Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Hotels

Condes de Barcelona

Pros

  • Elegant Moderniste building with subdued contemporary furnishings
  • Prime spot in the middle of the Eixample

Cons

  • No spa
  • Substantial surcharge (€45) for pets
  • Restaurant Lasarte difficult to book

Updated 03/10/2014

Fodor's Review

One of Barcelona's most popular hotels, the Condes de Barcelona is perfectly placed for exploring the sights (and shops) of the city's most fashionable quarter, and—for the priveleged location—offers exception value. The building dates to 1891; the columns and courtyard are original. Rooms are decorated in contemporary neutral tones, with hardwood floors; superior doubles have CD players, espresso machines, huge keyhole-shaped baths and multi-jet shower cabinets. The

newest rooms have hot tubs and terraces overlooking interior gardens. An affiliated fitness club around the corner offers golf, squash, and swimming. Chef Martín Berasategui's two restaurants, Lasarte and Loidi, are among Barcelona's most sought-after dining spots. Reserve rooms well in advance—demand is high, and early reservations score bargain rates.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Passeig de Gràcia 73-75, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08008, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-4674780

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 125 rooms, 1 suite
  • No meals

Updated 03/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By nora

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2004

Great hotel - close to it all!

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was small but very nice. And the room was quiet, even though we were on the second floor. The staff was particularly helpful.

By Howard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 7, 2004

No question I'd use this hotel again

As a Brit it may be that my standards/expectations of hotels are not so demanding as those of North American contributors here. However we asked for, and got, two rooms sharing a common lobby area (one for us and one for the kids). The rooms were fine, comfortable and quiet (given that they both faced onto the Passeig de Gracia). The only time the outside world intruded was when a waiter from the restaurant next door spent 45 minutes one morning

(only) at 6am putting out tables and chairs for the morning breakfast rush. But hey, this is Barcelona. Noise and bustle are part of its immense charm (though we would have happily shot the guy at the time). I would go back and stay in the same room without any hesitation. If you are there in the football season (autumn, winter, spring) get along to the Nou Camp stadium to watch Barcelona play football (soccer)- a quite incredible football experience. The desk staff helped me get tickets - top marks to them.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2003

Great location, but noisy!

We stayed at Condes de Barcelona for five nights during the first week of October 2003. The room was very pleasant, though not particularly large (we payed Euro225/night, booked months in advance on hotels.com). The bathroom was large and elegant, but unfortunately we had to ask housekeeping for a shower curtain that didn't have mildew around the bottom. The bed was very comfortable, but there wasn't much storage space for two large suitcases.

The location was excellent, just one block off Las Rambla, and plenty of excellent restaurants and shopping nearby, most with menus in English. There are two Metro stations within five minutes walking distance, which made getting anywhere in the city easy. The hotel is on a very busy intersection, and thus the traffic noise was quite loud until about 2:00 AM. The final night we were there was a Saturday, and there was a party going on at the sidewalk cafe right below our 4th floor room, which sounded like it was in our closet. We didn't sleep that night, as the party didn't end until well after 2:00, and we had to depart for the airport at 6:00. The staff was friendly enough, but didn't go out of their way for us. Overall, a great location, but the small-ish room size and noise level make the price a little steep. Bear in mind that we had just stayed four nights at the Jardins de Recoletos in Madrid, which was spacious, deathly quiet, and significantly less expensive, before arriving in Barcelona (see our review for Jardins de Recoletos).

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2003

Great hotel and great location

We stayed here in early May, 2003. Great location on the Paseo De Gracia and it is an easy walk to everything. Friendly and helpful staff. Really not that expensive considering the nice room and location. We had a standard room that was huge. There are probably 15 nice places to eat within 3 or 4 blocks (Starbucks up one block when you get homesick). Safe area (we were out most nights until after midnite).

By Amanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2003

cheese ice-cream!

Strange but delicious ! Served in the great downstairs resturant. Standard double room quite large with tiny terrace. Pool and sun terrace tiny but nobody used it when we were there bar us - good views of La Pedrera which is opposite hotel. 10 mins walk to Ramblas so great location. Am planning to go back again this sept so obviously like it !

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2002

Barcelona's best location

While our room was a bit on the small side (all executive rooms were booked), it was quite comfortable and nicely decorated with typical Barcelonan sophistication. We had a large terrace overlooking the internal courtyard. THe lobby is small, but nicely decorated ina minimialist style, with an equisite staircase (featured photos of it in some of the guidebooks). We stayed in the original building and did not get over to the newer one accross the

street. The staff was pleasant, professional and accomodating. The asociated health club was steps away around the corner--1st day they gave us a free workout, $15 for each 2 workouts thereafter--we walked a ot so only worked out sproadically over the 12 day stay. The location of this hotel could not have been better--it is walking distance to almost all attractions in the city, and is in the heart of the Eixample's chic nightlife and daytime upscale shopping. The roofdeck garden (with a direct view of La Pedrara)is quite a nice respite between your daytime and evening forays. Highly recommend it for the price.

Read More

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2002

Sleepless Nights

I stayed here in May of 2001. I found the rooms to be modern looking but clean. But what I did hear before is that the hotel is located directly above the tube which I could hear at night since I was on the first floor. Yes, you do have a tube stop right outside the hotel but it is also right beneath you too. The staff was friendly but not helpful. I would not go back.

By Shelley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 20, 2002

Beautiful architecture and excellent location

We stayed at the Condes de Barcelona on two separate occassions. The first time was in the building with the lovely winding staircase in a lovely spacious elegant room. However, when we checked in the second time, we had to go across the street and stay in a smaller room at a higher room rate. Quite disappointing. Front desk staff seemed courteous to male guests in business suits, but were short and curt with our enquiries.

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2001

The Perfect Hotel

We loved this hotel. It's location on in Barcelona's beautiful Eixample is excellent. The lovely room, decorated in neutral shades and warm wood, was spacious, as was the elegant bathroom. We had a balcony right on the Passeig de Gracia and a view of Casa Mila. Despite being on a noisy, although attractive, thoroughfare, the windows/doors provided excellent sound proofing, so that we could hear nothing outside of our room. Air conditioning during

our very hot stay was terrific. The room and hotel provided every amenity we could have asked for. When we return to Barcelona, we will not consider staying anywhere else.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2001

Great location

Our room was good sized, pleasant and clean. We overlooked the back courtyard, so it was very quiet. You can't ask for a better location - within walking distance to everything. There was no gym as Fodors states, however.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2001

Perfect cap on our honeymoon

We loved this hotel. Excellent location. Great room. Very solid service. We spent our honeymoon in Spain in October of 2000, finishing in Barcelona at the Condes de Barcelona. I fell in love with the city and I would stay at this hotel again if at all possible.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2000

Loved It!!!

We had a HUGE suite and really loved it! The room was simply spectacular and the bathroom was tremendous. I didn't want to leave. AND the price was incredible. I will most certainly stay there again. Rooms are much nicer than Hotel Arts, in my opinion.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement