Once home to one of Rembrandt's most successful students, Ferdinand Bol, this house and its twin, No. 674 next door (home of the Kattenkabinet; a five-room museum dedicated to cats), were built in 1672 by Adriaan Dortsman and extensively remodeled in the 18th century by Abraham van Hagan and his wife, Catherina Tripp, whose names are entwined in the ornate brass balustrade on the staircase. It was occupied by the Van Loon family from 1886 to 1960. After extensive restoration
to take it back to its glory days of the 18th century, it was opened as a museum in the 1970s. The elegant salons include many Van Loon portraits and possessions, including paintings known as witjes, illusionistic depictions of landscapes and other scenes. The symmetrical garden is a gem. Facing the rear of the house, the recently restored Grecian-style coach house holds exhibitions and in the future (hopefully) will serve teas.