itself, including the roof deck, is wonderful. Our room was in the original section, somewhat small but acceptable. Two complaints: the beds are rock hard, and the building can get stifling hot. The air conditioner is turned off in the

Winter, and there is no fan-only setting, so there is no way to cool the room except by opening the balcony door. However, you can't sleep with the door open because of the noise. (With the door closed, the soundproofing is very good considering the location of the hotel.) We were up every night throwing off the covers and gasping for water. We think that a hotel of this caliber should have a climate system that allows the guest to set the temperature regardless of the season.

Read More

By jayne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 3, 2001

Oasis in the city

Being a very chaotic city, the Majestic was a wonderful oasis providing superb service, a rooftop pool with beautiful vista, and elegant, clean, comfy rooms. The location is perfect -- close to shopping, Gaudi sights, and within a mile or so of La Rambla & Cathedral. Our luggage was lost at the airport, and the hotel helped locate and deliver directly to our rooms. Definitely a smaller boutique feel to this hotel.

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2001

Great Location; Small Rooms

Spent three nights at the Majestic and found the location to be unbeatable. It is right on the main drag for shopping and one block from casa mila, one of the bus turistic bus stop. Hotel Clais is one block away but did not get a chance to check it out. Make sure to check out the view from the roof. Unbeatable panorama of the skyline!!! Can't think of a more romantic spot for sunset. The service is good and efficient. The rooms are a bit tiny

but the great location makes up for it.

Read More

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2001

Top spot

The location is superb. The great neighborhood has Gaudi architecture and wonderful shops. The metro stop is right there and also is a train stop for trips to Sitges and Figueres. The hotel very nice in all respects. I am about to return and stay there again.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement