Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Moscow Hotels

Metropol

Pros

  • Superb location
  • Beautiful interiors
  • Great buffet breakfast

Cons

  • Some guest rooms need updating (renovations are ongoing)

Updated 06/18/2013

Fodor's Review

Built between 1899 and 1903, Moscow's most fabled hotel transports you back in a time—whether it's the art nouveau facade, the opulent restaurants, the guest rooms with hardwood floors topped with Oriental carpets, or the antiques-filled suites. Lenin spoke frequently in the assembly hall and David Lean filmed part of Doctor Zhivago in the restaurant, and the outstanding service and amenities carry on the tradition. The location, opposite the Bolshoi Theatre and

a five-minute walk from the Kremlin, is top-notch.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

2 pro. Teatralny, Moscow, 109012, Russia

Map It

Phone:

499-501–7800

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 363 rooms, 72 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/18/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Moscow

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2011

Metropol Review

I stayed at the Metropol with my family in July of 2011, and it really killed my experience of Moscow. My room was noisy, with the Karaoke Bar in the lobby playing throbbing music from 4:30am until 6:30am without so much as an apology from hotel management. My room was never cleaned before 4:30pm. Rooms were expensive (US$600/night for a double) and badly in need of an update (1970's era bathrooms with plastic counter tops). No amenities

in the room, not even coffee or tea. Front desk staff were rude and had no desire to please a customer. Management were just as bad. I would never recommend this place.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2007

A legend - but why?

It is huge and knackered - it reminded me of an institutional hospital, only the lunatics have been replaced by heavy expense businessmen who like a good choice of hookers in the lobby. BUT this is THE location to be in if you are visiting on holiday like we were. One big plus is the limo service to run you around town. The bill though was a shocker. I think next time we'll stay at the National.

By Hank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 9, 2004

Overpriced and Sad

I could only get a single room. At more than $300 US, I should have had more than a tiny bed, a television that did not work and completely unhelpful staff. When checking out, the hotel had only one person at the cashier despite the fact that it was the prime check out time. Four requests later --nearly a half hour -- someone finally came. I nearly missed my plane.

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2004

Completely Overrated

I love old hotels and simply do not understand the positive reviews on this one. You enter through a parking lot into a lobby that is supposed to be grand, but is not. The staff at the check in desk were some of the rudest I have ever encountered. The hallways have carpet that is threadbare in places. And while some of the larger rooms are ok, the smaller ones are simply depressing. This is a place I will never stay in again.

By enrique

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2002

very russian, very good

Very expensive, and very good. Our room was outstanding, and the public areas are very nicely decorated. History all over the place and the location is unbeatable. service is uneven, but hey! you are in russia!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2002

Not an American chain hotel!

This is a great step back in history! Maybe a little too far! The room was large and well furnished -the bathroom was obviously newly renovated and beautiful, but tiny. You could drive a truck down the corridors that seem to go forever(I truly got lost in the way to the lobby once!) This is not an american chain hotel, so try to enjoy the quirks that make it Russian! The staff is very helpful and nice, and the location could not be better unless

you were in the Kremlin with Putin!

Read More

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2002

Still the Soviet Union

The public areas are spectacular; rooms are nice, but inconsistent - be sure you get an outside room. Restaurants are A+ for food and service but make Manhattan prices seem like a developing country. Service in general was very Soviet; the security people were officious and management was unresponsive. The air-conditioning was turned off and my window was locked; I asked for it to be opened for 4 days with no result, so I sweltered and breathed

stale air for $400 per night. Next time I'll stay at one of the Marriotts.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement