Amsterdam Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Seven Bridges

At a Glance

    Pros

  • friendly owners
  • optional breakfast delivered to your room
  • wonderful views
  • spacious well-decorated rooms

    Cons

  • no public areas
  • must reserve well in advance

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Seven Bridges Review

These uniquely styled guest rooms, meticulously decorated with dark woods, Oriental rugs, and handcrafted Art Deco furnishings, overlook one of Amsterdam's famous sights, a lineup of seven consecutive bridges across the Reguliersgracht. The proud owners of the 18th-century house scout the antiques stores and auction houses for furnishings, and all have thorough documentation. Top-floor, beam-ceilinged rooms are the smallest and are priced accordingly; first-floor room No. 5 is practically palatial, with its own private terrace.

    Hotel Details

  • 6 rooms.
  • Rate includes no meals.
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 10-11-2012

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Seven Bridges Review

    I had read wonderful things about the Seven Bridges Hotel, the latest being in the New York Times travel section. So when I went to Amsterdam I decided that the Seven Bridges would be the place to say.

    Excellent decision! I can't recommend the Seven Bridges Hotel highly enough. This hotel is one of the gems of Amsterdam. The location couldn't be better with many of Amsterdam's attractions within walking distance. The hotel itself is situated on the famous canal rings and walking outside the front door is like walking into a postcard.

    My room was beautiful with lovely antiques and a view of a lush garden. Extremely quiet and comfortable. The staff at the Seven Bridges couldn't have been more helpful. They told me how to find local supermarkets, shops, restaurants, etc.

    My stay at the Seven Bridges is one of the happiest and best hotel experiences of my life. Amsterdam is a magical city and the Seven Bridges made a memorable trip that much more wonderful.

    by David_Toronto, 8/25/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Seven Bridges Review

    Most unpleasant stay at the Seven Bridges

    My wife and I had a most unpleasant stay at this small bed and breakfast. Unpleasant manager and the room was crowded with imitation antiques. We asked for the special rate and were told it did not exist even though it was advertised. It was downhill from there. The neighborhood at night you need to take care when walking on the street and we found it was a distance from the sights. Unfortunately we had paid ahead. I suggest that you inspect the rooms first before paying to make sure it is satisfactory.

    by veebee2, 4/2/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    What an incredibly delicious treat

    Genuine kindness and hospitality abound at the Seven Bridges. Room 4 overlooking the lush gardens was the perfect, quiet retreat for us after a long international flight at the end of a hectic schedule. The room was small but adequate. It was beautifully decorated with gorgeous antiques, a very comfortable bed, walls of mirrors which helped to overcome the room’s small size while reflecting the lovely garden outside. All very personalized, heart-felt and lovingly appointed. Gunter and Pierre made us feel so comfortable and pampered. Each morning Gunter lovingly delivered a scrumptious breakfast of tender warm croissant, pastries, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, juices and coffee and tea. We grew to look forward to it each morning. And when we returned from our day of experiencing Amsterdam, we found our room cleaned and refreshed by Andrea. We will surely stay again on our next time through.

    by Lydia_El, 11/30/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    The Best Hotel

    We were in Amsterdam at the middle of September and choose Seven Bridges Hotel based on its rating at TripAdvisor. It is really great hotel!!!
    First of all we were met very polite. We booked room no. 10 for 9 days; it is beautiful, cosy room at the last floor of the hotel, so there are many windows at the ceiling and sunny light fill the room completely. The room furnished very nice and comfortable. There are many lamps (on walls, on tables) and at the evening it looks romantic. Room was cleaning every morning, every day we have clean towels, new bed-clothes. Breakfast was very tasty and big, so we sometimes couldn’t eat it at all!
    Gunter and Pierre are very responsive and nice people. At the end of our trip Gunter kindly called taxi for us.
    We enjoy conversation with them, it seams that we knew them before!
    I recommend this hotel to all!

    Thank you very much again and again for amazing atmosphere you created for us!

    by Elizaveta86, 9/26/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A great place to stay

    I normally don't right these reviews but after reading the one from that person who had such a terrible--for them--experience at Seven Bridges and accusing the proprietor of planting the positive reviews, I just had to chime in.

    We just returned from Amsterdam and five nights in Seven Bridges and absolutely loved it. We and our friends occupied the two top floor units; wonderfully quirky garrets. I was amazed at how dry and warm they were given the cold, damp weather outside. The daily breakfast brought to our rooms was wonderful with the best croissant I have ever eaten. Our only interactions with the staff were friendly. I have never been to Amsterdam in summer but I find it odd to blame the hotel for the smell of the city's canals. And as for AC, the hotel's own website advertises the fact that two of the rooms do no not have it, so if it's an issue for you, specify ahead of time. BTW, the site also forewarns about the steep, narrow stairway. This is NOT an exaggeration. It's nearly vertical. Don't come with large luggage. We were fortunate enough to have a young, strapping worker at the hotel help us up the last flight.

    No it's not the Ritz . Leave your need for pampering at home. It's clean, charming, perfectly located, and provides you with the experiencing a real Amsterdam neighborhood. Plus the Italian restaurant on the corner was wonderful!

    by mingusmanmonk, 12/4/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    I give it SIX stars!

    Seven Bridges is the best! Comfortable, safe, and reasonable...with a friendly and helpful staff.

    by skip7, 9/7/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    canal room B just fine

    We have spent 4 nights in canal room B. It is in a separate building 2 doors down. The room is just fine. A small annex area was perfect for storing our luggage. The bathroom is small with a very small shower. There is a heated towel rack, which was very nice. For my taste, the pillow was very uncomfortable. We took out the comforter from the cover, replaced it with a blanket and then I used the comforter for a pillow, which was better for me. We did not have breakfast in our room (not possible)but we were able to get coffee nearby. The best thing: use of a laptop while there. Let's face it, we get used to having a computer, if just to check-in online for our next flight. The area is quite lovely, but I don't know if I would stay here again. We hardly saw the owners, but when we needed something, like a restaurant recommendation, they were very helpful.

    by sarabeth, 6/25/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wonderful hidden secret in the nicest canal of Amsterdam

    We had the fortune to choose this hotel. Our plan was to enjoy Amsterdam as much as possible by staying in a place that wascomfortable,charming,central,small/personal. Seven Bridges had all of it and plus... The owners were exteremely friendly and knowledgeable and most important more than willing to go out of their way to please the guests.For example,we planned in advance to get a set of concert tickets for a Christhmas day performance and asked their help in advance (tickets are usually very difficult to get for such concerts).They actually went to the concert house to purchase our tickets! The breakfast was excellent, location was perfect (close to restaurants, transportation and in walking distance of many important Amsterdam's sites,near shopping etc.)and yet quiet and safe .We were able to get a marvelously charming and romantic room,large and nicely furnished with antiques. Enjoy a morning view of one of the nicest canals of Amsterdam . We will most certainly return.

    by jans, 4/22/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Great Service at Seven Bridges

    This is the first time we have been so impressed by a stay at a hotlel that we felt we must share our experience with other people. For us Seven Bridges is in an ideal location being very peaceful, safe beautiful surroundings yet within walking distance of all the major attractions. On the outside Seven Bridges looks just like a reasonable small hotel but we received a very warm welcome and were taken to the canalside basement apartment where we had agreed to spend our first night as the hotel was fully booked when we had first contacted them. We found the apartment charming being a good size and well furnished so much so that we were reluctant to leave it the next day to move into the main hotel next door. We had booked the small room in the attic which we had been pre-warned entailed climbing a very steep staircase that was not easy which was no exaggeration.The room itself however was very cosy and well furnished with period pieces. It was a real treat to start our day by having a first class continental breakfast in this room although how they managed to get it up those stairs with it on a tray without breaking the fine china is a mystery. Above anything else what made this place so special was the service. We found everyone prepared to go that extra mile to ensure we were happy so much so that we felt as if we were staying with good friends. The final act was to find that when we arrived home my wife discovered she had left her favourite earrings somewhere. Within days theyhad been returned to her with a complement slip from the Seven Bridges Hotel for us a very special place to stay.

    by brianpeartrees, 3/30/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A very special hotel

    Just returned from a three night stay at the charming Seven Bridges Hotel. What a treat. Cosy beautifully furnished room, lovely breakfast featuring warm croissants etc and a terrific location. There was even a superb bar a few yards away . Our hosts at the Seven Bridges were also super. They could not do enough for us. Will definitely return

    by KeithR, 3/3/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfect stay in Amsterdam

    "Seven bridges" is a perfect choice for someone who wants to visit Amsterdam, not for only one reason, but for all of the following: 1-it is located in the most beautiful canal of Amsterdam. 2- it is very close to all the important areas for someone to visit in Amsterdam. Yet it is very quite, so even if you take a canal room (that I strongly recomend) you will not have difficulties with the noise. 3- You can select exactly which room you want to book, since the photographs in the hotel's web site are showing exactly what you get. 4- If you take a room with breakfast, you will enjoy eating it in your room and, trust me, you will find it delicious... and the coffee was probably the best in Amsterdam... 5- Although the rooms have antique furniture, selected with much caring, I never thougth even for a minute, that they migth be dirty. From the first minute, I felt very comfortable. (I am a person that ussually dislikes the hotel rooms and bathrooms, and gets disgusted...Not in this hotel!!) 6-Last but not least, in the "seven bridges" hotel you feel that the owners gave all their good taste in creating this hotel and in running it. Everything is neat, put together with great love, so the result is perfect...
    I strongly suggest to stay in this hotel, if you want to get a very good taste of Amsterdam...

    by m_serres, 2/20/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    To feel the history

    I stayed in this gem hotel in 07 February with my partner for 3 nights. Everything was clean and we were more than filled by the breakfast that is so important when you walk the city all day. The heating was also fine which is sooo important in the cruel Amsterdam weather (the high humidity makes you feel much colder). It is well located, but peaceful while still in the middle of life of Amsterdam's inner city. In line with the nice service we met in most Amsterdam restaurants and cafés. As a European (even if Eastern) studying American culture I assume that regardless of your origins one needs certain education and taste to admire this hotel. It is historic, it is contemporary - just like Amsterdam. Personal and unique but not presumptuous, it is well balanced between the ~400 years tradition of the city and the cosmopolitan art and attitude of the past and current century. The only place to compare with in Europe is Hotel Altstadt in Vienna.

    by Jbone_hu, 2/19/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    OVER RATED AND DEPRESSING

    Run by two gentleman who are unfriendly and aggressive with each other, and the guests. The people staying in room next to me were upset that they spent money there for their honeymoon. I would never stay there again. I can't understand the positive reviews except perhaps the owners write a lot of the reviews themselves. I have been told this. Service was non-existent. I think the ONLY reason they survive is because the house is a nice typical canal house. In the summer the smell can be a bit strong from the canal so you have to keep your window closed! No AC!

    by MargaretMoon, 2/3/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Amsterdam

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

  • What to wear

    We are spending three days in Amsterdam, five in Rome, two in Florence and three days in Venice the first 2 weeks of May. Read more

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories