Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Hotels

Hotel Granvía

  • Gran Via 642 Map It
  • Practical Base

Pros

  • Strategic location, only a 15-minute walk from the Gothic Quarter
  • Excellent value for price

Cons

  • No pool, gym or spa
  • No pets
  • Most standard rooms have twin beds pushed together, rather than doubles

Updated 03/10/2014

Fodor's Review

A 19th-century palatial home, with an an art deco cupola in the entrance and a marble grand staircase, the Granvía dates as a hotel to 1935. The hotel combines its Moderniste public spaces with guest rooms of a more subdued Regency-style decor in soothing tones of white and beige. Best rooms in the house overlook the spacious garden patio in back, on the ground floor; rooms facing the heavily trafficked Gran Via can be noisy.

Hotel Information

Address:

Gran Via 642, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08007, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-318–1900

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 51 rooms, 7 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2006

Bad Dream at the Gran via

This was, by far, the most depressing experience we had on our 7 city visit in Spain. I was blown away by the quality, charm and service at all of the many beautiful hotels we stayed in until we encountered this dismal place. I actually awoke in the night feeling like I was having a nightmare. Terrible beds, depressing decor and a "scarry" staff. We left the following morning and checked into a less expensive but much nicer hotel on La Rambla. Avoid

this one!

Read More

By Ruth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2006

Great location, charming stairways, great breakfast

While the rooms were somewhat austere, they were pleasant, clean, and fairly quiet--if you aren't on the Gran Via. Breakfast was terrific in a lovely room. Free internet, great location

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2003

"Mr. Sunshine" desk clerk was a pain

Spent three days at Gran Via over Thanksgiving 2003. Rooms in rear are larger on the corners and much quieter than front rooms. It is a bit worn but clean. Rooms were exceptionaly large for Europe. Gran Via is a main street and I couldn't imagine trying to sleep in a room facing the street. We booked a couple of weeks in advance via emails and faxes. We corresponded with Carlos and met him the first night. He is one of the desk clerks. He

was lots of help in getting us our bearings of the city. His English was excellent. The next day he was gone and there was another desk clerk in his early 50's and he had an attitude. No help with questions, short with answers and very rude. I'm 6'0 200 lbs. and I wanted to reach over and try and adjust his attitude. He smarted off too two very nice ladies and that's when I heard one say "well aren't you Mr. Sunshine" It was pretty funny. The hotel did have some charm to it. Book in advance and let them know your shopping or better yet quote them a competitors price and you'll do well on the price.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2002

old fashioned charm -- at yesterday's prices

A very good mid budget hotel. Belle Epoque communal areas and rooms. If you are on a budget, ask for a room with a large balcony/terrace at the back -- it makes all the difference. Lovely, large courtyard garden. Helpful staff.

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2002

A Real Steal in Barcelona

Our stay at the Gran Via was very enjoyable. The hotel decor is just beautiful with gorgeous common rooms. Our room with it's wood floors and high ceilings was charming, roomy and comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location can't be beat as we walked almost everywhere. There are great restaurants nearby and excellent shopping (I had a leather coat made at Joaquin Ruiz two doors down from the hotel). We'd stay here again in

a heartbeat.

Read More

By Dennis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2001

Gran Via - The Personnel Are 5 Star

A great hotel with an outstanding location. The rooms are small but nicely appointed. Best of all - the employees are absolutely outstanding and friendly. An excellent value!

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2000

Great value & location

Make sure you get one of the "larger" rooms that face the Gran Via or rooms on 2nd flr that have balconies that face the terrace. It's location is really superb. Between Gothic Quarter and Eixample.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement