Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Hotels

Hotel Arts

  • Calle de la Marina 19–21 Map It
  • Design
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Excellent views over Barcelona
  • Impeccable service
  • Fine restaurants
  • Minutes from the beach
  • Family-friendly

Cons

  • A 20-minute hike, at least, from central Barcelona
  • Hard on the budget

Updated 03/10/2014

Fodor's Review

This luxurious Ritz-Carlton–owned, 44-story skyscraper overlooks Barcelona from the Olympic Port, providing stunning views of the Mediterranean, the city, the Sagrada Familia, and the mountains beyond. True to its name, fine art—from Chillida drawings to Susana Solano sculptures—hangs everywhere. Rooms are equally glamorous, decorated in contrasting beige and dark-wood accents and stocked with Acqua di Parma toiletries. On the Club floors, a "Cava concierge" dispenses

complimentary flutes of bubbly every afternoon. The apocalyptically pricey apartments have a private elevator, separate reception desk, and butler service—and fully equipped kitchens where you can have the hotel's chefs prepare your meals en suite. Sergi Arola's tapas restaurant is a chic, postmodern culinary playground; Paco Pérez's starred Enoteca is the hotel's excellent flagship dining room.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Calle de la Marina 19–21, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08005, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-221–1000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 365 rooms, 44 suites, 28 apartments
  • No meals

Updated 03/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2004

LUXURY AT ITS BEST

Booking a room on the Ritz-Carlton Club level is a must. Rooms are large and views from this 33 floor building turn the trip into a dream ! Service is impeccable and nothing to change. This hotel is just fantastic

By Isaac

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2004

Gorgeous Spectacle

Every Hotel has advantages and disadvantages... here are both. To begin with the negative: We arrived after a very long flight and were made to wait over 2 hours for our room. Service at the concierge level or Club Level kind of slow at first. The room was decent- could of been any hotel in the world- you would not know you were in Barcelona- No Barcelona guide books in the room, nor magazines, etc... The room was nice and comfortable... Dust

particles attached to the ceiling around the air conditioning vent area- this was never cleaned during our 8 night stay. We ordered additionnal toilettries and the basket had food particles on its bottom. The hotel sells itself as being a 10 minute walk from the center of town- simple not true unless you get dropped off by a helicopter. To walk to the Columbus monumnet- you need at least 20 minutes. Then another 10 minute to start the Ramblas area; 30 additional minutes to get to the "Pasage de Gracia". Other than that- great. Pool area was very nice and beautiful. Room service was on time and great. Concierge were very helpfull and if you happen to stay at the Club Floor- it is also great and serves it purpose. I understand it is the very best Barcelona has to offer and would not hesitate to stay there once again. It was a pleasure dealing with such a young, attentive and eager to please staff.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2004

Best Hotel in Europe

I work for a luxury hotel and travel frequently and I have to say that this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The rooms are the largest in Europe with state-of-the-art amenities. There isn't a bad view from any room. It's on the beach but you won't want to leave the pool. The restaurants are excellent as is the bar. The staff is superb and they make you feel as though you are their only guest. Off peak, the hotel is a steal. If you're

going to splurge in Europe, make sure it's here.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2003

Barcelona's Best

Splurge to stay and enjoy the beautiful, well-appointed, simplistic and modern rooms with great views. Staff works diligently and smoothly to make everything perfect. We felt we could walk easily to all of Barcelona's sights and enjoyed being on the marina. The floral arrangements in the hotel lobby are unique are truly inspired. We will certainly return.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2003

Fantastic View but Clubs at Marina Noisy

The Arts Hotel is everything you expect from a 5 star hotel, however the noise from the nightclubs behind the hotel and in front of the Marina are a nightmare. There is loud thumping disco music all night long and we were on the 25th floor and still heard it. On a side note, the Tapas bar west of the hotel is very good and a good value if you sit at the bar. Just be prepared for the cheap cigarette smoke all around you.

By Yvette

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2002

Great Choice!

My family and I recently stayed at the Hotel Arts and really enjoyed our stay. It was everything I had expected. Staying adjacent to the Mediterranean is a pleasant relief after a day in a hectic city. However, I do have to say that at times you do get the feel that you are staying at a convention facility. The concierge sevice is excellent, so I would suggest checking in with them when you arrive and talk about recommendations, excursions, etc.,

The train staion was approximately 15 minutes away by cab.

Read More

By Rafael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2002

The best

Only, the bar of Ritz Carlton at Boston offers better service. The suite is absolutely superb. The bath is a dream. Consierges are firs quality. Breakfasts incomparables. Service marvelous and discret. The best.

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2002

Big Marble Showers and a Pool with a Mediterranean view!

Maybe it was the Mediterranean air or the honeymoon, but I think the Hotel Arts was terrific. We had a suite with a marble bathroom, great view, and plenty of Cava! Overall it was a nice combination of modern amenities and style. The hotel resturant was very good and we spend a day by the pool ordering drinks and food and the bill was surprisingly low.

By Rahul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2002

Great hotel in a wonderful city!!!

Don't bother wasting your time searching for a hotel. Ritz-Carlton, called Hotel Arts, is the obvious choice. It has the elegant charm of all Ritz hotels and offers excellent service. We had a regular deluxe room. It was really spacious, had B&O music system and TV, centralized controls for lights & shades by the bed-side, huge bathroom and a separate vanity area. We were on the second floor but didn't find it noisy! The hotel also offers free overnight

shoe shining service. Not a big deal for some but I love it!!! Another big point for me is the gym. The hotel's gym is very good and has an excellent range of equipment and free weights. I can't recall in exact detail but I think there were 8 treadmills and steppers in total. There are separate workout machines for different body parts and dumbells up to 50lbs. A big plus - IT'S OPEN 24 HOURS!!! We ate at Gayoneas (can't recall the exact name!), one of the hotel restaurants on Sunday night. The food and service was exceptional. Try the Spanish sausage in cider and ham croquette appetizers. You'll love them. The other restaurants also got excellent reviews from other guests but we didn't get a chance to form our own opinion. The concierge service is amazing! Alex was our guide for restaurants, bars and clubs in Barcelona. All his recommendations were on the mark! I don't mind sharing some of them with you.. RESTAURANTS - Altantic, Tenario BARS - Bucaro, Mirabe, Mirablau Clubs - Rosebud, Otto Zutz (clubs get going after 3am) There also are lots of bars and restaurants next to the beach. We went out for a wonderful walk on Sunday afternoon. It's a fun, lively area. I also noticed a bar called Coyote Ugly in the area. There's a nice casino next door to the hotel. We didn't go there. So, I don't have an opinion on it.

Read More

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2001

nice location dodgy service

Best possible location on waterfront with many restauarants and bars with minutes walk. Atmosphere not hugely relaxing, pool crowded in afternoon, tapas bar fun [sit on balcony and watch world go by] but other restaurants and room service overpriced and unremarkable. Service mixed..could not have been more heplful in finding us a 24hr optician when my partner lost glasses but were on another occassion unintersted in resolving about a major pipe leak

in the room.

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2001

Pricey, but a good choice

Rooms are large and well appointed. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We liked the location of the Hotel; near to the Beach and not in the center of town, but a close metro or taxi ride to places likes the Ramblas. This Hotel is expensive, but worth a visit.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2001

I will be back there

I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Arts on Christmas eve with a couple of other officers from out ship which was fortunate to be inport Barcelona for X-Mas and New Years. It was a wonderful hotel. The staff was very pleasant and even went out of their way to open the "Goyescas" restaurant so we could have a Christmas toast at midnight. I could not believe the hospitality. I was back again in February and I will be back again once more with my

wife. I highly reccomend it. Especially in the off season, you will be getting a lot for your money.

Read More

By Angel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2001

Wonderful Hotel!

We stayed on the club level and had a fabulous experience. Service was superb, excellent food, beautiful views, huge room - it was worth every penny!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement