Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Hotels

Avenida Palace

  • Gran Via 605–607 Map It
  • Grande Dame

Pros

  • Prime location
  • Excellent soundproofing
  • Connected with most major airline mileage plans

Cons

  • Not for fans of minimalism or cutting-edge design
  • Service can be a bit snooty

Updated 03/10/2014

Fodor's Review

A minute's walk from Plaça Catalunya and the Passeig de Gràcia, this hotel earns top marks for location—and for nostalgia. Opened in 1952, the Avenida Palace is everything a luxury hotel was expected to be back in the day: weighty, ornate, serious. The sort of place you might expect to have a Winged Victory in bronze somewhere around, on a marble pedestal—and sure enough, there is one, on the landing of the grand staircase in the lobby, under the cupola. The classical

style is echoed in the guest rooms: patterned carpets, period furniture, big solid wardrobes. Bathrooms have Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. The Beatles stayed here in 1965—an event commemorated in the "Beatles Suite."

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Gran Via 605–607, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08007, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-301–9600

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 137 rooms, 14 suites
  • No meals

Updated 03/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2005

GOOD LOCATION !!!!!

I was delightfully suprized and excellent service and great positive attitude of hotel Staff. Good location

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 12, 2003

WELL LOCATED

Being one half block from Las Ramblas was great. WE ate tapas and watched the people go by. Very central to catch the tourist buses.

By Ella

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2003

Just great!

Great location and super breakfast. Would stay there again and again.

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2003

Best location in Barcelona

Not cheap (+200 Euros) but certainly not a rip-off either. Hotel staff behind the desk are reserved, but not impolite. Don’t expect them to jump out of their skin to please you; this is Barcelona, not bloody Disney World. The entire world doesn’t have the same bootlicking service culture you find in the “magic kingdom”. Rooms are very clean and well appointed. The hotel itself is beautiful and is the perfect introduction to Barcelona. The

location couldn’t be better: one block up from the famous Placa de Catalunya. Breakfast is included and should not be missed. For quick meals, try Le Nou, just south of the hotel.

Read More

By Bobbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2002

Perfect location

Excellent hotel. Plan to stay there again on our next trip to Barcelona in October.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2001

If location is EVERYTHING

I stayed here for ten days at the beginning of August. The location can't be beat (Metro, Ramblas, Pasei de Gracia within two blocks). The service was NOT impressive. Snooty grandfathers at the front desk (I am fluent in Spanish but they insisted on using broken English)or maids who don't come at all or insist on waking you at 10AM (this is one of the best party towns in the world, isn't it??). I will be looking elsewhere for my trip this week

because for the money there has to be something better in the area.

Read More

By Louis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2001

Is this the same Avenida Palace others Raved about??!!

While the location, the breakfast, and the price were right, everything else seemed to fail. First, the small room (supposedly refurbished), furnished with non-descript furniture, looked dated and worn. Second, the service was poor. For example, when I requested to borrow an iron, I waited over 30 minutes and was told "there is only 1 iron in the hotel"! Finally, there is no atmosphere. Sure, the lobby is nicely appointed but there is no nice

bar/restaurant/sitting area to enjoy the view.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2001

Great hotel

Extremely nice hotel - I'll go back there if I ever am in Barcelona again. Beautiful rooms, nice staff, wonderful location. If you have 3-4 hours to spare during the day, ask the concierge to arrange a tour of the city with Raoul. $125 for three hours and everything you want to know about the city. And what a beautiful city

By Kristin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 25, 2001

This hotel has it all!!

I just came back - April '01 from a 3 nite stay here and LOVED it. The hotel is beautiful, room spacious w/a great double sink, hairdryer, everything you need. Also the breakfast buffet was excellent. Great location too - would definitely stay here again as Barcelona was truely wonderful. I recommend this hotel highly!

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2000

You can't go wrong.

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Avenida Palace, and this hotel is simply fantastic. First off, the hotel allowed us to check in at around 8:30 a.m., hours before the normal check-in time. Then they also let us eat the complimentary breakfast, which is a wonderful buffet that is offered every morning. The room itself was fairly large, and adorned with very nice molding. The carpet was brand new and there were two sets of sturdy windows

(i.e., an interior and exterior set). The bathroom had wonderful tile and marble, two sinks, and a bidet for the adventurous. My only minor complaint is that the heat was on in the building and the only way to cool off the room was to open the windows. Consequently, because our room was over the street it was rather loud while cooling the room. Finally, the location puts you right in the heart of Barcelona. Most everything, such as the Ramblas, was just a couple of blocks in any direction, and the metro system entrance was right outside the door.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement