Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Warsaw Hotels

Le Royal Méridien Bristol

  • Krakowskie Przedmieście 42/44 Map It
  • $$$
  • Grande Dame

Pros

  • Wonderful location
  • Classy historical hotel

Cons

  • Can feel a bit old-fashioned to some

Updated 12/17/2012

Fodor's Review

Built in 1901 by a consortium headed by Ignacy Paderewski—the concert pianist who served as Poland's prime minister from 1919 to 1920—the Bristol was long at the center of Warsaw's social life. Impressively situated on the Royal Route, next to the Pałac Namiestnikowski (Presidential Palace), the hotel survived World War II more or less intact. It continues to maintain a long tradition of luxury and elegance under the ownership of Le Méridien. Additionally, the hotel

has one of the best cafés in town—no one can resist its pastries.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Krakowskie Przedmieście 42/44, Warsaw, 00–325, Poland

Map It

Phone:

022-551–10–00

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 163 rooms, 43 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/17/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Warsaw

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2007

Don’t make reservations at this hotel !

I made a reservation for an Executive Room for my husband and myself for one night. My credit card was charged for the full amount. After an exhausting (nearly 9 hrs) trip by car, we arrived at the hotel, in the evening. We brought all our luggage in to the lobby only to find out that there was no room for us. First they tried to send us to some far away hotel, on our own, even when we told them that we were very tired and didn't know the town at

all . Then we were sent to another, closer, hotel where we were given a room to stay. The room was not the same class of accomodation, with a leaking toilet. Not, to mention very unwelcome reception from the stuff. No adjustment was offered to the deposit amount, even though we were not given an equivalent room. Actually, the only help we got from the manager of Royal Meridien , besides transfering our deposit, was to point out the general direction of the other hotel. Needless to say we will never go back or recommend Le Royal Meridien Bristol to our family or friends

Read More

By Martin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2006

Location with old world charm

I grew up in Warsaw and now after 30 years have returned on several occasions with my wife. The Bristol is perfectly located on the main pedestrian shopping street in Warsaw as well as a 2 minute walk from Stare Miasto (Old City.) Some of the best restaurants are stepps away. The Hotel has a pre war ambiance with a classic old world feel. The rooms are clean and spacious and allthe staff is fluent in english. Therefore, I did not have to translate

for my wife. The only negative, although sligh, is that some of the antigue furniture and persian carpets are begining to show their age. We love the hotel and look forward to our return.

Read More

By Iza

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2004

Solid hotel with great location

We stayed at this somewhat formal hotel for 3 nights taking advantage of great weekend pricing (129 Euro per night for 2 adults and a child). We had a spacious room with 2 double beds, a couple of chairs and a coffee table, benches at the feet of the beds, TV and a writing desk. Large marble bathroom with a deep bathtub and a bidet, large walk-in closet. Big fluffy bathrobes and slippers. Breakfast buffet (included in the price) was excellent

with a good variety of foods to choose from. Weather permitting, breakfast is served outdoors in the pretty courtyard of the hotel. Service was good, the room was cleaned twice a day and the beds were beautifully turned down in the evening. The hotel has a small pool, sauna and a workout room. My only complaint was the atmosphere - very formal and cold - especially in the lobby. Overall, this is a solid hotel conveniently located to the Old Town and other attractions in Warsaw.

Read More

By Miles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2004

Trading on its past

I suppose this was once a cutting edge stop over for the rich and famous. Now its a shabby, over priced relic of old. The rooms are outdated, tiny and VERY small. The hotel has all the atmosphere of a morgue and is overpriced for Poland. The one redemming feature is the very good service (they moved me from a smoking room, despite being fully booked within a few seconds!). I checked out as soon as I could and stayed at the new Intercontinental, which

is a great hotel for the business travellor.

Read More

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2002

Great for Warsaw, Would Close in NYC!

The hotel has a wonderful location, clean room, and that's really the most I can say. My room was on the 6th floor, so the one window was about as big as an 8 1/2 * 11 sheet of paper, facing Krakowskie Przedymiescie. My flight was delayed by nearly 10 hours, and the front desk was very helpful. They would have been more so if they let me call my wife in the US. Room service was ridiculously expensive. I was travelling on my company's dime. Would

I go here on a family trip? Most likely no. By the way, the Cafe Bristol was disappointing, with surly help and mediocre desserts. For great pastries, take a 10 minute walk to Blikler on Nowy Swiat.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2000

"Best" Ain't Saying Much!

This may be the best hotel in Warsaw. The moral of that is: Warsaw needs better hotels. The room was satisfactory and the common areas were ok (must have been really impressive and of-the-moment back in 1979). The value was nonexistent (you could get a room in half of the hotels in Poland SIMULTANEOUSLY for about the price of one night at the Bristol). I've stayed in (deservedly) five-star hotels in much more expensive cities (Hong Kong, Tokyo,

London, Paris, NYC) for less. Service was downright suspicious. A charge for about $15 appeared on our bill after my wife made use of the treadmill for 30 minutes in the Bristol's "complimentary" fitness center. Upon our departure, we asked for a "Taxi-meter" to the airport (NOT the hotel car) and found our luggage had been loaded into a vaguely-marked car that was, in fact, the hotel "limo." Once we clarified that they wanted to charge us roughly 20 times what a taxi would cost we reiterated our request and watched as the doorman ignored about a dozen passing licensed taxis while waiting for his "friend" across the street to pull into the driveway. Fortunately, the mafia taxi was still significantly cheaper than the Bristol's car. Nonetheless, after shelling out $300/night for a room you'd think the "service" might include a guarantee to avoid intentional efforts to fleece guests in conjunction with organized crime. Caveat Emptor!

Read More

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2000

The Best in Warsaw

One word describes this hotel - The Best in Warsaw.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement