The Westfries Museum (West Frisian Museum) is housed in the provincial government building, dating from 1632, where the delegates from the seven cities of West-Friesland once used to meet. The cities are represented by the coats of arms decorating the stunning facade, a testimony to the province's former grandeur. Inside, the council chambers are hung with portraits of the region's grandees, and the exhibitions explain the town's maritime history, its links with the Dutch
East India Company (VOC), and the exotic finds of its adventurous sailors. There are also changing temporary exhibitions.