Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Amsterdam Travel Guide

Time

The Netherlands is on Central European Time (CET), one hour ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Daylight saving time begins on the last Sunday in March, when clocks are set forward one hour; on the last Sunday in October, clocks are set back one hour. Holland operates on a 24-hour clock, so am hours are listed as in the United States and Britain, but pm hours continue through the cycle (1 pm is 13:00, 2 pm is 14:00, etc.) When it's 3 pm in Amsterdam, it is 2 pm in London, 9 am in New York City, and 6 am in Los Angeles.

Speaking Clock. A telephone call will get you the speaking clock in Dutch. 0900/8002.

Previous Travel Tip

Taxes

Next Travel Tip

Tipping

Advertisement

Advertisement

News & Features
Trip Finder
Store
Guidebooks

Fodor's Amsterdam 25 Best

View Details
Mobile Apps

Amsterdam - Fodor's Travel

Download Now
Travel Deals