Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Amsterdam Hotels

Seven Bridges

Pros

  • Friendly owners
  • Optional breakfast delivered to your room
  • Wonderful views
  • Spacious well-decorated rooms

Cons

  • No public areas
  • Must reserve well in advance

Updated 10/11/2012

Fodor's Review

These uniquely styled guest rooms, meticulously decorated with dark woods, Oriental rugs, and handcrafted Art Deco furnishings, overlook one of Amsterdam's famous sights, a lineup of seven consecutive bridges across the Reguliersgracht. The proud owners of the 18th-century house scout the antiques stores and auction houses for furnishings, and all have thorough documentation. Top-floor, beam-ceilinged rooms are the smallest and are priced accordingly; first-floor room No. 5 is practically palatial, with its own private terrace.

Hotel Information

Address:

Reguliersgracht 31, Amsterdam, 1017 LK, Netherlands

Map It

Phone:

020-623–1329

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 6 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 10/11/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Amsterdam

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2010

Seven Bridges Review

I had read wonderful things about the Seven Bridges Hotel, the latest being in the New York Times travel section. So when I went to Amsterdam I decided that the Seven Bridges would be the place to say. Excellent decision! I can't recommend the Seven Bridges Hotel highly enough. This hotel is one of the gems of Amsterdam. The location couldn't be better with many of Amsterdam's attractions within walking distance. The hotel itself is situated

on the famous canal rings and walking outside the front door is like walking into a postcard. My room was beautiful with lovely antiques and a view of a lush garden. Extremely quiet and comfortable. The staff at the Seven Bridges couldn't have been more helpful. They told me how to find local supermarkets, shops, restaurants, etc. My stay at the Seven Bridges is one of the happiest and best hotel experiences of my life. Amsterdam is a magical city and the Seven Bridges made a memorable trip that much more wonderful.

Read More

By veebee2

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2010

Seven Bridges Review

Most unpleasant stay at the Seven Bridges My wife and I had a most unpleasant stay at this small bed and breakfast. Unpleasant manager and the room was crowded with imitation antiques. We asked for the special rate and were told it did not exist even though it was advertised. It was downhill from there. The neighborhood at night you need to take care when walking on the street and we found it was a distance from the sights. Unfortunately we had

paid ahead. I suggest that you inspect the rooms first before paying to make sure it is satisfactory.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2008

What an incredibly delicious treat

Genuine kindness and hospitality abound at the Seven Bridges. Room 4 overlooking the lush gardens was the perfect, quiet retreat for us after a long international flight at the end of a hectic schedule. The room was small but adequate. It was beautifully decorated with gorgeous antiques, a very comfortable bed, walls of mirrors which helped to overcome the room’s small size while reflecting the lovely garden outside. All very personalized,

heart-felt and lovingly appointed. Gunter and Pierre made us feel so comfortable and pampered. Each morning Gunter lovingly delivered a scrumptious breakfast of tender warm croissant, pastries, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, juices and coffee and tea. We grew to look forward to it each morning. And when we returned from our day of experiencing Amsterdam, we found our room cleaned and refreshed by Andrea. We will surely stay again on our next time through.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2008

The Best Hotel

We were in Amsterdam at the middle of September and choose Seven Bridges Hotel based on its rating at TripAdvisor. It is really great hotel!!! First of all we were met very polite. We booked room no. 10 for 9 days; it is beautiful, cosy room at the last floor of the hotel, so there are many windows at the ceiling and sunny light fill the room completely. The room furnished very nice and comfortable. There are many lamps (on walls, on tables) and

at the evening it looks romantic. Room was cleaning every morning, every day we have clean towels, new bed-clothes. Breakfast was very tasty and big, so we sometimes couldn’t eat it at all! Gunter and Pierre are very responsive and nice people. At the end of our trip Gunter kindly called taxi for us. We enjoy conversation with them, it seams that we knew them before! I recommend this hotel to all! Thank you very much again and again for amazing atmosphere you created for us!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2007

A great place to stay

I normally don't right these reviews but after reading the one from that person who had such a terrible--for them--experience at Seven Bridges and accusing the proprietor of planting the positive reviews, I just had to chime in. We just returned from Amsterdam and five nights in Seven Bridges and absolutely loved it. We and our friends occupied the two top floor units; wonderfully quirky garrets. I was amazed at how dry and warm they were given

the cold, damp weather outside. The daily breakfast brought to our rooms was wonderful with the best croissant I have ever eaten. Our only interactions with the staff were friendly. I have never been to Amsterdam in summer but I find it odd to blame the hotel for the smell of the city's canals. And as for AC, the hotel's own website advertises the fact that two of the rooms do no not have it, so if it's an issue for you, specify ahead of time. BTW, the site also forewarns about the steep, narrow stairway. This is NOT an exaggeration. It's nearly vertical. Don't come with large luggage. We were fortunate enough to have a young, strapping worker at the hotel help us up the last flight. No it's not the Ritz . Leave your need for pampering at home. It's clean, charming, perfectly located, and provides you with the experiencing a real Amsterdam neighborhood. Plus the Italian restaurant on the corner was wonderful!

Read More

By skip7

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2007

I give it SIX stars!

Seven Bridges is the best! Comfortable, safe, and reasonable...with a friendly and helpful staff.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2007

canal room B just fine

We have spent 4 nights in canal room B. It is in a separate building 2 doors down. The room is just fine. A small annex area was perfect for storing our luggage. The bathroom is small with a very small shower. There is a heated towel rack, which was very nice. For my taste, the pillow was very uncomfortable. We took out the comforter from the cover, replaced it with a blanket and then I used the comforter for a pillow, which was better for me. We

did not have breakfast in our room (not possible)but we were able to get coffee nearby. The best thing: use of a laptop while there. Let's face it, we get used to having a computer, if just to check-in online for our next flight. The area is quite lovely, but I don't know if I would stay here again. We hardly saw the owners, but when we needed something, like a restaurant recommendation, they were very helpful.

Read More

By jans

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2007

Wonderful hidden secret in the nicest canal of Amsterdam

We had the fortune to choose this hotel. Our plan was to enjoy Amsterdam as much as possible by staying in a place that wascomfortable,charming,central,small/personal. Seven Bridges had all of it and plus... The owners were exteremely friendly and knowledgeable and most important more than willing to go out of their way to please the guests.For example,we planned in advance to get a set of concert tickets for a Christhmas day performance and asked

their help in advance (tickets are usually very difficult to get for such concerts).They actually went to the concert house to purchase our tickets! The breakfast was excellent, location was perfect (close to restaurants, transportation and in walking distance of many important Amsterdam's sites,near shopping etc.)and yet quiet and safe .We were able to get a marvelously charming and romantic room,large and nicely furnished with antiques. Enjoy a morning view of one of the nicest canals of Amsterdam . We will most certainly return.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2007

Great Service at Seven Bridges

This is the first time we have been so impressed by a stay at a hotlel that we felt we must share our experience with other people. For us Seven Bridges is in an ideal location being very peaceful, safe beautiful surroundings yet within walking distance of all the major attractions. On the outside Seven Bridges looks just like a reasonable small hotel but we received a very warm welcome and were taken to the canalside basement apartment where

we had agreed to spend our first night as the hotel was fully booked when we had first contacted them. We found the apartment charming being a good size and well furnished so much so that we were reluctant to leave it the next day to move into the main hotel next door. We had booked the small room in the attic which we had been pre-warned entailed climbing a very steep staircase that was not easy which was no exaggeration.The room itself however was very cosy and well furnished with period pieces. It was a real treat to start our day by having a first class continental breakfast in this room although how they managed to get it up those stairs with it on a tray without breaking the fine china is a mystery. Above anything else what made this place so special was the service. We found everyone prepared to go that extra mile to ensure we were happy so much so that we felt as if we were staying with good friends. The final act was to find that when we arrived home my wife discovered she had left her favourite earrings somewhere. Within days theyhad been returned to her with a complement slip from the Seven Bridges Hotel for us a very special place to stay.

Read More

By KeithR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2007

A very special hotel

Just returned from a three night stay at the charming Seven Bridges Hotel. What a treat. Cosy beautifully furnished room, lovely breakfast featuring warm croissants etc and a terrific location. There was even a superb bar a few yards away . Our hosts at the Seven Bridges were also super. They could not do enough for us. Will definitely return

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2007

Perfect stay in Amsterdam

"Seven bridges" is a perfect choice for someone who wants to visit Amsterdam, not for only one reason, but for all of the following: 1-it is located in the most beautiful canal of Amsterdam. 2- it is very close to all the important areas for someone to visit in Amsterdam. Yet it is very quite, so even if you take a canal room (that I strongly recomend) you will not have difficulties with the noise. 3- You can select exactly which room you want

to book, since the photographs in the hotel's web site are showing exactly what you get. 4- If you take a room with breakfast, you will enjoy eating it in your room and, trust me, you will find it delicious... and the coffee was probably the best in Amsterdam... 5- Although the rooms have antique furniture, selected with much caring, I never thougth even for a minute, that they migth be dirty. From the first minute, I felt very comfortable. (I am a person that ussually dislikes the hotel rooms and bathrooms, and gets disgusted...Not in this hotel!!) 6-Last but not least, in the "seven bridges" hotel you feel that the owners gave all their good taste in creating this hotel and in running it. Everything is neat, put together with great love, so the result is perfect... I strongly suggest to stay in this hotel, if you want to get a very good taste of Amsterdam...

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2007

To feel the history

I stayed in this gem hotel in 07 February with my partner for 3 nights. Everything was clean and we were more than filled by the breakfast that is so important when you walk the city all day. The heating was also fine which is sooo important in the cruel Amsterdam weather (the high humidity makes you feel much colder). It is well located, but peaceful while still in the middle of life of Amsterdam's inner city. In line with the nice service we met

in most Amsterdam restaurants and cafés. As a European (even if Eastern) studying American culture I assume that regardless of your origins one needs certain education and taste to admire this hotel. It is historic, it is contemporary - just like Amsterdam. Personal and unique but not presumptuous, it is well balanced between the ~400 years tradition of the city and the cosmopolitan art and attitude of the past and current century. The only place to compare with in Europe is Hotel Altstadt in Vienna.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2007

OVER RATED AND DEPRESSING

Run by two gentleman who are unfriendly and aggressive with each other, and the guests. The people staying in room next to me were upset that they spent money there for their honeymoon. I would never stay there again. I can't understand the positive reviews except perhaps the owners write a lot of the reviews themselves. I have been told this. Service was non-existent. I think the ONLY reason they survive is because the house is a nice typical canal

house. In the summer the smell can be a bit strong from the canal so you have to keep your window closed! No AC!

Read More

By marta

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2006

A special place to stay in Amsterdam

Seven Bridges is truly a special hotel. We were anticipating the beautiful period decor and picturesque canal location, but the charm of our room and the warm hospitality of Günter and Pierre surpassed expectations. We were there for a brief three night stay in September 2006 following a couple of weeks on safari in Kenya, so our immaculate, comfortable room was a great place to rest up between Amsterdam sightseeing excursions. It is located on a

quiet street yet is convenient to good restaurants, cafes and the museums. I would never stay anyplace else. Thank you Pierre and Günter for making our first visit to your lovely city a wonderful memory.

Read More

By Lance

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2002

7 Bridges is quaint and cozy - A Great experience

My wife and I had a perfect stay in the basement room overlooking the Garden. Next time we'll splurge for a canal view. Very warm and cozy. Friendly hosts, wonderful breakfasts. PERFECT LOCATION!!! Centered between the Museums and the Damm Square. Everywhere we wanted to go was within 10 minute walk. Also just one block from Tram stop. Would certainly book again!

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2002

Perfect for a peaceful stay

Jenny and I have just (11 Sept.02)returned from 4 nights at the Seven Bridges and would certainly go again. Delightfully appointed room, splendid service, excellent breakfast, superb quiet location bt very handy for all you should visit in Amsterdam. A range of simply excellent restaurants around the corner (150m) in Utrechtsestraat - we particularly liked the Orient Express.

By michele

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2001

garden view

Be sure to ask what the floor your room is on when making a reserfvation. My "garden view" was looking up from the basement! I had reserved months in advance and was quite disappointed. No other room was available.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2001

Wonderful Memmories

I stayee here a decade ago on a family vacation and thought it was wonderful. I remember it clearly to this day. There were beautiful little arrangements of flowers in pots everywhere. The breakfest was a delicious and charmingly foriegn experience for a North American child and it's location in a quit cosy coner of Old Amsterdam was ideal.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement