Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Andalusia Hotels

Las Casas de la Judería

  • Calle Santa María la Blanca 5 Map It
  • Design

Pros

  • Lovely buildings
  • Unique experience

Cons

  • Communal areas and some rooms look very tired
  • Difficult to find your way round the hotel

Updated 06/07/2014

Fodor's Review

This labyrinthine hotel occupies 24 houses and three of Santa Cruz's old palaces, each arranged around an inner courtyard with fountains, traditional tile work, and plenty of greenery, giving the impression of a self-contained village in the city center. The spacious guest rooms are painted in subdued pastels and decorated with prints of Seville; most have four-poster beds and wood beams. Breakfast is generous and includes cava (sparkling wine); the staff will also

pack you a picnic if you have to depart early in the morning. The adjoining restaurant serves Mediterranean style food.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Calle Santa María la Blanca 5, Seville, 41004, Spain

Map It

Phone:

954-415150

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 166 rooms, 12 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/07/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Andalusia

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2011

Las Casas de la Judería Review

The location and concept of the hotel are great. We were there during Holy Week 2011 for five nights. For the price, the rooms were in terrible shape. Carpets are old and dirty, furniture and draperies are literally falling apart. Bathrooms, while large, need updgrading. The bed was horrible, causing us great back pain each day. Breakfast were good. Staff are helpful and pleasant. For the money, we could have stayed at the Alfonso XIII and

been happier.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2006

thank you fodors

First class room was large spotless and staff very helpful including taking your cases all the way to the underground car park for you..peaceful surroundings in a great location

By Juan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2005

Not Bad, But Certainly Not Worth All This Fuss

Average rooms, intermittant hot water, solid-as-granite bed, great location, pretty grounds(much prettier than the average room) and average staff. You can probably get more for less nearby.

By mona

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2004

A charming Spanish gem

We just returned from this lovely hotel. What a great place! The staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was lovely and overlooked the beautiful courtyard. The location was perfect! We can't wait to return.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2003

The Best Rest in all of Spain and Portugal

My wife and I travelled all around Spain and Portugal and by far this hotel is the best we stayed at and one of the least expensive, 167 euros/night, for the size room and amenities it had. We would like to live in this hotel if it were possible. Before we chose this hotel, I read through dozens of reviews, and I have one thing to correct about some of them. Yes, it is true that you walk a bit throughout the hotel to get to your room, but you walk

through some of the most beautiful courtyards in all of Sevilla and Spain. We found the late afternoons very cool and pleasant in the courtyard where we wrote postcards. It is centrally located to EVERYTHING in Santa Cruz and has access in many streets that lead to the different areas of Sevilla. I can't speak for the other hotels in Sevilla, but I can't imagine better than this, and we've stayed at 5-star hotels in the past. This should be a 5-star hotel by any rating system.

Read More

By Meg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2003

location perfect

Stayed 2 nights- very quiet & peaceful. Were we the only guests? Perfect location -easy walking to Cathedral, shops, bars and restaurants. Attentive service. Glad we travelled by train and taxi and would hate to have to park a car!

By Bev

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 12, 2002

History Untold

This gem of a historical site does not take full advantage of it. I wanted to see plaques telling me what this room "used to be." Our room was spacious and very comfortable, a haven from the heat. The breakfast buffet is excellent - champagne everyday! The staff was very helpful in providing recommendations and other service. If this is 3-star, I think it might be due for a move to 4!

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2002

A Wonderful Bargain

We would go back here in a minute. It was a very cute hotel, full of Spanish charm and character. Although we sometimes (ok, usually) got lost trying to find our way back, it was always a welcome sight. Our room was huge, with a great, comfy bed. The patios are very pretty. The location, in the Barrio Santa Cruz, is great. However, it is very hidden and we did manage to get lost quite a bit. The staff was fine, nothing to write home about.

Best of all was the price. Our room was a bargain at only $90/night.

Read More

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2001

Disappointing

Las Casas is undeniably charming, and surely there must be some nice rooms, but ours was quite disappointing. There was one tiny window looking on to a walkway around a courtyard, which meant in practice that there was none. Plus, there was a decided odor of drains that came through the closet, the plastic key twice failed, and the front desk was brusque and disorganized. A pity, because overall the place has charm and character.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 16, 2001

In the middle of the action, yet blissfully quiet

We loved our stay at the Casa de la Juderia. It is in the middle of everything, yet is blissfully quiet and atmospheric. We opted to spend more to get a suite - a room with a living room and a loft, 2 big bathrooms $125 (exchange rate was awesome then) and we loved the place. Even if we had not opted for the suite, this hotel is still very pretty. Its location cannot be beat and I'd recommend it highly

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement