Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Hotels

Claris

  • Carrer Pau Claris 150 Map It
  • Grande Dame
  • Fodor's Choice
  • Hotel Claris Façade

  • Suite Room

  • Claris Terrace

  • La Terraza del Claris Restaurant

  • Claris Interior

  • East 47 Tapas Bar

  • Claris Terrace

  • Executive Bathroom

  • Claris Restaurant

  • Claris Pool

  • Enter photo credit

  • Claris Lobby

  • Junior Suite Room

Pros

  • Elegant service and furnishings
  • Central location for shopping and Moderniste sightseeing
  • Spot-on friendly service

Cons

  • Bathrooms are designer chic but a bit cramped
  • No spa

Updated 03/10/2014

Fodor's Review

Acclaimed as one of Barcelona's best hotels, the Claris is an artful icon of design and tradition, as is evident from the building itself: the glass-and-steel upper floors seem to have sprouted from the 19th-century town house below. The lobby is a welcoming, uncluttered space, in marble and brown leather, with a Japanese water garden for that extra touch of tranquillity. Every room has a different decor, some with restored 18th-century English furniture, some with contemporary

furnishings from Barcelona's playful legion of designers, and each with an accent piece or two from the owner's remarkable collection of Classical and Oriental antiquities. (Spend a fraction more, and book one of the wonderful duplex semisuites—especiallly No. 204.) Junior suites have stone sinks, jacuzzi baths, and showers with huge cascade fixtures. The rooftop terrace has a first-rate restaurant, la Terraza, and a pool you can actually swim in.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Carrer Pau Claris 150, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08009, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-487–6262

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 82 rooms, 42 suites
  • No meals

Updated 03/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 12, 2008

Great Location, Breakfast and Room Size

We spent 7 nights at the Hotel Claris and we were very satisfied with the Hotel's location, breakfast buffet and room. We originally had booked the junior suite with a view, however, when we arrived we were informed that the junior suites do not have a view of the city and after seeing the tiny bedroom of the junior suite we opted to go with the standard room. Our room was a corner room with a great view. The maid service was adequate they do not

like to dust, however, the bedding was always fresh. Definitely, book online and get the breakfast buffet. The Claris is in an excellent location. Enjoy your stay, we did.

Read More

By rik1000

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2007

BIG DISAPPOINTMENT

Could not fit our suitcases in the Claris' "Junior Suite". When we questioned management on the size of the suite, they said, "space in the heart of Barcelona is at a premium". We caught on after three different people used the same sentence. The free bottle of wine did not do it. NEVER AGAIN.

By sequess

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2007

Lovely hotel in excellent location

We stayed at the Claris for 2 nights recently and found it quite nice. Our room was comfortable and well-equipped. We were given a mini-bottle of wine as a welcome gift. The staff was very professional and helpful. The location is great for upscale shopping and seeing the Gaudi buildings plus it's a pleasant 10-15 minute walk to La Ramblas.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2006

The Guy Next Door Was Busy!

I stayed at the Claris in February of 06. We had a Junior Suite and really liked having the upstairs lounge w/TV and couches. The staff was very friendsly and acoomodating and the food at East 47 was amazing! All truffle themed courses. Drawbacks: The walls are thin and we heard the next door guest come home late, drunk and loud at $250 a night I don't expect to hear others. Also, the concierge was not knoweledgeable about local day trip sights.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2004

Christmas Surprise

My wife and I used the ratings here and from Frommers to book this hotel. The location is great and the rooms/lobby are quite nice. We were fortunate to be there during Christmas when the hotel was much less than full and was given a junior suite for the same price as a double. While the junion suites are exactly large, it was quite nice - and for $140 euros was a bargain given the location and facility.

By mm

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 16, 2003

Very uncomfortable!!

One of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in!! The mattress had springs poking through and looked like it was left over from your grandmother's house, and there wasn't even a mattress pad to help. The sheets were course and scratchy, so bad that I had to sleep in my bathrobe to stop the itching. The design of the hotel itself is outstanding, but the suite was sparse (only three hangers in the one small closet)and not at all comfortable.

And so much for the sound proofing-- I could hear the entire telephone conversation of the kids next door, as well as every word of the couple arguing on the other side. All in all, very disappointing. The service was very good, but just could not make up for the rest. We left the 2nd night and went down the block to the Majestic and were so much happier!!

Read More

By Julian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2003

Cool and comfortable.

Only the facade is old: cool blend of modern design with a few antiques thrown in, the hotel is a stunning spotless mix of marble, wood, tile, steel, glass. Room size a little over average, nice built-ins, bed just a tad soft. Real linen bed linens and quickly got a down/ feather pillow to boot. Nice size, double sink, marble bathroom, but the shower head (strong) could have been a little higher and angled better for this tall (5 ft 9....the Catalans

are short) American. Vestibule with double door keeps out hallway noise and insulated, internally shaded window does pretty good job with street traffic, great job with daylight. Free shoeshine service left them looking new. Service was proper (got a smile...the Spaniards don't smile, acknowledge tips or say thank you when in a service role). Didn't 'get' the big black doorman in the big white suit who never held the door for us! Too cool to pool, but rooftop looks nice. Basic aerobic equipment in the "gym". Late fall good deal on Derby's website just wish the dollar wasn't at an all time low. Great location: overall very highly recommended.

Read More

By Lance

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2003

Attractive, but the good things end there

We tried to see past the little things, but our stay just went from bad to worse. Lots of street noise in our first room, then moved but had just as much noise from the room next door. Second room smelled like sewage and after calling the desk no one did anything to fix it and never called us back. Room service took forever. Pool chairs were broken. Weak air con. No iron or clock. Front desk not responsive to problems. I might have forgiven

a cheap hotel, but the service at Claris is just too bad for this price range.

Read More

By mark

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 28, 2002

Decided to Splurge

Barcelona was my last Iberian city so I decided to splurge. The hotel isn't much to look at from the street, but the interior is quite nice. The room was a split level suite, with double windows that had an additonal sun shield that made the room absolutely dark and quiet. A very restful sleep. Lobby staff was a bit aloof, but the room service and the wait staff was very attentave and polite. I don't know if it was worth the 300 euros/night,

but I enjoyed my stay. Note: this is a good hotel to stay at if you plan to do shopping, the surrounding area lacks the energy that you find near the water...

Read More

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2001

nice stay

hi, i enjoyed a 2 week stay at the Claris. very good hotel and excellent location. they had a delicious buffet breakfast that was included with our room.

By Britt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 9, 2000

Thrilled with the Claris

I stayed here last week on part of a 4 city business trip through Europe. I just loved this hotel. Charming decor, terrific room, excellent service. What a great place to stay! And cheap too...

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2000

Antiques what Antiques ?

I have stayed 3 times at the Claris, I go to Barcelona a lot so I have often stayed at other hotels. The Egyptian exhibition has moved out of the hotel. There are really no antiques to speak of in the rooms , a couple of cheap repros and prints. Still the location is excellent, facilities for business a little limited. The food and service are excellent and the commom parts great. If you like the sea as well try the Ritz-Carlton or for the business

centre the Ritz or Condes de Barcelona.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement