Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Hotels

Colón

Pros

  • Walking distance from all of central Barcelona
  • Pet-friendly
  • Attentive staff

Cons

  • Can feel a bid stodgy
  • Pricey breakfast
  • Undistinguished dining

Updated 03/10/2014

Fodor's Review

The Colón opened in 1951, and feels like it's been around forever: quiet, conservative, correct. The lobby tells you what's in store: the antique upright clock, the salmon walls and marble floors and walnut trim, the discretely separated suites of comfy chairs and sofas in flocked upholstery, the hotel coat of arms on the curtains. It's the sort of place you'd take your grandmother for dinner. (The food, alas, is unmemorable.) But the Colón is suprisingly reasonable for what and where it is, and the location is ideal—providing you can book a room with a balcony, overlooking the Cathedral square. Illuminated at night, the Catedral de la Seu is spectacular. On weekends, there's sardana dancing in the square, on Thursday an antique market. Small wonder it was Miró's favorite hotel.

Hotel Information

Address:

Av. Catedral 7, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08002, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-301–1404

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 15 singles, 121 doubles, 5 suites
  • No meals

Updated 03/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

loved it

They say to get a room facing the Cathedral, but we were on the other side and had an adorable terrace with a retractable awning, it was very cute and the service was fabulous. It also had a jetted tub. Great location we walked to La Rambla and to the beach, although it was a bit of hike to the beach

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2012

Great Hotel Close to Cruise Terminal

This past July we took a cruise that departed from Barcelona. There were three of us and a lot of luggage. We were delighted that Hotel Colon was so cloe to the terminal and had plenty of closet space for all our clothing. The location is ideal for walking most places and has a submway station very closeby. We stopped every evening for a nightcap at their outdoor cafe on the Cathedral square. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2011

Colón Review

With so many excellent reviews across the sites, I would also like to recommend this hotel check out http://getroomz.com/main/UShotels/Catalonia/Barcelona/Hotel_Regencia_Colon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 13, 2010

Hotel Colón Review

Great Hotel and Good trip!

By sgreif

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Apr 17, 2010

Hotel Colón Review

Great location near the cathedral, nice staff and free internet. Sound of the bells was not an issue, and within walking distance of La Rambla and other sights. However, configuration of the bathrooms made the use of some of the facilities uncomfortable

By Jackie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2006

Fabulous location

Had been to Barcelona before an stayed by La Ramblas. Absolutely loved this location. In a quaint square where you are centrally located by all. The hotel was charming. The rooms needed to be redone. Not a 4 star rating. The staff was less than accomodating. I was told to call the airport on my own. The phones were in spanish could not understand how to operate. Not 4 star rating in my book. I would give this hotel a 3 star rating. The location compensates

for everything. Be extremely careful of the gypsies in the location. Someone had been mugged at the cafe restaurant outside and the front desk would not call the police. I do believe that the cafe should have informed women to be protective of their purses.

Read More

By Russ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2006

Great Hotel, Great location

The room was delightful. Had a Jr Suite overlooking the Cathedral and the Plaza below. The room was decorated very well, modern and up to date. Room was very clean and well maintained. The location was outstanding and made it easy to walk out the front door and find things to do and see. Street entertainers were great fun. The restaurant was outstanding, breakfast was acceptable. The 15 minute chimes and the 1 hour chimes did not wake us up

until 4 in the morning when we closed the door to the veranda. The front desk was very helpful, arranging a private tour to Montserrat, information about the city, converting USD to Euros. Would stay there again.

Read More

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2005

Location-location-location says it all.

Reserve a room with a view of the Cathedral. It is worth the few extra euros. The front desk is multi lingual as well as friendly, informative and accomodating. The restaurant is delicious and the service superb.

By Tricia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2005

Great rooms in an amazing area

Hotel Colon shares a court yard wtih the Cathedral- one of the must see sights and is about a 2 minute (or less) walk to Las Ramblas. Daily local catalonians gather to dance, sing and play music in the court yard, which is amazing. Spacious rooms, an excellant bathroom, elevators and the works. Also, a great price.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 3, 2004

Scaffolding, anyone?

The Hotel Colon is in the perfect location, in the middle of the Gothic Quarter. It is an easy walk to numerous restaurants, attractions, and the main shopping district. We splurged for a view of the cathedral. Unfortunately, the cathedral is covered from head to toe in scaffolding (as of September 2004) and is not lit at night. The room was very nice but I wouldn't recommend paying the extra for a cathedral view unless you are sure the restoration

is complete.

Read More

By R

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2004

Location, Location, Location

Spent a few nights at the quaint Hotel Colon in March. I found our room to be rather old-fashioned and matronly, but it was comfortable. The absolute #1 reason to stay here is the location across the large square from the Barcelona Cathedral. The location is unbeatable -- great for walking the Gothic Quarter but also close to the Metro. One of my best memories of the trip is Sunday people watching in the square as circles of Catalonians danced

the Sardana in front of the Cathedral.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2004

Great view and location. Fair value ?

Charming hotel which charges a premium for view and location which can't be beat, although you must pay a premium for a cathedral view. Does not have some of the ammenities of a more modern 4*. Unfortunately, the facade was covered during out stay due to restoration, an occupational hazzard in traveling europe, but that certainly took a little of the bloom off the bud. Service is good. Sister hotel off of back of hotel is much cheaper. Looks

like a '50s communist apartment block, but offers the same location.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 25, 2004

Would stay again

Room was well appointed and nicely sized. Front desk persons were helpful and spoke very good English. Location is top and many things to do within walking distance. Ask for a room that overlooks the cathedral. Booked room on Orbitz. Got a good rate and no problems with reservation.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 25, 2002

Location, Location, Location

Ideal location in the middle of the action. Stay during the 2nd week of December was good. Large Xmas market in front of hotel. Room was OK but the heating system took some time to beat into shape. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. If ever we go back to Barcelona we would return.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2002

Great location; average room

The rooms were simply OK (especially by American standards)... decent size, acceptable cleanliness, but tiny towels in bathroom, a bit dreary inside; seemed in need of updating. The location/price must be what makes this hotel a favorite. The price was reasonable, and the location was very good. You can walk to Las Ramblas and a lot of tourist sites (cathedrals, museums, etc.). The plaza at night was beautiful, with the cathedral lit up.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2001

IF YOU LIKE A HOSPITAL ROOM, YOU'LL LOVE THE COLON

Just wanted to warn you all about the Hotel Colon. Having taken Fodor's advice, I booked 2 rooms at this hotel. When I checked in, I was shown rooms which were not only small, dark, and noisy, but were dirty and had torn carpets and peeling paint. I returned to the front desk and asked to be changed to different rooms. The bellman (who sympathized with me about the "dirty rooms"--his words) showed me 2 other rooms, which were clean (although

one smelled heavily of varnish). The manager on duty, Daniel, told me I would have to pay an additional $40 US for the clean rooms, bringing the rate for a single room up to $145 or double for $250. This seemed quite high to me, so I called the Le Meridian and booked rooms there (at a lower rate, I might add). George, the Colon's ungracious manager, presented me with a bill for the call...70 pesetas (about 40 cents) and made a big production of it. I paid the bill, left the Colon, and had a great stay at the LeMeridian. It was everything the Colon was not--clean, comfortable, spacious, and with a friendly and professional staff.

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2001

GREAT LOCATION

Great location, across from the beautiful cathedral and right in the middle of the Barrio Gotico. Loved the unique stores around this area. The plaza between the cathedral and the hotel is always crowded with tourists and street performers, didn't mind the noise, I didn't travel to Spain to sleep

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2001

No Double Beds

We honeymooned here and enjoyed our stay very much. We especially liked the cafe for breakfast. The location can't be beat, but be forewarned, the rooms overlooking the Cathedral only have twin beds (or at least that is what we were told). Not what you want to find out on your honeymoon!

By Jeanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2001

Bar needs improving

Pretty much agree with Michele from NJ. We had a lovely large room and found the conceriege most helpful. Our main criticism is the bar. No complimentary snacks as we found elsewhere in Spain, not even a peanut (which they charged excessive prices for)the drinks were small and the waiters impersonal.

By Dianne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2001

Staff couldn't care less about customers.

My purse was stolen right in the outside cafe at noontime. I was harassed by someone banging me on my shoulder for a long time until I finally stood up to call the Manager at which time, an accomplice took my purse. The hotel staff stood around and watched the harassment and the theft offering no help whatsoever.

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2000

Great locaton, Great atmosphere, No Soundproofing!

Rooms were nice and the location is excellent. The cathedral view is beautiful BUT on a Saturday night when there is a festival, the windows bearly cut down the noise. The noise in your room, lasting past 2:00AM, can get so loud, earplugs don't help. The windows in the lobby are soundproof - the rooms are not. The front desk staff is not as friendly or personalble as Fodors says.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement